We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Tram 28
from US$ 20.81
More Info
from US$ 38.15
More Info
from US$ 14.57
More Info
from US$ 52.60
More Info
Reviews (20,835)
Filter reviews
20,835 results
Traveller rating
8,388
6,277
3,686
1,429
1,055
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,388
6,277
3,686
1,429
1,055
Show reviews that mention
All reviews martim moniz window seat narrow streets pick pockets roller coaster fun ride day pass travel card starting point public transport old lisbon hop on hop bairro alto pickpockets route driver city
Filter
Updating list...
980 - 985 of 20,835 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

The drivers/conductors can speak only one language, rude! They hate tourists. They aggressively shout instructions like “Out Out!” when they come to the end of the line (which is NOW apparently every three stops) When you tell them that one of your children is only 4, they still make you pay for him/her. As they are working on the route, you ride three stops and are then shouted at the get off. If you want to continue with the ride and you did not buy a 24 hour ticket at a Metro station, you must pay the 2.90€ per person (including all young children) again! At the one stop we waited 40 minutes for a tram even though they are supposed to be every 9 minutes. The driver then stopped. Shouted everyone out and made us wait another 15 minutes before letting anyone on.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Oliviersfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Yes, it's very crowded, and the line is very long at some stops.
I remember visiting Lisbon many years ago and it's not that terrible riding trams in Lisbon.
This time, I took tram no.28 several times, using the Viagem card. Always check the route map and time table and any notices at the tram stop for any changes. At the time of my stay in Lisbon (Feb), for parts of the route, the tram was replaced by a small bus. If you are not sure which stop to get off, try following your way with Google Map. Sometimes, it's just too crowded to get off at a stop you want. Be flexible then. The tram is not that crowded once you are outside the more touristic areas.
The trams are very photogenic. It's not that easy to take photos while on board because of the crowd and the streets are often very narrow. But on the ground, it's always exciting to see one running past by.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank ayAroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Sooooo - we went, we rode, we missed our stop and we walked by foot to the castle :).

This is exactly what you’d expect. ANCIENT trolly going up tiny ancient streets - it’s quaint and it’s cute and it’s really small and short and there is no reason to REALLY do it.

So should you? Yes!
Can you miss it? Of course.

Cute.

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank PikarS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We took Tram 28 to get to Castelo de S. Jorge. At some points on the route there is very little space between the tram and the buildings along the street. As previously stated, the tram can get very crowded. It was a pretty cool experience but not amazing.

Date of experience: November 2017
2  Thank Posh06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

During our few days we had a lot of rain. We queued for no 28 tram, paying on board. We thought it was a circular tour, but it was one way. As it was raining the tram steamed up so you couldn’t see anything. You can take it from the square to the castle, but still same price. Not sure where we ended as we didn’t get off at the castle. You have to pay again to get back. Seating is for about 24, very hard. On our way back we stood all the way. They certainly cram you in. A disappointment really, but we rode the famous 28.

Date of experience: March 2018
3  Thank LICY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews