We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend in a lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dom Carlos Liberty Lisboa
Ranked #138 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We,ve just returned from a 3 night break at the Dom Carlos hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is of a very good standard. The rooms are on the small side but this seems to be the norm on the continent. It is a very clean hotel and it is ideally located, a 20 minute walk to the main square where all the restaurants, cafes and shops are. It is only about a 5 minute walk to the sight seeing bus terminus. Lison is a very friendly city and very beautiful. If we were to return, we would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 99 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

The hotel is very clean with helpful and friendly staff. The rooms have air conditioning, a tv, mini bar, telephone, safe and a compact bathroom with shower. The room was serviced daily and towels replaced even though they didn't really need to be. The breakfast buffet was very good with an excellent selection of breakfast items. The hotel does not have a bar but they 'turn' the breakfast area into a lounge where they have an honesty bar with snacks and you can also watch tv, read and use the internet which has a 2€ charge. Although if you have an iphone etc there is wi-fi access. I only have two criticisms but in all honesty this is not something that the hotel can rectify it's just a very personal thing. I found there was a lot of traffic noise which did disturb my sleep but then i am a very light sleeper. I was also on the second floor so i was much closer to the road noise. Also as a lady travelling alone i found the hotel a little out of the way at night. Taxis are relatively cheap but as i like to walk everywhere i found the hotel located a little too far away from Lisbon's nightlife. However, during the day it was nice to walk along the shady avenues to the attractions. All in all a great, good value hotel with very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor to lessen traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Asturiana_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed here in June 2012 and had a wonderful experience. The hotel itself is quite a way out of the touristy part of Lisbon that you'll want to see, but the walk there is really pleasant along the tree-lined main road.

I honestly can't think of any cons at all apart from the hideous view we had over a worksite at the back of the hotel. However, it wasn't noisy at all, and we spent so little time in the room that it didn't bother us - we just shut the curtains and ignored it!

We paid just over €55 per night including breakfast (booked directly with the hotel's website), which was such great value. Our bed was very comfortable, the room and bathroom were immaculately clean, the air-conditioning worked perfectly and we had excellent nights' sleep. The breakfast was excellent - fresh bread, delicious custard tarts, fresh fruit, bacon and eggs, a selection of cereals, juices, yoghurts etc. The staff were SO lovely - I wish I could remember all their names, but they were all just so lovely and helpful. Easily the nicest staff we've ever dealt with at a hotel. They helped with restaurant bookings and taxis and were just so accommodating.

Lisbon is a gorgeous city and we would love to come back one day, and if/when we do, we'll absolutely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyageuse_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I was travelling with my mother who turned 75. I informed the hotel staff about it and they assigned the beautiful room to us wit huge terrace. The room shared the wall with the gym. I was afraid that it will be noisy but we did not hear anything. The important is to ask for higher floor to avoid the city noise. There is a small café in the hotel. You can have a soup and some snacks there. It is not clearly marked, so just ask at the reception if you don’t feel like go out for lunch. The breakfast is very good.
It is about 15 minutes walk to the Gold street.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatashaD_Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This hotel is conveniently located within a 15 min walk to the historic area. The staff is one of the friendliest and most helpful we have encountered in our trips to Europe. The breakfast is good although it is the same everyday. Rooms are very small and bathroom is tiny. Since the hotel is in a busy street adjacent to a major avenue, it is very noisy even with the windows closed. I recommend to turn the AC on or use earplugs. Overall this is a very clean and friendly hotel located in a nice area.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fabio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Dom Carlos Park
#128 of 255 in Lisbon
488 reviews
SANA Capitol Hotel
#67 of 255 in Lisbon
592 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#97 of 255 in Lisbon
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Dom Sancho I
#187 of 255 in Lisbon
379 reviews
Turim Av Liberdade Hotel
#122 of 255 in Lisbon
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Carlos Liberty Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Carlos Liberty Lisboa

Address: Rua Alexandre Herculano 13, Lisbon 1150-005, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: ₹ 6,367 - ₹ 18,794 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Carlos Liberty Lisboa 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, alongside Avenida da Liberdade and next to the Marques de Pombal. All rooms equipped with individual climate control, thermal and acoustic insulation, cable TV, mini-bar, digital safe, and private bathrooms with hair dryer.The Dom Carlos Liberty guests can also count on a fitness center, meeting room, laundry service, garage, and 24-hour luggage service. Full coverage of Wi-fi internet access free of charge. Smoke free Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Fastbooking, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dom Carlos Liberty Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Carlos Liberty Lisboa Hotel Lisbon
Dom Carlos Liberty Lisboa Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing