We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central but getting old”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel
Ranked #219 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 17 January 2017

This hotel was built as luxurury hotel in the 1960s and must have been impressing. But it has not been modernized so today it looks a bit out of date. The rooms are large, bathooms small and all rooms has a balcony. Central in Lisbon, nice breakfast and a small bar . Watercooker in the room, but only teabags no coffee,

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kas2356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2016

I m part of a tour group from Singapore and getting a room in the evenings are always a welcome relief for the tired tourists. A great reception from the front desk as they helped my tour leader sort the rooms very quickly so we could all rest well. we had 2 days to stay here and we tried to make the best out of it.
the rooms were alright , pretty dated with the decor but clean sheets and clean toilets with adequate facilities and amenities. Pity there was no kettle in my room to boil water in the wintery months.
Sleep was tryging as the pillows we got were filled with cotton and they were lumpy , all of them . however, a note to the front desk the next day sorted out and we got different pillows which aided us in our slumber.

food was the highlight , breakfast was very nice and a welcomed meal with a good spread..

would have tipped to a 4 star stay but overall experience just within the hotel did not meet present expectations which may have had if it was in the 70s.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kel5463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This hotel is situated beside the hertz rental office where we dropped off our car. We stayed one night and caught taxi to the airport in the morning. I had read reviews that advised the hotel was older, and it was, so was not too surprised. Bathroom was brightly lit, which I appreciated and the shower had good pressure and lots of hot water. Bed was comfortable and it was the first time in two weeks I watched tv in English.
We had a drink of gin and tonic in the lobby bar, and they were excellent.
We went to a local cafe for lunch and although we had a bit of language barrier and didn't quite get what we thought we were ordering, was great.
Dinner was even better at a different local cafe around the corner.
We will probably return to Portugal next year, and would definitely book this hotel again.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank CanadianBeachFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Stayed here to be near family and it served its purpose . Dated hotel that needs modernising however beds were comfortable and lovely cotton sheets .
The reception staff were really helpful and friendly .
Would stay again if the price was good

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen3965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

This hotel is in a good location (near the Ritz) in Lisbon unless you want to get the airport bus and are dragging suitcases in which case it is a bit of an uphill climb over very uneven Portuguese stone pavements that kill your suitcase wheels. The hotel is within about 10-15 mins walking distance from the old historic centre of Lisbon. The hotel is a bit old-fashioned and could do with some modernising, but this would probably push the price up, so not necessarily a good thing. Staff were friendly in general, breakfast was self-service and about average for this type of hotel in Lisbon (why do Portuguese hotels so often feel the need to soak fresh fruit in syrup?). The room was fine, quite large and with a little balcony. It was carpeted so not good for allergy sufferers. The bathroom would have been a lot better if the hand held shower attachment actually fitted the wall bracket so you could have a hands-free shower. I like the fact that all hotels in Lisbon seem to have bidets. A nice touch was the weighing scales for your luggage in the reception, something I have not seen anywhere else. Our experience of the hotel was somewhat marred when the receptionist booked the most expensive category of taxi for us to the airport, which we had not asked for. There was no miscommunication, I speak fluent Portuguese. I ended up paying twice the normal fare, which left me with a sour feeling and wiped out some of the savings I had hoped to make by staying in a cheaper hotel A really dumb move by the hotel when everything is now reviewed online!

Room Tip: Some rooms face the Marques de Pombal square, so great views, but might be a bit noisier. Depends wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
VIP Executive Eden Aparthotel
Turim Iberia Hotel
#142 of 255 in Lisbon
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel

Address: Rua Castilho 74, Lisbon 1250-071, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
#130 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: ₹ 4,339 - ₹ 9,521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel is a four star hotel with a unique design. With 90 rooms all equipped to provide the highest comfort both for leisure and business travellers. After a working day you can have a drink or a cocktail at the Hotel Bar.For events the Hotels offers 4 meeting rooms where you may hold meetings, seminars and conferences.The Hotel VIP Executive Diplomatico is located in the Downtown Lisbon, next to Marques do Pombal square and the Parque Eduardo VII. Its privileged location makes this Hotel the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your VIP Executive Diplomatico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vip Diplomatico Lisbon
Hotel Vip Diplomatico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing