We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location for price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Eduardo VII

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Eduardo VII
Ranked #232 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location for price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Rooms were clean with good soundproof windows (busy road outside). The people managing the hotel desk could have been more helpful with questions (instead they seemed bothered and annoyed... this was a minus).
The location of the hotel is great with easy access to everything and a stone throw away form the bus station where the airport bus stops.
The don't have a kettle in the room, and even upon request we had to ask and call three times or so to get one. Breakfast was not the best.
Lisbon is a wonderful city with so much to see and do so we spent very little time at the hotel but it was not bad for the price we paid... so overall: clean and average.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeYouHello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JParedesAlves, Manager at Hotel Eduardo VII, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate us, and therefore help us improve to better please our guests.

We are pleased you apreciated our rooms and location, and will speak with our Front Office staff for them to be aware that greeting our customers with a smile is essencial.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    221
    365
    170
    141
See reviews for
205
357
63
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

I went there because it wa sa gift (one of those gift certificates where you choose among different hotels) OMG it was awful.
The rooms are dirty and old, the carpet on the floor... :-(
The whole hotel smells extremely bad (even the beds). The breakfast is something you need to see, really, I'm not picky with food but THAT was too much.
I would recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bcn_2009_catalunya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JParedesAlves, Manager at Hotel Eduardo VII, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for having the time to evaluate us, and for choosing us among the possibilities in your gift box.

We respect and hope to improve with your comments, however, we must say that our rooms are in constant refurbishment in order to meet guest expectations, and that our housekeeper always ensures, that the rooms and corridors of the hotel are smelling properly.

Regarding our breakfast, it has been widely praised, either because of the view or because of being varied regarding a three star hotel standard.

We hope we get the chance of having you with us again, so we can improve your opinion about our hotel.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

Only good thing about this place is the location, bus nos 44, 745, 83 bring you staright from the airport to within 100 yards of the hotel. The decor, staff, rooms, breakfast and restaurants, are to be fair, OK for what you pay for. What is not OK is the choice of menu in the restaurant, the only vegetarian options were a 4 cheese pizza (which was not available on the day) and a plate of boiled broccoli, half a boiled potato, boiled carrots, a couple of white asparagus for 10.5 Euros. What made me really mad was that they served bread rolls with butter, which I thought was part of the package, but charged me 2.50 Euro separately for that!!

Apart from that, no tea/coffee making facilities in room, you have to ask for it and then they give you a tray with a kettle, two cups and packets of camomile tea and a sachet of Nescafe, which I thaought it common sense to be replenished daily by the person making up the room, sadly not. When I returned at the end of the day, there was still that squeezed out tea bag in my cup and no fresh supplies.

Breakfast was plentiful, the letdown was squash in place of proper juice.

Unhelpful managerial staff, the mignons were polite and helpful though.

Avoid this place, pay a bit more to stay in the Sana Lisboa right opposite, if that is the location you want.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the main roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sadoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JParedesAlves, Manager at Hotel Eduardo VII, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for having the time to evaluate your stay with us, and for having chosen Hotel Eduardo VII for your stay in Lisbon.

We are pleased your assesment of our rooms and location were positive, and respect your opinion regarding the lack of vegetarian choices in our restaurant.

However, we must note that we have at the moment about six to seven vegetarian dishes in our menu, in order to have a balanced and healthy menu.

We apologise for the tea/coffee making facilities and will talk with our housekeeper to ensure next time a better service is given.

We hope we have the chance to receive you again, so we can make your stay more pleasant next time.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sintra, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

If you want to feel at home but stay away of it, try this awesome home.
Nice service and excellent zone to be in a sweet weekend.
You must try it!

Room Tip: Just near a primiere avenue at Lisbon city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koidinhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JParedesAlves, Manager at Hotel Eduardo VII, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear sir / Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay with us.

We are very pleased that you had a joyful stay, and hope that we can count with your visit more times in the future, so we can better serve you.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

The Hotel Eduardo VII has some drawbacks, but is still a reasonable budget choice.

On the plus side, the No. 91 Aerobus from the airport stops around 150 yards away, they allowed us to check in at 10am, the room was adequately equipped, the bathroom spotless and the bedding/towels changed every day. There was a wall-mounted flat screen TV, wardrobe space was sufficient, and the products in the mini-bar were reasonably priced (2 Euros for a beer). With bus stops for a number of lines close by, getting around was never a problem, though I would have preferred to be closer to Rossio off Avenue Liberdade.

Not so good were the thin walls/poor sound-proofing which meant conversations/TV in the next room could be intrusive, and the so-called panoramic restaurant in which breakfast is taken, from which the view was mainly of the air-conditioning equipment on the neighbouring buildings rather than the delights of Lisbon. Breakfast was a repetitive array of scrambled eggs, small frankfurter-type sausages, cheese, spam-type cold meats, oranges, bread, jam and croissants…it sounds OK, but the products were low-grade (margarine rather than butter, squash rather than orange juice, dry croissants, tasteless bread and DIY tea and coffee), such that we gave it a miss after the second morning.

On the whole, we can’t complain for what we paid (around 80 Euros a night), and wouldn’t be averse to staying there again…but I’m sure with a little more effort we could do better.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourmalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JParedesAlves, Manager at Hotel Eduardo VII, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for having chosen Hotel Eduardo VII for your stay in Lisbon and for taking the time to evaluate us. We encourage our guests to evaluate us, so we can better serve them next time.

We are extremely pleased you enjoyed our location, as well as our rooms and some of its facilities.

As well, we respect your opinion in our walls, even though we rarely receive complaints about them and of our restaurant, which as has been said here before, is widely praised for its views on the 10th floor, and the quality of its breakfast for a standard three star hotel.

We hope we can count with your visit once more, so we can provide you a more pleasant stay next time.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
1.1 km away
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
#230 of 248 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.4 km away
Residencial Horizonte
Residencial Horizonte
#189 of 248 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Flamingo
Hotel Flamingo
#208 of 248 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Avenida Park Hotel
Avenida Park Hotel
#183 of 248 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#233 of 248 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Jorge V
Hotel Jorge V
#174 of 248 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eduardo VII? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eduardo VII

Property: Hotel Eduardo VII
Address: Avenida Fontes Pereira de Melo 5, Lisbon, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,602 - ₹ 7,228
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eduardo VII 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Eduardo VII reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eduardo Vii Hotel
Eduardo Vii Lisbon
Best Western Lisbon
Lisbon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing