We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort & Relaxation”
Review of Britania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Britania Hotel
Ranked #2 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Comfort & Relaxation”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the space and comfort of our room as well as the art deco design of the entire hotel. The staff were very obliging and complimentary afternoon tea and cakes were supplemented by free nightcaps of Port or Cherry Brandy. The lounge/library was very relaxing and used as a breakfast room serving fresh and attractive continental breakfast plus cooked breakfast if preferred.
Easily reached by Aerobus 1 from the airport and within walking distance of: city centre, tram, rail, bus or metro amenities.
The street was very quiet, even more so due to double-glazing so sleep in very comfortable beds was undisturbed. We would not hesitate to revisit the hotel on another trip to Lisbon.

Room Tip: Very littel external noise in the neighbourhood but higher floors are more likely to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keithward7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,866
    323
    33
    8
    2
See reviews for
213
1,517
81
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I rounded up to 5 stars because, while it is not a Four Seasons or Mandarin Oriental or other fabulous-worth-every-penny-no-matter-the-cost type hotel, it is a great place to stay while in Lisbon for the following reasons:

1) Value -- in short, bang-for-buck this is the best place to stay without a doubt. Granted, if you are looking for old world charm in the ultimate lap of luxury, this is not your place. but if your'e looking for a well-above-average, clean, friendly, and new 4 star hotel, this is the place to be.

2) Rooms -- rooms are of very good size. I may be biased, however, as we were treated elegantly during our honeymoon, and were upgraded to what seemed to be their largest suite. From what I can tell from other people's experiences, their rooms are very spacious.

3) Location -- unlike some other possibilities in Lisbon (if you're looking for a higher end hotel), this is walking distance to pretty much everything. If you prefer, you can walk to a subway stop just a few minutes away and head to the main part of Lisbon closer to the water; or you can just walk it yourself in just a short 15 - 20 min leisurely walk.

Otherwise:
Service was good/above average. Not the kind of service you might find at the Park Hyatt Tokyo, but very cordial and accommodating.

Concierge service was okay, though we found that a lot of what they said was incorrect (opening/ closing times of certain stores we asked about, etc); and their map seemed to be outdated for specifically what we were looking for (one particular establishment had moved long ago, according to its owners when we eventually found it by asking around the neighborhood). But again, very cordial and pleasant, and since we were not in any hurry to get any place, we were not particularly bothered by the incorrect information at the time.

Honestly, it's certainly more appropriate to call this a 4 star property with regards to materials, design, and amenities -- but because of its value, location and the pleasant nature of their staff, I bump it up to 5 stars for this review.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JLM2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

You do feel as though you have stumbled onto a Poirot set when you stay at the Britania Hotel. It is an authentic building true to the art deco era. It exudes that period's charm throughout - the lobby, library (breakfast room) and the bedrooms are all furnished in that style. All the staff are delightful and genuinely go out of their way to ensure that you make the most of your stay. There are also nice touches like the complimentary afternoon tea, port and coffee in the library. Bedrooms are spotlessly clean, spacious (though sound travels easily between rooms and the beds comfortable,The hotel is located in a side street off the Avenida Liberdade, a main road into the city. it is a short walk to Rossio Square and close to the metro and bus routes.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank blueonblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Good location, comfortable rooms, and good for us as a family, as one of our rooms has an extra bed in separate area. We enjoyed the afternoon tea, jasmine i think, with a selection of cakes, all free. Free wi fi, free parking outside the hotel. Kids enjoyed playing backgammon or chess in comfortable lounge. Port available too. Very friendly service, good clean rooms, 10 minutes walk to centre, quiet street location. We didn't have breakfast as it adds up for five of us. We found Cafe Gelo, opposite McDo on square at bottom of Ave Liberdade, lovely fresh fruit salad.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stormy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Great location (central but not noisy), comfortable, large, pleasant rooms, delicious breakfast buffet. But the added value of the Britania Hotel is its staff. Knowledgeable, friendly and warm but not overbearing - I felt like I was visiting a charming old aunt.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TanteSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#6 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
A Casa das Janelas com Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britania Hotel

Property: Britania Hotel
Address: Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 17, Lisbon 1150-278, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#3 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,015 - ₹ 71,268
Hotel Class:4 star — Britania Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Britania is a pure Boutique Art Deco hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. The only surviving original Art Deco hotel in Lisbon, with a touch of modern whimsical nuances, this small hotel is unique. With large rooms, it's located on a quiet street just off Lisbon's main avenue Avenida da Liberdade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, HotelQuickly, ACCOR, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Britania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britania Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing