We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly 5* luxury, great service, but eye-wateringly expensive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olissippo Lapa Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Olissippo Lapa Palace
Ranked #9 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly 5* luxury, great service, but eye-wateringly expensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Lapa Palace is amazing. Our room was a good size with a beautiful view down into the garden and the lovely pool from our balcony. The service is very attentive and everyone was very charming. You do need to get a taxi into town but that is only a few euros. Plus, there are also some lovely restaurants within walking distance, e.g. Clube de Jornalistas. Breakfast was good and you must try their delicious custard tarts. The only downside was the cost of food and drink in the hotel - breakfast was nearly 30 euros per person and a cocktail 20 euros which is pricey even for a 5* hotel, so not somewhere you can relax without blowing the budget (and we did blow the budget). We stayed in a number of 5* hotels whilst in Portugal, and Lapa Palace set a standard that couldn't be beaten.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahNicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    149
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
211
507
28
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We rented a car and kept it valeted with the hotel, which we are glad we did because it is not walking distance to anything you would want to see off of the grounds. We booked a deal through a discount website which required us to be on the 1st floor. The hotel is on a hill so the entrance is on the 4th floor and pool level is on the first. Most (maybe all?) of the rooms have balconies / patios, but if you don't like being ground floor i'd request a floor other than pool / garden level where people will walk by.

The gym was surprisingly decent. Not much free weights, but several machines including ellipticals, step, treadmill, bikes. A couple of other machines as well.

Pool area was very nice though though our big complaint was that there were flies everywhere. They were not mosquitoes, ie did not bite, but they were a real nuisance as I often had several on me at a time. This is perhaps because of the grounds, which are quite lovely, but closely mixed in with the pool. I noticed other vacationers were also covered and bothered by the flies, which frankly ruined any hope of lying by the pool and napping or doing nothing because i was constantly swatting them off of me.

Breakfast was not very good and while it is included in some room rates it is certainly not worth the EUR 28 per person. Food generally was very expensive and I think it's because they have you captive at the hotel during most hours as there aren't many walkable options.

Service was excellent and I want to emphasize the staff could not be nicer and more helpful (except I would recommend they have a better sense of food options on Sunday when many places are closed).

Overall, great service, clean rooms, solid gym, pretty grounds/pool though flies a problem, food expensive, breakfast weak. As an aside, if you are in Lisbon, we highly recommend getting the custard pastries at famous bakery near the monastery - several articles on 36 hours in Lisbon that mention the place by name.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InvictusBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

Great hotel. Very good rooms but what is really amazing is the service provided by the employees. They are always available and always very friendly. Regarding the hotel, as said, the room is very good and clean. Breakfast is very complete and the place it is offered is very pleasant. In few words, I really recommend this hotel for those who want to be well servided and wnat to be in a place very quite and with very good accomodations.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beto11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

This hotel is truly a great experience. The grounds, the service are all 5 star. The restaurant is expensive as is the breakfast. We did have sandwiches in the bar at night which were not as expensive and really tasty. Location is a bit outside the tourist area but cabs are very affordable.

Room Tip: Higher floors may have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesseg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We finished our holiday in portugal with a night and a day at Olissipo Lapa, and it was the perfect cherry on the cake.
Great service, with super helpful staff.
Large rooms, quiet, well decorated, clean and nice toiletteries.
Beautiful swimming pool area that looks like a lush oasis in the city.
And the price is quite affordable, especially compared to what you would get in other European capital cities.
If you can, i would deifinitely recommend it

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank av_alexandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,495 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olissippo Lapa Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Lapa Palace

Property: Olissippo Lapa Palace
Address: Rua do Pau da Bandeira, 4, Lisbon 1249-021, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,728 - ₹ 38,485
Hotel Class:5 star — Olissippo Lapa Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 19th-century, this luxurious palace is nestled on a hilltop overlooking the Tagus River and presents guests with the ideal base for an unforgettable stay in Lisbon. Tucked away in the city's diplomatic quarter, Lapa Palace is set in a beautiful sub-tropical garden. Sunbathe on a lounger in the pool area or pay a visit to the Spa, where you can treat yourself to hours of relaxation in the sauna. Traditional decor and elegant designs make each of the rooms a haven after a day of work or sightseeing. Marvel at panoramic views from the comfort of your balcony or enjoy a long bath in your marble bathroom. Thanks to the palace's convenient location, central Lisbon is only a short drive away. Park your car for free on site and indulge in fresh seafood at the restaurant. In the meantime, the concierge is happy to arrange various services for you, including the use of the VIP room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia and Booking.com so you can book your Olissippo Lapa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissippo Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon
Lapa Palace Lisbon
Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing