We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sumptuous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #5 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sumptuous!”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at the lovely Hotel Avenida for three nights in June. It was as we expected – a beautiful building, unbelievably elegant public areas, great location, libraries, comfortable rooms, great breakfast. The staff were exceptional. Very professional and courteous. I had written ahead to tell them about a special occasion we were celebrating, and was welcomed with a bottle of sparkling wine when we returned to our room on the first evening. It was a very memorable stay, I can’t say enough about how much we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leosgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Avenida Palace. We were very pleased to know that we met your expectations and with the fact that you have given us the maximum score in all the parameters.

We pledge to make every effort to please our guests at all times and feel proud of your recognition. Your kind remarks will be shared with the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you in a near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,113
    439
    81
    16
    8
See reviews for
508
1,529
123
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We just had the pleasure of staying at Hotel Avenida Palace. We picked it based on other Tripadvisor recommendations. It is a gorgeous hotel with excellent service and well located. We had booked a superior room and when we arrived they upgraded us to a Jr. suite. We were only staying one nigh and were tempted to extend. The breakfast, which was included, was lovely. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lisbon.

Room Tip: request a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Avenida Palace and for leaving your kind words on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.

Our team pledges to provide the best personal service to each of our guests and I will forward on your comments to the team.

I look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Beautiful hotel! Exceptional staff! Hotel is centrally located, perfect for walking distance to shopping, restaurants, cafes, etc. The suites are lovely, with high ceilings, beautiful drapery, and comfortable bed. The buffet breakfast was amazing, with fresh fruit, pastries, cereal, yougurt, eggs, cheese, bread, etc. I would definitely stay at HAP again and would recommend it highly to anyone travelling to Lisbon.

Room Tip: We chose a room facing the courtyard. Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CurlyButterfly40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your stay at the Avenida Palace.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the experience lived up to your expectations. Your kind comments on our décor and staff and also the fact that you have given us the maximum score in all the parameters are very much appreciated.

We pride ourselves on providing a comfortable stay for all our guests and thank you for your recognition.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Great property right in the heart of Lisbon. Full of old world charm. Lovely room with tall windows and wooden flooring. And a view of the square that is almost tourist brochure. And lest I forget, when was the last time you stayed in a room which has a separate bidet in the bathroom?

And it is just the right distance fom the clubbing Bairra Alto to be peaceful when you get back to the room.

For vegetarians, the buffet breakfast was sparse. But the chef made it up with some custom-made veggie omelettes.

All in all, a great experience. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Sub_maya_hai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Avenida Palace.

We are happy to know that we met your expectations and will share your kind remarks with our team.
We pledge to make every effort to please our guests at all times and feel proud of your recognition.

We look forward to welcoming you in a near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We have great memories of Hotel Avenida Palace and the various excursions we could make on foot from its central location. Lisbon is a beautiful city and the hotel made it even more pleasant. The lobby is spectacular and our little suite was an excellent European experience. Management sent a plate of fruit on arrival. We had all the comforts necessary. For being right in the center of things, it was quiet and relaxing. Breakfast was amazing! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynn1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave your remarks on TripAdvisor.

We also would like to thank you for your feedback, we were delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and with the fact that you have given us the maximum score in all the parameters.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
551 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 247 in Lisbon
1,496 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 247 in Lisbon
802 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#8 of 247 in Lisbon
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,616 - ₹ 23,036
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing