We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Altis Belem Hotel & Spa
Ranked #25 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Maidenhead
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This is an excellent hotel. Wonderful situation between Belem Tower and the famous Navigators monument and right on the water. Great views of the marina and sights from the full width sliding windows. Very comfortable room and bed. Fantastic food. Entertainment on Friday evening. Best of all, however, the staff - an absolute delight. Friendly, always smiling, helpful and attentive. If you do not need to be in the centre of Lisbon this situation is great - more relaxing - and a taxi into central Lisbon is about 7 euros or you can go by train for very little.

Room Tip: This is a small hotel - all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Thank you for your stay at Altis Belém Hotel & Spa. It has been a great pleasure having you with us. Altis Hotels seeks to continuously improve the guest experience.

Thank you for sharing your comments and opinion on this so important opinion site, it help us to keep all the team motivated.

Your comments and suggestions help us fine-tune our services to ensure we make every stay a wonderful experience.

We look forward to welcoming you again and very soon.

With warmest regards,

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    204
    29
    14
    5
See reviews for
162
575
29
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed in the Deluxe Room for two nights on our recent visit to Lisbon. Our room had lovely views of a small marina on the Tagus River estuary through floor-to-ceiling windows. Our room was quite large with a good size bathroom which had a separate shower and bathtub. We were delighted to find out at check-in that breakfast was included and wifi was complimentary.

We had breakfast and lunch at the hotel’s Café Mensagem and Oyster & Sushi Bar which were excellent. Connected to the hotel is the Michelin-starred Feitoria Restaurant & Wine Bar’s which offers Portuguese products and traditional dishes with a modern twist. We had the Five Course Tasting Menu for lunch which turned out unexpectedly to be one of the most superior lunches we've had in the region.

Situated on the Tagus River estuary in Belém right next to the spot from which the famous Portuguese explorers set sail, the hotel location is superb. It is a short cab ride (approximately four miles) from the centre of town. It is also a short walk away from famous historic sites such as the Torre de Belém, Discoveries Monument, and Jerónimos Monastery which is one of the most prominent monuments of the Manueline-style architecture (Portuguese late-Gothic) in Lisbon. We would highly recommend staying at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evon802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
It has been a great pleasure having you with us; Thank you for choosing Altis Belém Hotel & Spa for your stay in Lisbon.

Also on the behalf of our staff I thank you for the time you dedicate us on sharing your opinion on this so important opinion site.
Your comments and suggestions help us fine-tune our services and to ensure we make every stay a memorable one. Particularly such positive comments help our collaborators to keep a high motivation.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence.

Looking forward to welcome you back to Altis Belém Hotel & Spa, I remain

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

As a business traveller I was initially given a room without a shower plus a balcony with shattered glass. And the aircon was stuck at a stuffy 29 degrees.
I was helpfully moved to another room with shower and happy until I requested an iron upon my return from work. No iron left so I requested again. Iron was helpfully brought along then within half an hour I get a call requesting it back to give to another guest.
Before bed i ask for the iron back or for it to be delivered in the morning as I clearly stated I did not want to be disturbed for the rest of the evening. The receptionist cut me off.
About 30mins later I'm in bed and there's a knock at the door. I ignore as I requested to not be disturbed. So the housekeep allowed herself into my room with the iron!
I complained to reception who said they had not understood me (because they cut me off when i was speaking on the phone) and said they would report it to the manager who would speak to me to see how they could improve the rest of my stay. The manager never contacted me.
The next day all restaurants were full so I had to eat in the hotel. I was only offered a seat outside and it was freezing. The staff also had a no smile policy.
On checking out, there were numerous errors. A drink added that I never had. They charged me for the wrong bottle of wine and even charged me for a room service error.
When I politely explained how I upset I was with the situation they looked clearly disinterested and no one even offered to open the door for me when I struggled with my cases.

Real shame as the spa, location and standard of accommodation are exquisite!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your choice for Altis Belém Hotel & Spa for your stay in Lisbon.

Also I personally thank you for your comments and feedback about your stay and hotel service; all inputs from our guests are an important tool that we internally share and discuss in order to continuously improve the guest experience.

We hope to be able to improve and provide a service by excellence, I appreciate the given opportunity.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Altis Belém Hotel & Spa, I remain

Yours sincerely

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I am a no frills, no carpet, wireless-addict kind of person so when I was looking for a hotel in Lisbon, the Altis Belem was the obvious choice.

I did not regret it.

The hotel lies in the district of Belem, outside of the city center at the lovely Tejo River. However, this is no disadvantage, since Belem offers everything, a wonderful riverfront walking path, historical attractions, a world-renowned pastry shop, good restaurants and last but not least, a Starbucks Café.

Taxis are very affordable in Lisbon and there are also buses (regular and sightseeing) and trams going into downtown. For public transportation it’s a 10 minutes’ walk (at most) either to Jeronimos Monastery or to the Discoveries Monument - two of the must-see sights anyway.

Our deluxe room (Ethiopia) was well sized with a lovely view towards Doca da Bom Sucesso (small marina). It offered all amenities, huge wardrobe, minibar, coffee machine (Nespresso), desk with work station, sofas, safe, flat screen TV, blackout blinds and electrically controlled shutters, walk-in shower, bathtub, two washbasins, hairdryer, feather duvet … you name it.

The service was exemplary throughout, be it to fix our hair dryer, at breakfast or from the reception staff. They all knew English well enough to make it no problem to communicate.

The selection at the breakfast buffet was ok, but not excessively wide and what I missed most was a bigger choice of bread. Despite not many guests being present, it sometimes took a while to get the warm food refilled, particularly the scrambled eggs. But when the fresh food came, one attentive female staff member brought a plate right to the table - very nice touch!

We also went to the Spa once for the pool and the steam bath. The setup is very modern, chic and inviting; we felt very comfortable and enjoyed the tranquility.

So was there anything that could have been better? Yes, of course.

1. WiFi: There is WiFi throughout the hotel, but the login is only good for a limited time and it gets boring to re-login again and again …. Also, we got the login data on a piece of paper that said it costs EUR 20 for every login (gulp!), but then it turned out that it was free after all. -- How about changing the handouts or the whole process altogether?

2. Coffee: It’s awfully nice to have a Nespresso coffe machine in the room, but paying EUR 3 for a cuppa? I don’t think so. -- How about free coffee or at least charging at cost price?

3. TV: Ok, so I was on holidays and didn’t really need to watch TV. Therefore I haven’t cried one tear over the channel variety …. -- Cable, anyone?

So truly, apart from these minor imperfections, I can highly recommend the Altis Belém Hotel and would go back there anytime.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missliberty8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Altis Belém Hotel & Spa seeks to continuously improve the guest experience. Thank you for your choice and feedback, your comments and suggestions help us fine-tune our services to ensure we make every stay a memorable one.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to improve our services according to your pointing out issues, we took good note.

Looking forward to welcome you back to Altis Belém Hotel & Spa, I remain

Yours sincerely

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The reviews and pictures really cannot prepare you for this fabulous hotel. As your room opens to the river view, you are absolutely swept away by the magnificent view and tranqulity. The staff did a fabulous job of making sure each moment of our visit was perfect. Their recommendations for restaurants and a bike tour were perfect.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MizRella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
The importance of our work's recognition is the great pleasure on reading your review, on the behalf of our entire staff, I thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

Your comments and suggestions help us fine-tune our services to ensure we make every stay a memorable one.

Again thank you for having chosen the Altis Belém Hotel & Spa for your stay in Lisbon.

Looking forward to welcome you back.

Warm regards

Anabela Bártolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#7 of 248 in Lisbon
896 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 248 in Lisbon
1,028 reviews
Belem
Palacio do Governador
Palacio do Governador
#53 of 248 in Lisbon
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Liberdade
#24 of 248 in Lisbon
854 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#15 of 248 in Lisbon
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altis Belem Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Belem Hotel & Spa

Property: Altis Belem Hotel & Spa
Address: Doca do Bom Sucesso, Lisbon 1400-038, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Belem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#14 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#23 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,803 - ₹ 49,919
Hotel Class:5 star — Altis Belem Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altis Belem Hotel & Spa Hotel Altis Belem - Luxury & Design by the River Altis Belem Hotel & Spa is a 5 star design hotel in Lisbon, located in Belem overlooking the Tagus River, representing a contemporary view of the Golden Age of Discovery. Here you can find the gourmet Restaurant Feitoria (One Michelin Star) and the Spa BSpa by Karin Herzog. The theme of discovery is threaded throughout all of the hotel's 50 luxury rooms (including 5 suites) absorbing and enticing you to embark on an exotic journey displayed in a series of illustrated wall panels, giving each room a bespoke atmosphere. A design hotel in Lisbon that allows you to go on a journey from Mauritania on the West coast of Africa, through Arabia, India, Siam, Osaka and across to the other side of the world via Brazil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Altis Belem Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altis Belem Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing