We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hostel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sweet Home Hospedagem Hostel
Ranked #220 of 503 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Reviewed 20 December 2011

As high-lighted, this hostel is on the 4th floor of a building, without an elevator. There was also no name of the hostel at the entrance - a helpful staff from the neighbouring restaurant confirmed the location.

We had booked a Private Twin Ensuite room but have to settle for a double as someone had taken our room. The double room we stayed in was very warm (due to air circulation, not weather), even with a tower fan. There were no shelves/furniture for us to put our stuff as only hanging fabric shelves and a clothes rack were provided and balancing our toiletries in them was quite a task.

A simple breakfast was provided in the kitchen - bread/margarine/jam/cereals/fruit juice.

Aside from our room disappointment, the hostel was very well located, right on the pedestrian area of Baxia and the nearby metro and bus stops were very convenient. Getting to and from the airport was a breeze, both the airport bus and the local buses have stops nearby (we took the local bus which was cheaper as we only have back-packs).

We enjoyed our stay in lovely Lisbon very much, many thanks to the kind and friendly people we met.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2011

My sister and I visited Lisboa from late May into June. This was my first hostel stay experience, and if this is what they're about, I'm all in!

Karim at Sweet Home hostel is super nice. I reserved the room online, but my card was not charged until I was installed in my room. We chose a private double room, with a private bathroom. Everything was very clean and staff went out of their way to make us comfortable. Karim provided detailed information on the best beaches, restaurants, must-see attractions... he was always helpful, and responded to every email. Oh yeah, there's free Wi-Fi too!

The only drawback is that it's on the 5th floor, so if you have a lot of luggage it's a bit tough to get up there. But again, being that we were two girls, Karim helped us with that too.

Location is ideal, close to shopping, Rossio, all the train stations... Short of staying right in Cascais and hitting the beach daily, we couldn't have picked a better place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elis317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in the double bed with ensuite room for 4 nights. It was in a perfect location - easy to get to and from the airport, central to all the attractions, restaurants, and cafes. The room was clean and well taken care of. The bathroom was large - although we did find that there wasn't a lot of hot water by 9:30am. The kitchen had new appliances. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank _jennyferjuniper_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Very affordable hostel, which is fresh and has the necessary facilities. Located very central in the area Baxia. By far the biggest asset is the hostel owner Karim, who gives tips about the city and answer any questions regarding excursions oh restaurants.

We had a great weekend,

thank Lisbon and Karim.

Br

H & M

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henrik_och_Misha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

This hostel is very centrally located, walking distance to all the amenities.

Rooms are clean and big enough. The hostel is very quiet, ideal for couples not so much for backpackers who want to meet people.

It's very good value for money as all the rooms are brand new and very clean. However, the staff is a bit unhelpful as I asked for parking info before arrival and they never responded. We were asked for estimated arrival time twice and then when we actually arrived there was nobody there to let us into the room, and we waited an hour and a half to get the room.

Be aware that there is only one bathroom for 6 rooms, so there is often a bit of a queue. I would recommend going for the en-suite rooms which are newer and only a few euro more.

Overall very good value for money, but you do get what you pay for at just 40 euro per room per night.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarioPizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Liv'in Lisbon Hostel
#43 of 503 in Lisbon
148 reviews
Lisboa Central Hostel
#7 of 503 in Lisbon
625 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Travellers House
Travellers House
#6 of 503 in Lisbon
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Destination Hostel
Lisbon Destination Hostel
#10 of 503 in Lisbon
779 reviews
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#155 of 255 in Lisbon
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Home Hospedagem Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Home Hospedagem Hostel

Address: Rua dos Correeiros 161, Lisbon 1100-164, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 503 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: ₹ 2,195 - ₹ 2,647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sweet Home Hospedagem Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Sweet Home Hospedagem Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing