We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
8
10
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
10
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Location of property is decent, at walking distance from centre, however:
the very first impression that we had about the room (one with private bathroom, on the ground floor): small and too warm (we stayed there in August, but outside temperature was around 26ºC, so not too hot). Also, as the room is basically next to the street, it doesn't feel too safe to leave the windows open. Bathroom sink was dirty, so we started our stay by thorough cleaning of the sink (we arrived at a late hour, so there was noone at the reception to complain to). Later at night we woke up to a foul canalization smell coming from the bathroom, which basically made sleeping impossible. We managed to fall asleep early in the morning, only to wake up a bit later to the noise of footsteps coming from another room -the isolation is so poor, that you can hear absolutely everything from other rooms. Next day we tried to change our room, but there was none available, so we spent yet another night there, dreading the smell, which was, however, not that unbearable that second night.
All in all, unfortunately it was not a pleasant stay, and surely one that we won't repeat.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Gabriellla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

We spent three days here. The room was spacious and clean. On our first day Luis gave us a map and recommendations. He also allowed us to leave our bags in our room post checkout and keep the key while we went around Lisbon, as he wouldn't be in his office, which was very kind! It's an amazing location to downtown Lisbon and has a Pingo Doce (most popular supermarket in Lisbon it seems) five minutes away and a Lidl five minutes away. The only downsides are no air conditioning (just a fan) and no mini fridge for water etc. I'm not sure if I'd stay for a long holiday, say longer than a week. Still a lovely stay, and I'd happily go back!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

The hostel is good located, you an walk everywhere in Lisbon. The staff are really nice and helpful, and he rooms are perfect if you travel alone or with your couple. The problem is that you have to share bathroom with another room, and we unfortunately had the bad luck to share with a couple that were not really respectful and using the bathroom in the morning for MORE THAN AN HOUR just for themselves. So we couldn't neither take a shower or just go to toilet. But that's the only reason that didn't make us feel comfortable with the place. Anyway, I would recommend to stay here during your stay in Lisbon, it is a quiet and nice place!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank V3196VGdanielp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

Perfect location for our first ever trip to Lisbon and the staff were most helpful. Corner stores, a few humble, but nice, local restaurants, even a neat little laundramat. The centre of town and the Metro are a 15 minute walk away

Room Tip: South side
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kroueche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We arrived in Lisbon at 7am and having spoken with Louis a couple of days prior he stated "No problem I will give you the front door code and the key for your suite will be in the door, all ready for you " This was extremely kind given that one usually must wait until 2 or 3pm to check in. Unfortunately our luggage did not arrive with us and we found ourselves without luggage for 3 days. When the airline delivered our luggage to the Downtown Boutique..... they had one of the bags incorrectly labelled and tried to drop it off anyway, the delivery driver did not speak any English so
thank goodness Mirielle was there she translated our concerns and then the driver was able to find the correct suitcase in his van and give it to us.
We enjoyed our stay at the Downtown Boutique Hotel and Suites very much our spacious first floor suite was more than enough room for the 2 of us. But the best part was the lovely people who work there they made us feel at home.

Room Tip: The ground floor room is spacious with a lovely big outdoor deck.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank michele2361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews