We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely three-day stay in Eugaria Country House”
other traveller has booked this property
Guest house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Guest house
Room 1 Room 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Guest house
Room 1
Room 1
Bathroom 1
Room 1
Room 2
Bathroom 2
View from room 2
Living room
Guest house
Dinnig room
House and Pond
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Colares, Sintra Municipality, Lisbon District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Michael O
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely three-day stay in Eugaria Country House”
Reviewed 29 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

If you desire a tranquil, restful stay in the environs of Sintra (but within 4 km of Sintra), then it will be difficult to find a nicer place to stay than Eugaria Country House. It is situated in the small village of Eugaria with views of the Sintra countryside with the Atlantic Ocean c. 4 km to the west.
The house is most beautifully restored. I had a fine bedroom with en suite bathroom. There is also a sittingroom with wonderful views over the Sintra countryside reserved especially for guests.
Breakfast is to die for!
Ana and her husband really go out of their way to make their guests feel at home.
If you can at all, spend more than a night there. I spent three and wished I could have spent more!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2018
Thank you so much, Michael. It was a real pleasure to host you. We feel grateful to have such a nice guest and to know you really enjoy your stay with us.
We hope we meet again soon in Eugaria.
Kind regards.
Ana & Luis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A Wonderful Place to Stay”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Our group of 6 rented the family suite which was up one flight of stairs and included a sitting area with a beautiful elevated view toward the ocean and two bedrooms each with a private bath. In addition, we rented a ground floor room which also had a private bath and opened onto the courtyard. There is parking available in a gated area below the house as well as some parking roadside. Our hostess was welcoming and offered us information for our visit to Sintra.

The rooms were very pleasingly renovated The beds were comfortable; the bathrooms nicely appointed and maintained. There was no TV in our room which was fine for us.

A delicious breakfast was included. This was a special place to stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJCAustra...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You won't find a nicer place or better hosts”
Reviewed 8 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

You won't find a nicer country house B&W near Sintra or better hosts than Ana and Luis. Previous reviewers have said it before but the Eugenia Country House is in a lovely location with beautiful views in all directions. The family suite is large and very well decorated with a great bathroom and lounge/balcony seating area.

We visited without a car, so apart from the Uber to and from the House, we walked to all the historical sites including those in Sintra. Neither of us are terribly fit and both in our 50s and although tired St the end of the day we had a wonderful time exploring the beautiful countryside. Luis and Ana were terrific at explaining how best to get to places, often by lovely off road paths. At the beginning of the day and the end we were treated to gorgeous breakfasts and dinner and in the one night Ana wasn't able to cook for us (it was a national holiday and she had prior arrangements) she organised for us to go to a lovely seafood restaurant on the coast AND drove us there herself. We can't praise Ana and Luis to highly, they are lovely kind people who made us feel very welcome in their home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Beautiful location, facilities and hosts
Liked least: Having to leave, we would have loved to stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnhespe
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Serene, picturesque, comfortable, lovely home made food and friendly - delightful!”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Great short break with Ana and Louis. Accommodation excellent, food locally sourced and prepared. The views are amazing and the welcome very friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palvey60
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Beautifully renovated house overlooking the valley & Atlantic”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My wife & I stayed in a large room with a Kingsize comfortable bed on a B&B basis at the rear of the house with a patio and chairs for 3 nights as part of a combined walking holiday.
The bathroom and shower area are both large & modern containing quality shower soap/shampoo.
The breakfast includes fresh local fruits, homemade jam & marmalade. The Portugese owners Ana & Luis speak English and are very kind. They can provide an excellent evening meal if pre arranged in advance for 25 euros each.
This venue is suitable for those with their own transport, however we found the local taxis both expensive and unreliable. If evening meals are not taken in the house there is a mile walk downhill into the nearest town to eat and no footpaths, so returning in the dark could be risky on this road with bends. There is only limited information readily available for walkers/cyclists at the present time, however the owners have not been operating long, so this may improve.
The owners have two well behaved dogs, a small holding attached to the property growing their own vegetables, fruit and poultry for fresh eggs and cakes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The house & grounds are beautiful
Liked least: Lack of information/maps for walkers & quite isolated if you have no transport
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing