We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value, Outstanding Location.”
Review of Hotel da Vila

Hotel da Vila
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel da Vila
Ranked #33 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Value, Outstanding Location.”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

As a regular visitor to Cascais, we tried a hotel nearer the beach and centre. worried by previous reviews, sceptcism was the 'order of the day'. The location is perfect, quality of room very good, and above all else 'safe'. Polite and helpful staff, outstanding soundproofing, really no negatives. have already booked for autumn.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    14
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
6
22
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ekaterinburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Actually we needed just a place to sleep and put our bags, so this hotel was one of the cheapest (for end of May). Yes, i agree with other reviewers that the location is good: you can easily reach beach or cafes less than 5-10 min of walking. We didn't request breakfast in the hotel - and we were right! Some "breakfast" cafes (with fresh juice, coffee, fresh cookies and buns) are open since 7 or 8 nearby. And it will be cheaper than have a breakfast in the hotel.
Also i'll agree with one of the review that sometimes it was noisy: we heard new guests arriving at night to their room, how some company drank the whole night... So the walls are thin there..
The guys at reception (there're not so many of them, by the way, you can sometime see the front desk empty) speak not very good english, but they will use all their efforts to help you - with your plans, tour itineraries et c.
The room was always clean. Everyday.
So all i can say it was rather good, but we thought i'd be a little better for the money that we paid.

Room Tip: try to have a higher room ( it'll be less noisy there, i think)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelFrog17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Rooms have little or no soundproofing. You have the sounds of bars and clubs till the early hours and street sweeping machines etc. from 6AM onwards. The worst night of sleep I have ever experienced in any hotel.

The GM/Owner refused to meet me or discuss this with me on the phone, even though he was in the vicinity. He is unprofessional in the extreme.

I did not feel that I should have to pay my bill in full given the above. I was informed that if i didnt the money would be taken from staff wages, which is unfair so I paid in full. That is the type of operation that you are dealing with here I am afraid.

Avoid at all costs. N.B. The nearby Hotel Valbom is under the same control, so the same advice applies there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cascais hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed in this hotel by chance: the one we booked originally had to relocate us to Hotel Da Vila due to some problems with plumbing.
It is a proper 3 star hotel with nothing special to mention. It indeed has great location: right in the center and around 10 minutes easy walk to the nearby beach.
The hotel seems to have been renovated recently: both the room and the shower are clean and functional. The room is on the small side & has no chairs, fridge or tea making facilities, so I would not recommend this hotel if you are staying longer than a couple of days.
The beds are extremely uncomfortable though: they are kind of bouncy and every time you turn in them, you feel like you are falling off the bed.
They provide only hand soap and shower/shampoo gel, so bring your own body lotion if needed. They do have hairdryer in the bathroom which is not a usual thing in 3 star hotels.
We did not have breakfast but if you go down the road to the nearby bakery you can get breakfast rolls and coffee for as little 6-8 euro for two people.
You need to pay for the internet, but i could not get it work for some reason on my computer.
All in all, it is well priced hotel with great location and perfect for a couple of nights stay in Cascais.

Room Tip: all rooms seem to be good: ours was on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elenkahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The hotel is good but in need of some work.
The outside looks already renewed but our room needed some paint job and other works.
The breakfast was ok.
The location is superb!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fjgcorreia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Cidadela
Hotel Cidadela
#26 of 38 in Cascais
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.5 km away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.2 km away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#12 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#13 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
1.5 km away
Pestana Cascais
Pestana Cascais
#16 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.0 km away
Cascais Hotel
Cascais Hotel
#16 of 39 in Cascais
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Vila? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Vila

Property: Hotel da Vila
Address: Travessa da Alfarrobeira 1 3, Cascais 2750-285, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,269 - ₹ 11,503
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Da Vila Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing