We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,372)
Filter reviews
1,372 results
Traveller rating
1,080
232
34
18
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,080
232
34
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gourmet restaurant holmes place gym infinity pool sea view buffet lunch beautiful hotel deluxe room star hotel bottle of champagne very attentive staff busy road big balcony thoroughly enjoyed our stay third floor highly recommend this hotel pool staff public areas
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 1,372 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We have just returned from the Cascais Miragem where we stayed for 10 days. Overall it was a pleasant and enjoyable experience and most things were worthy of a 5 star hotel - but.
Let’s start with the positives and there are many – the location is really wonderful, being right on the edge of the sea and this gives a wonderful backdrop to the main dining room and bar in the hotel. It’s a little outside of the main area of Cascais which on the one hand means you are further away from some of the bars and restaurants but it’s not really that far to be honest and it does mean the hotel is in a really nice and peaceful location and that just adds to its relaxed atmosphere. The facilities are also superb here – the outdoor pool and the surroundings being very clean and well laid out and not too crowded. We had a Premium Ocean View room which was superb in every respect, albeit pretty expensive but being very spacious and having a good balcony with superb views, but absolutory no shade, shelter or umbrella to help you stay out of the direct sun which was very strong (32 degrees most days).
So why did it not earn five stars then?--- Several reasons – all of them small but together they just pegged it back from the score of five that it could have received. The food in the restaurant for breakfast is served buffet style, but the food is barely warm and often cold and that’s not good enough. After a few days of cold bacon & eggs etc. we ended up just avoiding the “hot” buffet and just had fruits, pastries etc.
Mostly the service was very good and the staff were very friendly, especially in the bar. Sometimes at breakfast you were left waiting too long trying to get your tea. If you drank coffee that was served quickly but tea seemed to take an age to arrive, and the staff did not seem to be aware that guests from Ireland or the UK like some cold milk in a jug to add to their tea. Such a request could take 5/6 minutes before your milk arrived and by then the tea was probably cold anyway. Some more attention to detail would solve this very easily. Once at breakfast I was tired of waiting for some hot water which I had already requested and when I asked a second time the waitress was quite aggressive and rude in her reply. That was the exception though as all other staff were extremely courteous and professional and pleasant.
During our stay the Portuguese soccer team were staying in the hotel. This led to some areas of the hotel being out of bounds to ordinary guests. Personally I have no wish to mingle with Ronaldo and his team mates but I do believe that features of the hotel that are advertised by the hotel on their website as facilities should be available to ALL guests and not just the selected ones. This especially applies to the Horizontes Lounge which does offer a covered terrace. I wanted to use this terrace but alas it was closed to us ordinary guests. That is unacceptable in my view and is not good enough from a hotel which promotes these facilities to entice customers in.
The evening room turndown service was a bit hit and miss. Some nights it was carried out properly. Some nights no water was provided at all and you had to contact reception to get some water delivered to the room. Even that did not always work smoothly.
So overall a pretty good experience but some areas do need a little work to improve matters. I would recommend this hotel and hope to stay there again and suggest some improvements would add to the positive experiences.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DublinPaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Branco, Diretor-Geral at Hotel Cascais Miragem, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Mrs. DublinPaddy,
thank you for your preference on Hotel Cascais Miragem! It was a pleasure to have you as our guest! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and the room with a fantastic view.We are committed to provide the best costumer service ever. We truly regret that somehow your experience in restaurante Oásis has not completely fulfilled your expectations. We also took good note regarding the turndown service and water in your room and we will carefully look into it so that all the necessary actions must be taken. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcome you back in our hotel! With our best regards, José Branco - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We stayed in a standard room for 5 nights. The hotel "promises"(in the Booking .com) the view of the city. In fact,the visitors of room 473 and the neighboring ones can see a large construction column and the wall??! Only one day day before the departure they promised (after 3 p.m.) to give us another room.For one night??No one wants to be cheated.Neither do we. Moreover, the staff in the bar and the restaurant for breakfast don't speak English well.It takes time to explain what a teaspoon or peach juice are.I have to admit that the "Gourmet" restaurant and the inside design of the hotel are excellent.The food and service in "Gourmet" are fantastic!!

Room Tip: Avoid this disappointing hotel.It's worth visiting its 'evening 'restaurant.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank vperl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Branco, Diretor-Geral at Hotel Cascais Miragem, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Mr. Vperl4,
Thank you very much for your preference and for choosing to stay in Hotel Cascais Miragem during your visit to Cascais! We are grateful for your kind words regarding our Gourmet Restaurant and service. It was much appreciated and I will share your kind words with our team! Regarding the room, your booking was made for a standard room, and during your stay we talk to you almost every day because we were aware of your disappointment and we have tried our best to give you another option. Unfortunately we were fully booked and we just had the opportunity to arrange another room to you on your last night as we have explained. Our offer and effort was declined and we are sorry to hear that the room you have reserved did not meet your expectation.
For future reservations, we gladly suggest you to experience one of our deluxe or premium rooms and enjoy our comfortable terrace with a privileged view over the sea. Looking forward to your next visit, we wish you all the best. Kind regards, José Branco General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

The hotel is extremely clean with beautiful furniture and surroundings. The staff very polite and helpful and a very rich breakfast with lots of fresh fruit . The rooms are large an$ with ver6 comfortable beds. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohi19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Branco, Diretor-Geral at Hotel Cascais Miragem, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Mr. Mohi19
Thank you very much for your preference in Hotel Cascais Miragem! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our rooms and the pool area.
Your feedback is very important to us and we really apreciate your experience sharing to other guests and future guests. Looking forward to welcome you back, we wish you all the best. Kind Regards, José Branco General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here recently for work. For the most part, this gorgeous, large, spacious hotel is absolutely fantastic and worth all of its five stars. There a few misses on service, such as a strangely timed interruption to check the mini bar in the late afternoon. Elsewhere, the service was excellent. Great spqciyrooms, a stunning pool deck, and pretty decent food top out all of the great aspects of this property. Food is expensive compared to its quality, and there are many other, much more excellent food options located nearby in Cascais. Still, even with a handful of small misses, I cannot recommend this hotel enough. Beautiful seaside location is a huge added bonus. Really, really good. Recommend.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Iamthetoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Highly recommend this property.well maintained,most courteous staff,lovely breakfast

Great pool area.most convenience if you use a car due to large and well located parking space.rooms and public areas are spotless.
Dinner at the restaurant was ok,staff friendly and knowledgeable with regards to wine

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor to avoid noise from pool area
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chenm432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Branco, Diretor-Geral at Hotel Cascais Miragem, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Mr. Chenm432
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Hotel Cascais Miragem. We are grateful for your kind comments regarding our hotel. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward to your next visit, we wish you all the best,
Kind Regards,
José Branco General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews