We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
303
58
5
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
303
58
5
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews evening port complimentary glass of port drawing room beautiful portuguese no elevator guest house overlooking the garden close to shops port wine perfect location centre of town beautiful property memorable stay central cascais breakfast room is wonderful week night stay
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Centrally located in the lovely seaside town of Cascais this small hotel is clean and provides charming accommodation for holiday makers. There is a very good breakfast with a hot and cold buffet, a lovely flower garden which catches the morning sun, even in November and complimentary port in the lavish, oak lined drawing room.
There are some eccentricities. The rooms do not have coffee/ tea making facilities. There is also some updating required to the decor and having to ring the bell from the road to be let back in has an element of being told by your mum that your back too late, where have you been until this time?? (probably just my paranoia)
Overall however, this is a fine little hotel with friendly helpful staff (with perfect English, obviously) and is really good value for money.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pdbonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martaine, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Dear Guest pdbonhols,

Thank you so much for your review.
We hope that we will visit us again.

Best regards,
Patricia Gonçalves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

We have just returned from five wonderful days at Pergola House. Sophia, Ana, Paula and Angela are so welcoming, helpful and professional and they could not have done more to make us feel at home. The house and gardens are utterly stunning. It is the most peaceful and beautiful guesthouse, central and easy to walk from to enjoy the pretty town of Cascais with all its beautiful spots nearby. Breakfasts in the garden were simply delightful and a glass of port a lovely way to start each evening.
We are already looking forward to returning to the charming and perfectly run Pergola House.
Patricia, you have an excellent team...Thank you all again for a fabulous stay.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia G, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Guest Jenny K,

Thank you so much for such wonderful review.
We look forward to welcome you again at Pergola House.

Best regards,
Patricia Gonçalves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Shall hotel with charming rooms and very friendly staff. Raft to get a drink in the evening. Good breakfast with very attentive staff. Free glass of port in evening but also but for €8 the wine cheese and salami selection. It's enormous!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lanceandpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martaine, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear Guest lanceandpeter,

Thank you so much for your review.
We hope to welcome you again at Pergola House.

Best regards,
Patricia Gonçalves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

My Husband and I stayed three nights at Pergola House which is a few minutes walk from Cascais train station. Sophia, Ana, Paula and Angela were the perfect hosts and soon got to know us and what room we were in and had our key ready for us on our return to the hotel. They made us feel most welcome and all spoke very good English.

We stayed in Room 21 (Flores) which is located on the 2nd Floor. The room was larger than average with twin beds and a lovely full size bathroom which had a bath with shower over, toilet, bidet, washbasin and a hairdryer. There was a large wardrobe with plenty of hanging space plus drawer space and a separate chest of drawers. The room was kept spotlessly clean. The wifi worked well both in our room and outside in the garden.

Breakfast was served from 08.00 to 10.00 and consisted of a choice of cereals, various well presented fruits on a plate, yogurts, pancakes, waffles, cheese, ham, tomatoes, scrambled egg, bacon, sausage and various different rolls and bread as well as cakes/cookies each day. There were various jams and syrup and there was also a toaster. One could help themselves to a delicious fresh orange drink or milk and hot drinks were served at the table. One could sit inside or outside and we loved sitting outside in the beautiful well kept peaceful garden. There were also drinks and snacks available during the day and there was a complimentary glass of port served in the lounge from 6.00pm/8.00pm each evening.

We travelled independently flying from London Gatwick with easyJet. EasyJet lands at Terminal 2 at Lisbon and a tightly packed courtesy bus takes you to Terminal 1. We got the Metro from the airport to Caia de Sodre station which involved a change at Alameda onto the Green Line (Verdi). It cost 1.45 Euros plus 0.50 for the Lisbon Viva Viagem card which is used to load the money on for the fare and operates the gates in/out of the Metro stations. Trains leave Caia do Sodre for Cascais every 20 mins, the fare costs 2.15 Euros single or 1.10 Euros for those age 65 and over (it is worth carrying a passport or a photocopy to confirm age if requiring a concession). The journey time from Caia do Sodre to Cascais is around 40 mins, sometimes a bit less on a semi-fast train. The best scenery is on the left hand side of the train going towards Cascais as there are lovely views of the sea and coastline. If travelling by train on the return trip allow sufficient time to get from Terminal 1 to Terminal 2 at the airport as it is necessary to catch the free shuttle bus which departs approx every 10 minutes from outside Terminal 1. We got a taxi from Caia do Sodre station directly to Terminal 2 which took around 20 minutes and cost 12 Euros. The Hotel also offers airport transfers for 45 Euros.

We thoroughly enjoyed our few days at Pergola House and found an abundance of reasonably priced restaurants closeby where we ate in the evenings. There are also some good clean beaches within easy walking distance. We spent a very pleasant day sightseeing in Lisbon travelling there by train. There were lots of sightseeing buses and trams in Lisbon with departure points close to Caia do Sodre station.

We hope to return to Pergola House again in the future. In the meantime, thank you to everyone for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia G, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Guest Janet23,

We hope too that you visit us again.
Thank you for the wonderful review.

Best regards,
Patricia Gonçalves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

This place couldn't have been any better. A wonderful friendly welcome from a very enthusiastic lady. A wonderful room with a glass of port after a stressful flight. A great recommendation for a lovely restaurant just around the corner and a gorgeous breakfast in the most romantic garden ever. There were even chocolates when they realised after check in that there was a birthday in the group. Truely wonderful.

Room Tip: Just go there
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goosey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martaine, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Guest Goosey2014,

Thank you for your wonderful review.
We hope that you would visit us again.

Best regards,
Patricia Gonçalves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews