We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pergola House deserves all the positive comments, met all my expectations - service and facilities”
Review of Pergola House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pergola House
Ranked #2 of 42 Cascais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had read the positive reviews of Pergola House and was looking forward to my 7 night stay. Everyone was very welcoming and helpful from the moment I walked in the door until I left very early on the final day. I stayed in two rooms and both had lovely furnishings and were very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good and was served either inside or out with white linens and personal service. Food and drink items were frequently replenished. The evening port wine service allowed time to meet with other travelers and share stories. The house was quiet at night. The location was perfect for taking a train or bus for a day trip. The building is so pretty that you will see many people taking pictures from the street. Thank you to the entire staff for making my stay wonderful. I hope to return.

Room Tip: Look at the room descriptions on their website and request your favorite as soon as you can. I enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bobbi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martaine, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest Bobbi H,

The pleasure was all ours, to have such lovely lady between us.
We really hope that you will stay stay with us another time, in the future.
We miss you.

Thank you for the lovely review.

Best regards,
Patricia Gonçalves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Centrally located in the lovely seaside town of Cascais this small hotel is clean and provides charming accommodation for holiday makers. There is a very good breakfast with a hot and cold buffet, a lovely flower garden which catches the morning sun, even in November and complimentary port in the lavish, oak lined drawing room.
There are some eccentricities. The rooms do not have coffee/ tea making facilities. There is also some updating required to the decor and having to ring the bell from the road to be let back in has an element of being told by your mum that your back too late, where have you been until this time?? (probably just my paranoia)
Overall however, this is a fine little hotel with friendly helpful staff (with perfect English, obviously) and is really good value for money.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank pdbonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martaine, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Dear Guest pdbonhols,

Thank you so much for your review.
We hope that we will visit us again.

Best regards,
Patricia Gonçalves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

We have just returned from five wonderful days at Pergola House. Sophia, Ana, Paula and Angela are so welcoming, helpful and professional and they could not have done more to make us feel at home. The house and gardens are utterly stunning. It is the most peaceful and beautiful guesthouse, central and easy to walk from to enjoy the pretty town of Cascais with all its beautiful spots nearby. Breakfasts in the garden were simply delightful and a glass of port a lovely way to start each evening.
We are already looking forward to returning to the charming and perfectly run Pergola House.
Patricia, you have an excellent team...Thank you all again for a fabulous stay.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia G, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Guest Jenny K,

Thank you so much for such wonderful review.
We look forward to welcome you again at Pergola House.

Best regards,
Patricia Gonçalves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Shall hotel with charming rooms and very friendly staff. Raft to get a drink in the evening. Good breakfast with very attentive staff. Free glass of port in evening but also but for €8 the wine cheese and salami selection. It's enormous!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lanceandpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martaine, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear Guest lanceandpeter,

Thank you so much for your review.
We hope to welcome you again at Pergola House.

Best regards,
Patricia Gonçalves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

My Husband and I stayed three nights at Pergola House which is a few minutes walk from Cascais train station. Sophia, Ana, Paula and Angela were the perfect hosts and soon got to know us and what room we were in and had our key ready for us on our return to the hotel. They made us feel most welcome and all spoke very good English.

We stayed in Room 21 (Flores) which is located on the 2nd Floor. The room was larger than average with twin beds and a lovely full size bathroom which had a bath with shower over, toilet, bidet, washbasin and a hairdryer. There was a large wardrobe with plenty of hanging space plus drawer space and a separate chest of drawers. The room was kept spotlessly clean. The wifi worked well both in our room and outside in the garden.

Breakfast was served from 08.00 to 10.00 and consisted of a choice of cereals, various well presented fruits on a plate, yogurts, pancakes, waffles, cheese, ham, tomatoes, scrambled egg, bacon, sausage and various different rolls and bread as well as cakes/cookies each day. There were various jams and syrup and there was also a toaster. One could help themselves to a delicious fresh orange drink or milk and hot drinks were served at the table. One could sit inside or outside and we loved sitting outside in the beautiful well kept peaceful garden. There were also drinks and snacks available during the day and there was a complimentary glass of port served in the lounge from 6.00pm/8.00pm each evening.

We travelled independently flying from London Gatwick with easyJet. EasyJet lands at Terminal 2 at Lisbon and a tightly packed courtesy bus takes you to Terminal 1. We got the Metro from the airport to Caia de Sodre station which involved a change at Alameda onto the Green Line (Verdi). It cost 1.45 Euros plus 0.50 for the Lisbon Viva Viagem card which is used to load the money on for the fare and operates the gates in/out of the Metro stations. Trains leave Caia do Sodre for Cascais every 20 mins, the fare costs 2.15 Euros single or 1.10 Euros for those age 65 and over (it is worth carrying a passport or a photocopy to confirm age if requiring a concession). The journey time from Caia do Sodre to Cascais is around 40 mins, sometimes a bit less on a semi-fast train. The best scenery is on the left hand side of the train going towards Cascais as there are lovely views of the sea and coastline. If travelling by train on the return trip allow sufficient time to get from Terminal 1 to Terminal 2 at the airport as it is necessary to catch the free shuttle bus which departs approx every 10 minutes from outside Terminal 1. We got a taxi from Caia do Sodre station directly to Terminal 2 which took around 20 minutes and cost 12 Euros. The Hotel also offers airport transfers for 45 Euros.

We thoroughly enjoyed our few days at Pergola House and found an abundance of reasonably priced restaurants closeby where we ate in the evenings. There are also some good clean beaches within easy walking distance. We spent a very pleasant day sightseeing in Lisbon travelling there by train. There were lots of sightseeing buses and trams in Lisbon with departure points close to Caia do Sodre station.

We hope to return to Pergola House again in the future. In the meantime, thank you to everyone for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Janet23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia G, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Guest Janet23,

We hope too that you visit us again.
Thank you for the wonderful review.

Best regards,
Patricia Gonçalves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1 km away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.2 km away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
595 reviews
0.6 km away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
826 reviews
5.8 km away
Fortaleza do Guincho
Fortaleza do Guincho
#6 of 39 in Cascais
564 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#12 of 39 in Cascais
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pergola House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pergola House

Address: Avenida Valbom 13, Cascais 2750-508, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Cascais
Price Range: ₹ 5,191 - ₹ 12,305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pergola House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pergola House, a Mediterranean style Mansion, with its elegant white marble floors and staircases, 10 bedrooms with "bas relief" stucco ceilings and beautiful garden, is located in the very heart of Cascais. This superb house has always belonged to the same family for over a century and its beautiful facade adorned with ancient hand painted tiles has been the delight of both amateur and professional photographers. Enjoy the buffet breakfast outside in the colourful garden in summer or inside with the sound of classic music. Port wine served everyday at 6 pm. Tea service in the afternoon. Special appetizers and wines from 6-8 pm. Daily diner buffet available. Air-conditioned and central heating. Wireless internet in all the rooms. Good tips for restaurants and museums.Pick-up from Lisbon airport available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pergola House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Da Pergola Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing