We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
303
58
5
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
303
58
5
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews evening port complimentary glass of port drawing room beautiful portuguese overlooking the garden guest house close to shops port wine perfect location centre of town beautiful property memorable stay central cascais breakfast room is wonderful week night stay late at night
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Shall hotel with charming rooms and very friendly staff. Raft to get a drink in the evening. Good breakfast with very attentive staff. Free glass of port in evening but also but for €8 the wine cheese and salami selection. It's enormous!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lanceandpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martaine, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear Guest lanceandpeter,

Thank you so much for your review.
We hope to welcome you again at Pergola House.

Best regards,
Patricia Gonçalves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

My Husband and I stayed three nights at Pergola House which is a few minutes walk from Cascais train station. Sophia, Ana, Paula and Angela were the perfect hosts and soon got to know us and what room we were in and had our key ready for us on our return to the hotel. They made us feel most welcome and all spoke very good English.

We stayed in Room 21 (Flores) which is located on the 2nd Floor. The room was larger than average with twin beds and a lovely full size bathroom which had a bath with shower over, toilet, bidet, washbasin and a hairdryer. There was a large wardrobe with plenty of hanging space plus drawer space and a separate chest of drawers. The room was kept spotlessly clean. The wifi worked well both in our room and outside in the garden.

Breakfast was served from 08.00 to 10.00 and consisted of a choice of cereals, various well presented fruits on a plate, yogurts, pancakes, waffles, cheese, ham, tomatoes, scrambled egg, bacon, sausage and various different rolls and bread as well as cakes/cookies each day. There were various jams and syrup and there was also a toaster. One could help themselves to a delicious fresh orange drink or milk and hot drinks were served at the table. One could sit inside or outside and we loved sitting outside in the beautiful well kept peaceful garden. There were also drinks and snacks available during the day and there was a complimentary glass of port served in the lounge from 6.00pm/8.00pm each evening.

We travelled independently flying from London Gatwick with easyJet. EasyJet lands at Terminal 2 at Lisbon and a tightly packed courtesy bus takes you to Terminal 1. We got the Metro from the airport to Caia de Sodre station which involved a change at Alameda onto the Green Line (Verdi). It cost 1.45 Euros plus 0.50 for the Lisbon Viva Viagem card which is used to load the money on for the fare and operates the gates in/out of the Metro stations. Trains leave Caia do Sodre for Cascais every 20 mins, the fare costs 2.15 Euros single or 1.10 Euros for those age 65 and over (it is worth carrying a passport or a photocopy to confirm age if requiring a concession). The journey time from Caia do Sodre to Cascais is around 40 mins, sometimes a bit less on a semi-fast train. The best scenery is on the left hand side of the train going towards Cascais as there are lovely views of the sea and coastline. If travelling by train on the return trip allow sufficient time to get from Terminal 1 to Terminal 2 at the airport as it is necessary to catch the free shuttle bus which departs approx every 10 minutes from outside Terminal 1. We got a taxi from Caia do Sodre station directly to Terminal 2 which took around 20 minutes and cost 12 Euros. The Hotel also offers airport transfers for 45 Euros.

We thoroughly enjoyed our few days at Pergola House and found an abundance of reasonably priced restaurants closeby where we ate in the evenings. There are also some good clean beaches within easy walking distance. We spent a very pleasant day sightseeing in Lisbon travelling there by train. There were lots of sightseeing buses and trams in Lisbon with departure points close to Caia do Sodre station.

We hope to return to Pergola House again in the future. In the meantime, thank you to everyone for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia G, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Guest Janet23,

We hope too that you visit us again.
Thank you for the wonderful review.

Best regards,
Patricia Gonçalves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

This place couldn't have been any better. A wonderful friendly welcome from a very enthusiastic lady. A wonderful room with a glass of port after a stressful flight. A great recommendation for a lovely restaurant just around the corner and a gorgeous breakfast in the most romantic garden ever. There were even chocolates when they realised after check in that there was a birthday in the group. Truely wonderful.

Room Tip: Just go there
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goosey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martaine, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Guest Goosey2014,

Thank you for your wonderful review.
We hope that you would visit us again.

Best regards,
Patricia Gonçalves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Stayed here overnight at the start of our holiday in the Sintra- Cascais Nation park, the hotel is as comfortable as it is lovely and breakfast, taken in the sunny garden, was excellent. It's location in the older part of the town makes it an ideal base from which to explore the harbour and seafront and there are several friendly restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 343christinerobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martaine, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Guest 343christinerobbo,

Thank you!
We hope that you can visit again one day in the future.

Best regards,
Patricia Gonçalves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Having read previous reviews we decided to try the Pergola for our 7 night stay, and we were so impressed that in future we will be looking at staying in a guest house. We arrived after 11pm and were greeted with a warm friendly face and shown to our room, the first thing that struck me was the beautiful fragrances throughout the house. Our room was at the front of the house overlooking the garden, it was spacious and absolutely spotless with aircon. There was plenty of towels and hot water for showers, with complimentary bottled water in the room.
Breakfast buffet style served between 8-10 am. There was a large variety to suit everyone from scrambled eggs,crispy bacon , orange juice, bread, rolls, fruit yogurts tea and coffee etc, i must at this stage give a special mention to Ana who looked after all the guests so elegantly and without fuss each morning such a lovely lady.
The garden is so beautiful as in the photos, each evening a bottle of complimentary Port is left on a table by the front door for guests to have an evening drink, such a lovely touch. The Pergola is situated on a one way street but the noise levels are very low, it is only about 150 metres to the rail station, 250 metres to the rather large shopping centre and a five minute walk to the beach. Nearby are countless restaurants and some high quality shops. The Pergola was our base s we visited, Lisbon by train on 2 days, Sintra by bus from under the shopping centre and we were so glad we did.I will write a separate review of Cascais and Lisbon. We have no hesitation in advising anyone we know who want to visit, Cascais or Lisbon to stay at the excellent Pergola Guesthouse. Thank you again to the wonderful staff especially Patricia, Paula,and Ana

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martaine, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Guest Jonathan R,

Thank you so much for such lovely review.
Ana, Paula and all the staff send to you a big hug, and hoping that you will return one day in the future.

Best regards,
Patricia Gonçalves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews