We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
73
139
86
19
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
139
86
19
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightplace to stayroom was cleannice viewvalleyheightportugallunawifisnownature
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 322 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2017

We stayed as a family only one night (15 December 2017) in 2 adjoining (inter-connecting) rooms. The staff was fantastic, check in was smooth and service very efficient. Whilst the hotel is fairly old and in need of some upkeep, this was not negative at all and the charm, views and overall ambience of the hotel is simply great. One disappointment was when we wanted to order from the extensive menu they provide at the bar, we could only order a cheese and ham sandwich (out of probably 20 menu items), so the family had cheese and ham sandwiches for dinner. The other issue I personally had with the room we stayed in was that the walls are paper thin - these is simply no sound proofing. When the couple in the room next door came to bed (after 0h00) I was woken from their discussions (they were merely having a normal, not loud, discussion) and I could here every word. I can imagine in season, when the hotel is full, this must be a major issue.

Beside the above, the hotel is really great with an awesome breakfast. Since a major reason of staying at a hotel is to get a good night's rest, I have only given the hotel an average rating, which is perhaps not fair because it is a good hotel, but the sound proofing was a big issue for me.

Stayed: December 2017
1  Thank Faans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno F, Diretor-Geral at Luna Hotel dos Carqueijais, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Client. Thank you for visiting and sending us your opinion. We note your suggestions regarding the improvements to be implemented in our unit that we will review with the utmost attention.
Regards
Bruno Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

we enjoyed our stay a lot, the staff is super friendly, the breakfast was outstanding and dinner (we had half board) was very good. we had an excellent view of the mountains and the room was clean. only thing i could make a remark on is that the pool was not heated and so we couldnt use it.

Room Tip: rooms with a view on the pool are best
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank El D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno F, Diretor-Geral at Luna Hotel dos Carqueijais, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Client. Thank you for visiting and sending us your opinion. We were glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.Looking forward to hear from you.
Regards
Bruno Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

No problems cancelling the stay due to nearby forest fire. We only had a glimpse of the hotel - but it looked more than fantastic inside and outside. The view from the pool over the valley and mountains is definitely worth experiencing. Hope to see you again some time under more peaceful conditions.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank gixxergirl_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno F, Diretor-Geral at Luna Hotel dos Carqueijais, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Client. Thank you for visiting and sending us your opinion. We regret the situation of the fires, always scary and we try to minimize to our guests with our posture and understanding. We hope to see you again on another occasion.
Regards
Bruno Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Possibly the best view we have ever experienced on our biking trips. This view is insane. It is near to the Torres which is the highest point in Portugal but still, breathtaking! Food is good, quite a wide range/choice, pool is lovely but was v cold (height?) Room was spacious, lovely and v clean. Lovely staff and great service. Will be back!

Room Tip: I would ask for a pool view room next time
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno F, Diretor-Geral at Luna Hotel dos Carqueijais, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Client. Thank you for visiting and sending us your opinion. We were very pleased to know that we had a quality stay in our company, with a highlight to our magnificent view.
Best Regards
Bruno Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

It was a pleasant surprise, everyone was nice and breakfast was very good.
The view is beautiful.
The room was clean and pretty.
The bathroom was separated by glass and we could see the person inside through the blinds.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank QuinitoMendes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno F, Diretor-Geral at Luna Hotel dos Carqueijais, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Client. Thank you for visiting and sending us your opinion. We were very pleased to know that you had a quality stay in our company and that we were able to live up to your expectations.
Best Regards
Bruno Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews