We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view over Covilha”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luna Hotel dos Carqueijais
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Covilha
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed for one day/night with the kids in a family room that is basically 2rooms together. Rooms are very clean with reasonable size and gr8 view over city as we are quite high in the mountain. Staff very friendly and breakfast is gr8. Swimming pool area is gr8 with that nice view too , shame was so cold in December and all we can do is take some pics.
Location for the Serra da estrela is quite good but if you mainly visiting the city I would say Luna hotel is not the best.....

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank rmcp2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2017

We stayed as a family only one night (15 December 2017) in 2 adjoining (inter-connecting) rooms. The staff was fantastic, check in was smooth and service very efficient. Whilst the hotel is fairly old and in need of some upkeep, this was not negative at all and the charm, views and overall ambience of the hotel is simply great. One disappointment was when we wanted to order from the extensive menu they provide at the bar, we could only order a cheese and ham sandwich (out of probably 20 menu items), so the family had cheese and ham sandwiches for dinner. The other issue I personally had with the room we stayed in was that the walls are paper thin - these is simply no sound proofing. When the couple in the room next door came to bed (after 0h00) I was woken from their discussions (they were merely having a normal, not loud, discussion) and I could here every word. I can imagine in season, when the hotel is full, this must be a major issue.

Beside the above, the hotel is really great with an awesome breakfast. Since a major reason of staying at a hotel is to get a good night's rest, I have only given the hotel an average rating, which is perhaps not fair because it is a good hotel, but the sound proofing was a big issue for me.

Stayed: December 2017
1  Thank Faans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

we enjoyed our stay a lot, the staff is super friendly, the breakfast was outstanding and dinner (we had half board) was very good. we had an excellent view of the mountains and the room was clean. only thing i could make a remark on is that the pool was not heated and so we couldnt use it.

Room Tip: rooms with a view on the pool are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank El D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

No problems cancelling the stay due to nearby forest fire. We only had a glimpse of the hotel - but it looked more than fantastic inside and outside. The view from the pool over the valley and mountains is definitely worth experiencing. Hope to see you again some time under more peaceful conditions.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank gixxergirl_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Possibly the best view we have ever experienced on our biking trips. This view is insane. It is near to the Torres which is the highest point in Portugal but still, breathtaking! Food is good, quite a wide range/choice, pool is lovely but was v cold (height?) Room was spacious, lovely and v clean. Lovely staff and great service. Will be back!

Room Tip: I would ask for a pool view room next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covilha
0.5 km away
Pousada Serra da Estrela
2.6 km away
Luna Serra da Estrela
Luna Serra da Estrela
#2 of 3 in Serra da Estrela
248 reviews
3 km away
TRYP Covilha Dona Maria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
#1 of 1 in Unhais da Serra
1,060 reviews
15.3 km away
Casa Lagar da Alagoa
Casa Lagar da Alagoa
#1 of 3 in Serra da Estrela
50 reviews
3.6 km away
Purala Wool Valley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Hotel dos Carqueijais? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Hotel dos Carqueijais

Address: Estrada Nacional 339 | Penhas da Saúde, Covilha 6200-324, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Castelo Branco District > Covilha
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Covilha
Price Range: ₹ 4,935 - ₹ 11,429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luna Hotel dos Carqueijais 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At 1100 meters above sea level, the Hotel dos Carqueijais is a boutique hotel in the Serra da Estrela that enjoys superb views over the Cova da Beira valley. Built on a high plain, on the mountain slope, the hotel has a unique architectural style, and is located just 5km from Covilha and 15km from the Serra da Estrela Ski Resort. The degree of excellence and comfort are just two of the hotel’s many qualities; and summertime guests will have a memorable experience when they can take advantage of its beautiful outdoor pool with a magnificent view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Luna Hotel dos Carqueijais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing