We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yurt Holiday Portugal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coimbra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yurt Holiday Portugal
Ranked #1 of 25 Coimbra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Absolutely fantastic. We wanted relaxation away from the hussle and bussle of London and we got it. Great accomodation, brilliant food. Derek and Hannah make the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Your_Bedroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
56
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

A honeymoon like no other, we arrived as guests and were immediately treated as returning friends. Derek and Hannah are professional, friendly, and perfect hosts delivering quality food everyday to be enjoyed right outside your yurt as the sun slowly sets. We have been given memories of a honeymoon that we hold very fondly in our hearts and will always look back on a perfect honeymoon.

The surrounding area is a treasure trove of days out, with the national forest, river swimming, and kayaking on the mondego river. And surrounded by villages that seem that time forgot!

Could not recommend this more, and we only hope we can make a return trip in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkLija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Hannah and Derek have created an idyllic experience.
The yurts are wonderful, and they have really paid attention to every detail.
Their food is absolutely delicious and their warmth as hosts makes staying an absolute pleasure.
The area is so beautiful and the starry sky at night is so romantic.
We loved every minute of our stay in this beautiful place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank homeopathtohealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

What a trip!!!

Beauty, Peace and comfort beyond our dreams.

Derek and Hannah are the most wonderful hosts and also fellow SW Londoners.

I am already persuading my family to book next year. The perfect holiday for myself and David.

Thank you.

Room Tip: Bring a few board games in case it rains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

When you book anything new and especially on the internet you can't help feeling nervous about what you are going to find. Any anxieties were swiftly set aside. The Yurt was really comfortable and decked out in very tasteful fabrics and furnishings. Derek and Hannah are both excellent cooks. Derek made our 11 year old son a fantastic chocolate cake and Hannah always came up with very well judged meals for all the family and we could tell that if we had been on our own without the kids she would have come up with some really interesting food. I really enjoyed chatting with Derek and by the time we left I felt we had covered an amazing variety of topics. Theo and Ella are really lovely kids and a real positive testament to the lifestyle which they have been brought up in. All in all a really great place to chill out and relax

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matt b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
5.9 km away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
7.0 km away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
6.0 km away
Hotel Vitoria
Hotel Vitoria
#2 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
5.6 km away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
11.5 km away
Casa nas Serras
Casa nas Serras
#2 of 25 in Coimbra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yurt Holiday Portugal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yurt Holiday Portugal

Property: Yurt Holiday Portugal
Address: Varzeas, Coimbra 3020-136, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Coimbra
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay in our romantic Mongolian style yurts, nestled in the mountains of central Portugal, about one hour inland from the ancient university town of Coimbra. Olives, vines and fruit trees surround the yurt; our own spring provides the water; and energy is solar powered. Whether you’re looking for a lazy rural retreat, or an active holiday in the hills, there’s no better way to get back to nature without foregoing any creature comforts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing