We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful rural location in central Portugal”
other travellers have booked this property
Casa Sulo Chalet Apartments
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Sulo Chalet Apartments
Kitchen/Diner Twin bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Casa Sulo Chalet Apartments
Kitchen/Diner
Twin bedroom
Casa Sulo chalet apartment patio
View from Patio
Pool Time
Let your cares drift away
An evening game of boules
Evening Barbecues
Barra Beach
Costa Nova
Agueda fun street
Racing Moliceiros
Rio Vouga
River beaches
Spectacular Sunsets
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Aveiro, Aveiro District, Northern Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
charlotte...
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A beautiful rural location in central Portugal”
Reviewed 16 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We have just returned from a lovely week at casa sulo.
Ken and Sue made us feel very welcome in their beautiful surroundings with their informal advice and generosity.
Despite the location being on top of a mountain it is close to amenities and the highway to explore the local area and beyond once you have driven back down the mountain which in itself is stunning and fun! It even has its own little river with picnic tables halfway down.
Thanks again Ken and Sue.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2017
Thank you for your kind words. We enjoyed having you here at Casa Sulo and know that you had fun in the pool and exploring the local area.
Best regards,
Sue and Ken
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanbarl...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This is our third visit to Casa Sulo and hopefully it won't be the last. It's so peaceful and beautiful and a world away from the rat race. The apartments are comfortable and very clean and Ken and Sue are superb hosts who take care of their guests so well.

If you want a truly different holiday away from everything this could well be the place for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and glorious views
Liked least: perhaps for some the road up to the apartments
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Casa Sulo chalet apartments. It means a lot to us to know that we are getting things right, and it is especially good for us to hear that you are planning on another visit. We try to treat every guest as an individual.
Sue and Ken
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne G
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rural retreat.”
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We spent a wonderful week at Casa Sulo. We highly recommend it if you want a quiet rural retreat . It is in a small village surrounded by a eucalyptus forest with the most amazing views looking out over the mountains.
We were in one of the two chalets with my son, daughter in law and their and baby in the adjacent one which worked out really well. The kitchen is well stocked and beds comfortable.
Although the weather was not boiling we had lots of fun in the pool and a bbq most evenings. Had some lovely walks through the forest accompanied by some very friendly local dogs which Maya thoroughly enjoyed.
Ken and Sue are fantastic hosts who gave us a warm welcome even though it was at a some horrendous hour of the night, nothing was too much trouble ! Fridge was stocked with delicious goodies, homemade jam, bread, wine etc . which was great as it is a bit of a way to the nearest shops. Their garden is lovely with loads of interesting plants, fruit trees etc. which we were allowed to roam. They also have a small vineyard so was facinating to hear about (and sample of course !) their wine and port making.
All in all fantastic.
Thanks Ken and Sue.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Thank you for your review. It was good of you to take the time and it is so good to hear that our efforts are appreciated. You also gave us a lot of pleasure and you've cost us a lot of money in "smoking" equipment for our hams, cheeses, etc. which our future visitors might be sampling.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aruba32la...
Valladolid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“UNBELIEVABLE !!”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

You do not expect a place like that at the end of the small village Alombada. It is a piece of Eden in Earth thanks to Ken and Sue. And they are like a couple of Angels brought for you : they will sattisfy any of your needs (all home made . honey, jams, bread, wine ... you can take your own fruits early in the morning from the tree ... so, relax.
JUST GO AND SEE !! It is the only way to "taste" it by yourself !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Atención al cliente por parte del propietario
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Portugal's hidden gem”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with Ken and Sue during the end of June, beginning of July of 2014. We were the first Canuck (Canadian) guests they have had. We had quite the adventure finding the place, (to our surprise, the GPS had the small town on it) but the drive up the winding road of Eucalyptus trees led us to a magnificent chalet on the top of a mountain. Ken and Sue, who provided us with a welcome gift basket complete with fresh bread and vegetables, greeted us with open arms. The weather when we got there was not so great. However, our three daughters thoroughly enjoyed the pool and even made a synchronized swimming routine to thank our gracious hosts. Casa Sulo is in a great location with many beautiful places close by including Aveiro, Coimbra, and Buçaco, and is close to sights such as waterfalls, caves, and castles. Our trip was enhanced thanks to the guests who happened to be staying in the adjacent suite. They were a British couple that had stayed at Casa Sulo a couple of times. We clicked with them right away and we spent an amazing Canada Day and the rest of week drinking wine and seeing the sights. We initially had planned to stay only 7 nights, however we ended up staying 4 more nights because we loved it so much. Casa Sulo is a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of life and enjoy the beauty and nature that Portugal has to offer. Thanks again Ken and Sue for a great time! Cheers from Canada eh!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2014
It was a delight for us to welcome our first Canadian visitors and we're so pleased that you found your "neighbours" equally good fun and good company. We remember the synchronised swimming and it almost tempted Ken to take up swimming as an exercise - but only almost! We were pleased when you arrived to discover that our directions were better than your satnav. Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to maybe welcoming you back to Casa Sulo sometime in the future.
Best regards, Ken and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing