We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Santa Rita amazing place”
other travellers have booked this property
View of the front house from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the front house from the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
View of the front house from the garden
the city of ponta delgada
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel, Azores

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Annelies...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Santa Rita amazing place”
Reviewed 22 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The house is really big!! It's a bit old but it's charming. The garden is great! There's a lot of space for the children to play! The owner of the house is very helpful and the neighbours too!It's best to have a car if you want to visit the rest of the island.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jlynn9411
Dundas, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Glamping in Portugal.”
Reviewed 17 August 2018 for a stay in August 2017

Rustic 2 star accommodations in an old manner that isn't well maintained. We stayed for three weeks in August of 2017. I'm hoping by now they have implemented some of the changes we recommended as they said they would. They are nice people but weren't taking great care of the property. They certainly weren't putting any money into making it comfortable for tourists. I would never stay here again and consider it more like camping than a hotel stay.
If you are choosing this property I would ask them to send you pictures of what it currently looks like. The furniture was stained and in bad shape and just needs to be covered or better yet replaced altogether.
Ask if they removed the molding books or covered them behind glass. They had musty books taking up half of the living room causing a terrible smell in the place making it un-enjoyable and for anyone one with allergies this would be a no-go.
The outdoor furniture was in terrible shape and there was virtually no comfortable seating outside. They brought us some folding lawn chairs to rectify this.
The BBQ is tiny and there was an old card table and hard chairs in rough condition outside, needing to be replaced/repaired. The kitchen didn't have great selection and no sharp knives making food prep challenging. There is no coffee maker.
There are no screens on any of the windows so if you want to have any air blowing through you need to deal with a variety of insects and bugs particularly at night or keep it closed up with the musty book smell.
The washer/dryer and dishwasher were there but didn't really work well.
I was devastated when I arrived to the smell and condition of the place. We spend a lot of time with the windows open slapping cockroaches.
Needs more comfortable seating inside and out and get rid of the books! Pineapple tour was great. Don't mislead your guests and put updated pictures up on your site.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma I
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Rural location yet close to everything”
Reviewed 15 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Santa Rita is a beautiful house which is only a 5 min drive from the centre, Ponta Delgada and a 10 min drive from the airport. It sleeps up to 13 people and is very versatile (we rented as a couple as it was our honeymoon and the ground floor bedroom with ensuite was excellent for us). It had everything we needed to make it a comfortable and enjoyable stay - making our holiday perfect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S
2 reviews
“Beautiful, spacious, comfortable house with good access to the island; very helpful host”
Reviewed 15 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

This old family house is spacious and has lots of character. It's well appointed and the rooms and beds are large and comfortable. The table football and carrom board kept the kids amused. The grounds are beautiful and the children loved having the chickens around.

On the edge of a suburb of Ponta Delgada it's easy to get almost anywhere on the island. If you look on Google Maps satellite images it looks like it's in an industrial area but these are actually lovely old pineapple greenhouses (and there's one you can visit nearby).

Andre was really helpful in dealing with any minor issues we had.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsfto
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for a quiet, rustic base to explore”
Reviewed 18 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

If you’re looking for a large, quiet villa with lots of character and rustic charm, this might be a good choice. The surroundings are peaceful, with only a nearby rooster to wake you up on time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing