We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice Little Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Lounge Area
Lounge Area
Dining Area, Lounge Area, Door to Garden
Dining Area
Original Wooden Ceilings
Kitchen
Bedroom 1 with en-suite
Bedroom 1
En-suite
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Family Bathroom
Original Fireplace
Hallway to Front Door
Lounge leading to Garden
Garden
Toys
Garden Chairs
Garden Sand Pit
Garden
Garden Chair
Garden Table
Garden Chairs
Garden Chair
Table at bottom of garden overlooking the Ocean
Table at bottom of garden
Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean
Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean
Route from Airport to Cottage. 18 minutes.
Coordinates
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel, Azores

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Akenite
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

i will try to be constructive. In my opinion,written directions to the property would be more helpful than a video. After a call to Edgar we were able to find the cottage. He did tell us that we would be met by his wife,not him as expected. She is a very nice woman,however she did not give any basic information about the appliances which necessitated another call to Edgar to learn how the oven and stove worked. He did come and show us thatThe stove requires being lit with a match. The oven also was tricky to figure out how to operate. When we arrived we found clean but damp towels folded on the beds. So damp that they had to go into the dryer.
A few days into the stay , we lost hot water. Again I called Edgar who was very apologetic and did respond quite promptly with a new bottle of propane.
In my opinion , written instructions for each of the appliances in multiple languages should be provided for for guests. This would cut down on the number of calls to Edgar who we did find to be very responsive.
Another issue but not related to the property is the neighborhood dogs that bark at all hours of the night. Again, this does not relate to the property but after a long day of touring a beautiful island, who wants to listen to barking dogs ?

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2015
We are sorry to hear that everything didn't go smoothly for you and would like to respond to your points.

Location of the property.
The following was information was made available to you :-

* The Address.
* A route map (one of the images on our holidaylettings Gallery).
* A Video showing driving on the route from start to finish :-
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BwgzGqBA0ZejNmJZSDhEUC1vT0U/edit
* GPS co-ordinates.
* A Telephone number to call if any other help was required.
* Verbal instructions by telephone.

We have never had a guest before who said they had difficulty finding the property. Most say they find the video is very useful and all they need.

Oven and stove.
On arrival you were shown around the property, including the oven and stove which are simple and easy to use. You were asked if you had any questions and you replied that you were happy and had all the information you needed.
The next day you phoned to ask how to use the oven and stove. We were at the property within 30 minutes and showed you how to use the oven and stove. None of our other guests have had difficulty in using the oven and stove however we will pay particular attention to showing guests how to use these appliances in the future.

Towels.
We're sorry that in your estimation the towels were damp and you had the inconvenience of putting them in the tumble dryer.

Gas Bottle.
As with the oven and stove we were at the property within 30 minutes and resolved the issue.

Barking Dogs.
This is the first and only time we have been told about this. None of our other guests have said they had this problem. There is another holiday let property within 10 meters. We asked the owners who live adjacent to that property if they had experienced barking dogs. They answered that they hadn't and that none of their guests have said they had this problem.

In conclusion.
We're pleased that you praise us for responding quickly, willingly and efficiently as we are keen to give our guests the best possible service.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juanita G
North Scituate, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lots of Local Character”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a spacious house with beautiful high ceilings and lots of character. The ocean, cliffside location is a nice one--although the town was not my favorite in Sao Miguel. We did have some small hiccups upon arrival, but our host Edgar was responsive. If you are looking for an older place with character and a local feel, this is a nice choice. Upgrading the windows/doors (flying ants made their way easily through the front window, covering it) and adding a heater/dehumidifier/AC unit would have made our stay a lot more comfortable. The damp feel and musty smell of the house made sleeping difficult for me.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the architecture and character of the house
Liked least: the musty smell and the flying ants that covered the front window
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2015
We were very surprised to hear about the dampness and musty smell as this has never happened before and no other guests have ever reported it. In fact the cottage is normally dry and fresh and this is how our other guests have always found it. We performed a thorough investigation and discovered that a contractor had blocked a water drainage pipe and the result was that dampness was penetrating one of the walls. The drainage pipe is now permanently unblocked and the wall is quickly drying out.

Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention and we're sorry that you encountered this issue. We only wish you had told us during your stay instead of informing us later through a review. If you had just phoned us straight away then we could have investigated and done something immediately to remedy or alleviate the problem.

With regard to the flying ants. We have never experienced this act of nature before and probably never will again. We will look at the door and see what can be done to stop any possible ingress in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N
Collingwood, Ontario
2 reviews
“Nice Little Cottage”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Lovely little cottage with everything to make it our home away from home. The only thing we were missing was a nice tall standing lamp so we could read at night. Otherwise, everything was as described. Thank You.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAP55
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cozy Cottage With Spectacular Views”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at this wonderful old stone cottage the last week of September.
Although the cottage has been fully renovated with a modern kitchen and bathrooms, the cottage has kept its heritage charm...
Through the back yard and beyond the stone wall opens up to spectacular views of the ocean crashing against the volcanic cliffs. Charming and peaceful way to begin your day with coffee and toast as you soak up the morning sunshine.
The cottage is on the north coast near Capela and is only a 10-15 minute drive from the airport in Ponta Delgada. We rented a car and used the cottage as our home base and drove all around the Sao Miguel to various points of interest. There are literally hundreds of walking trails throughout the island and one of the nicest along the coast was right out side our back door. Everyone we meet was friendly and helpful. We will definitely book the cottage again when we return to Sao Miguel

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: great location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2014
We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay on Sao Miguel island and at our beautiful cottage. Thank you very much for your splendid review. We would be delighted should you return some day.

John & Tiffany
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henk t
Leusden, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: picknicktafel
Liked least: ongediert
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing