We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Hospitality & Marvelous Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cantinho das Buganvilias Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Velas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2017

From the beginning of our stay to the point where Max dropped us back off at the airport, we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Buganvilias. In October, the island slows down (even more), and we were one of three couples in the small resort for the night we stayed. Our spacious suite was clean and comfortable, and with magnificent views of Velas, Pico, and the harbor. We walked around the grounds enchanted by the volcanic rock walls and vistas, and the silence except for the waves (and the chickens first thing in the morning). Breakfast was continental only because the restaurant was closed for the season, but we had our fill for an additional charge of only €5 each. With the suite only costing €65 and free airport transport, this was an inexpensive luxury--especially when we sat out on the patio with a bottle of wine and listened to the night birds. Marvelous.

Room Tip: Suite B4 was spacious and with a view of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JaninedeBric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Great place to relax. Quiet, espectacular panoramic view. Spacious, modern apartments with hughes windows. Perfect place to rest your soul. Very friendly staff which helps you in every way. Food at the restaurant is delicious.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank tapakahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We stayed for 4 nights in a two bedroom apartment unit. We had an unbelievably great view of the Island of Pico and Mt. Pico across the water and views to the west toward the village of Velas with the daily ferry service to Faial and Pico islands. Each day, after touring the island and having lunch in some good restaurants, my wife and I, in the late afternoon, would take a swim in a very nice outdoor pool (there is also an indoor pool), take a shower and adjourn to our large deck for a cocktail while watching beautiful sunsets. There is no hotel in all of Sao Jorge that can come close to Buganvilias. Max, the manager, was helpful with directions, restaurant recommendations and responsive to technical problems (island internet is not the most reliable). The island is beautiful and easily navigable and our stay at this location only enhanced our experience. We have already made plans to return in two years for a full week.

Room Tip: a second level unit with a seaview is well worth the extra euros.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mmccahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

We loved our stay. I simply could not get enough of this grandiose view and definitely want to go back to this same hotel.

I am extremely thankful to hotel owner Braulio and his staff for their kindness - my daughter is vegan and he was just wanted her to feel happy with her food, so he went shopping especially for her and cooked her delicious meals.


Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank AldaKida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

We traveled to Sao Jorge in June 2013. The apartment in the resort was very nice and modern, it was perfect for arriving "home" there after a long day's excursion (we traveled every day). We had plenty of space with a small kitchen where we could prepare our food, and in the evenings we could just sit outside on the terrace and enjoy the view on the neighboring islands. We also tried the swimming pool, although the water was really cold for us. The beginning of June was not really busy so we didn't have neighbors in the resort. Altogether it was a great place with great service.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Velas
29.9 km away
Aldeia da Fonte Nature Resort
Aldeia da Fonte Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Lajes do Pico
274 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel S. Jorge Garden
32.9 km away
Hotel Caravelas
Hotel Caravelas
#1 of 1 in Madalena
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
PocinhoBay
PocinhoBay
#1 of 1 in Monte
62 reviews
31.5 km away
Alma do Pico
Alma do Pico
#1 of 7 in Madalena
134 reviews
22.9 km away
Adegas do Pico
Adegas do Pico
#1 of 7 in Sao Roque do Pico
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cantinho das Buganvilias Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cantinho das Buganvilias Resort

Address: Rua Padre Augusto Teixeira | Queimada, Velas, Sao Jorge, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Sao Jorge > Velas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Velas
Price Range: ₹ 4,449 - ₹ 7,544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cantinho das Buganvilias Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cantinho das Buganvilias Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cantinho Das Buganvilias Resort Velas, Sao Jorge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing