We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
124
112
50
23
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
112
50
23
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cliff the atlantic ocean swimming pool on the rocks whale watching hotel restaurant chinese menu pico island separate buildings this wonderful hotel many options walking trails quiet hotel definitely recommend this place direct access to the sea shrimp asian style
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

If you want to get away from the typical modern high rise hotel, this is for you! The grounds are lovely with a 10 minute walk through forest over cliff to swimming pool. You can also swim from lava rock cliffs. The dinner menu is extensive and includes Chinese and vegetarian. The quality was quite good. However this is 35 minutes from ferry or airport by cab.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank YogaFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Absolutely lovely hotel in very romantic surroundings. Also good for families. We had an amazing view from our sea view room.

The hotel has its own small "sea trail" which is signalled as a hiking trail (PR). So cute !

Also warmly recommend their travel agency, Fonte Travel. Thanks to Filipa who organised to perfection our tour of the Triangle Islands and got us the best available rooms everywhere.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank AldaKida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We stayed for three nights on our tour of the Azores in June and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff were extremely helpful and really seemed to enjoy their jobs. We particularly liked the little hidden seating areas dotted along the cliff which gave stunning views of the coast and also the walkways around the grounds.

The rooms were very spacious but next time we will choose an upstairs apartment which is lighter and more private from passing guests.

We would certainly stay again and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veronica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

Would we stay at this hotel again? Absolutely.

The location is superb, at one with nature. The houses are delightful; rustic, traditional, cheery & blend very well with the landscape. Personally I did not have an issue with the firmness of the bed as I need good support for a bad back. Bathroom was a good size & basic toiletries provided.

We stayed in 8B-a deluxe double & were close to the cliff edge & able to see & hear the sea. I was a bit disappointed that we didn't have any outside seats-we were too close to the stairs. If this is important to you make sure your room has an outside terrace with seats. The ceiling fan was fine for keeping the room fresh.

Guests with mobility issues may well struggle here as there are many cobbled areas & steep steps leading to various parts of the hotel.

Breakfast had a reasonable selection of hot & cold items. We ate in the restaurant every night for our 4 day stay & the food was very good. The menu is very extensive with lots of lovely fish. All the food was a very reasonable price & there was a lot of it.

My only slight problem was the service. All the staff were very helpful & friendly. When we arrived we had to wait quite some time before any one came to reception despite ringing the bell twice. Also if you arrived at the bar during the day it was often quite hard to find someone to serve you coffee or drinks. As we checked out before 7am I was lucky to be able to find a waitress to give the room key to.

This is a lovely laid back hotel & fussy service that is found in big impersonal hotels would not be suitable here, however I do think staff should be more available when the guests need something. A bit of polishing & this hotel would be gold standard.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank francophile5310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

What we loved: the location and the garden: wonderful surrounding - the plants, the sea, the way the houses are built! The swimming pool, and the food at the restaurant ( had dinner twice there). The staff, the service and the way they were caring about their guests - great! The size of the studio and its equipment (yes, even tea towels!).
What we didn't like so much: maybe we had bad luck with our studio, but it was quite clammy, towels won't dry, and there was an unpleasant smell in the room when we first came in, and which we could only get rid of by venting and turning on the bathroom exhauster.
But overall the many pluses of the hotel prevail the minus. It is a wonderful place!

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Schodlhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews