We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch in a peaceful tropical-like setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aldeia da Fonte Nature Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lajes do Pico
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We didn't stay at this hotel because we only made a day trip to Pico, but had lunch at the restaurant and were quite pleased. Although it was raining a little we could still eat outside and enjoy the garden view. The food was pleasant and there was a wide variety of dishes, ranging from local dishes to even Chinese food. I had Chinese and liked it a lot. Would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jill7394u48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

If you want to get away from the typical modern high rise hotel, this is for you! The grounds are lovely with a 10 minute walk through forest over cliff to swimming pool. You can also swim from lava rock cliffs. The dinner menu is extensive and includes Chinese and vegetarian. The quality was quite good. However this is 35 minutes from ferry or airport by cab.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank YogaFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Absolutely lovely hotel in very romantic surroundings. Also good for families. We had an amazing view from our sea view room.

The hotel has its own small "sea trail" which is signalled as a hiking trail (PR). So cute !

Also warmly recommend their travel agency, Fonte Travel. Thanks to Filipa who organised to perfection our tour of the Triangle Islands and got us the best available rooms everywhere.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank AldaKida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We stayed for three nights on our tour of the Azores in June and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff were extremely helpful and really seemed to enjoy their jobs. We particularly liked the little hidden seating areas dotted along the cliff which gave stunning views of the coast and also the walkways around the grounds.

The rooms were very spacious but next time we will choose an upstairs apartment which is lighter and more private from passing guests.

We would certainly stay again and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veronica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

Would we stay at this hotel again? Absolutely.

The location is superb, at one with nature. The houses are delightful; rustic, traditional, cheery & blend very well with the landscape. Personally I did not have an issue with the firmness of the bed as I need good support for a bad back. Bathroom was a good size & basic toiletries provided.

We stayed in 8B-a deluxe double & were close to the cliff edge & able to see & hear the sea. I was a bit disappointed that we didn't have any outside seats-we were too close to the stairs. If this is important to you make sure your room has an outside terrace with seats. The ceiling fan was fine for keeping the room fresh.

Guests with mobility issues may well struggle here as there are many cobbled areas & steep steps leading to various parts of the hotel.

Breakfast had a reasonable selection of hot & cold items. We ate in the restaurant every night for our 4 day stay & the food was very good. The menu is very extensive with lots of lovely fish. All the food was a very reasonable price & there was a lot of it.

My only slight problem was the service. All the staff were very helpful & friendly. When we arrived we had to wait quite some time before any one came to reception despite ringing the bell twice. Also if you arrived at the bar during the day it was often quite hard to find someone to serve you coffee or drinks. As we checked out before 7am I was lucky to be able to find a waitress to give the room key to.

This is a lovely laid back hotel & fussy service that is found in big impersonal hotels would not be suitable here, however I do think staff should be more available when the guests need something. A bit of polishing & this hotel would be gold standard.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank francophile5310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lajes do Pico
25.4 km away
Hotel Caravelas
Hotel Caravelas
#1 of 1 in Madalena
243 reviews
32.6 km away
Hotel do Canal
Hotel do Canal
#1 of 6 in Horta
442 reviews
32.7 km away
Pousada Forte da Horta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.3 km away
Quinta das Buganvilias
Quinta das Buganvilias
#1 of 1 in Castelo Branco
39 reviews
24.2 km away
PocinhoBay
PocinhoBay
#1 of 1 in Monte
64 reviews
30.4 km away
Hotel S. Jorge Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldeia da Fonte Nature Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldeia da Fonte Nature Resort

Address: Caminho de Baixo | Silveira, Lajes do Pico, Pico 9930-177, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Pico > Lajes do Pico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lajes do Pico
Price Range: ₹ 5,443 - ₹ 10,645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldeia da Fonte Nature Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aldeia da Fonte is a "Charm Hotel" conceived to be a bastion for truly sustained ecological tourism. Its edification was based on the traditional local architecture and involved mainly the use of regional natural materials, such as basalt, our volcanic rock. It is a five-building based hotel, perched over the sea, having the splendorous Pico Mountain for background. The surrounding artistic gardens, with most of the original flora preserved, reflect the care and elegance invested on this serenity haven. The hotel provides 32 charming accommodations, each with personalized decoration that includes restored antiques and recuperation of various objects, depicting history and local culture. Its restaurant, "Hocus Pocus," has earned reputation of the best restaurant of the island. An Oasis of peace and serenity, in the Atlantic Azores, midway from America to Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Aldeia da Fonte Nature Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldeia Da Fonte Hotel
Aldeia Da Fonte Nature Resort Pico/Lajes Do Pico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing