We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful, comfortable and compact.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Mel

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Silves, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
SC_derbys...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delightful, comfortable and compact.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We loved this little haven, perfect in every way. Stylish and well equipped with everything you need. We hope to return again before long.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayYasmin...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“To summarise, perfect, just perfect.”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
6
people found this review helpful

Casa Mel, in the historic and beautiful town of Silves, was our home for a week. The cottage is better in real life than the photographs can show. It is clean, comfortable and secure. The location is ideal and uniquly situated in a narrow cobbled street in the very heart of this lovely small town. It is quiet, yet only minutes from the castle, cathedral, restaurants and free parking. It would be easy to live here and perfect for a break from the rat race. Our host, Marion, lives close by and is charming, approachable, helpful and knowledgeable. To summarise, perfect, just perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and location.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karenfrom...
Todmorden
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A gorgeous little house just perfect for two”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 for a stay in March 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We stayed at this little gem last summer and returned for a week in Easter. We weren't disappointed - everything was just as wonderful as last time. This house is a great retreat and perfect if you are looking to see Portugal away from the razzmatazz of a holiday resort. A car is a good idea and there's plenty of space to park in the square, just 20 paces away from the house. The roads are quiet and well signposted - even I drove this year! The house is extremely well equipped and the owner lives directly across the street and is only too happy to help make your stay perfect (she's a really lovely lady). With so many beaches and places to visit, Silves is the ideal base. Silves is also easy on your purse strings as there's only one price and that's "local" price NOT tourist prices. Casa Mel is the perfect home from home - can't wait until August when we return for 2 weeks

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collieful...
Brechin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay at Casa Mel!”
Reviewed 22 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
8
people found this review helpful

We returned to Casa Mel for another holiday and again had a lovely time, and we will be returning again next year. As before the cottage was clean, tidy and very welcoming. Everything we needed was there. The welcome pack of bread, milk, butter etc was also very much appreciated! Parking in the square near the cathedral was no problem on most days. Silves itself is a beautiful place to stay that doesn't get too busy. We enjoyed meals at Casa Velha and at one of the piri-piri chicken restaurants and explored much of the Algarve from our base!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the cottage
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19J_K_H
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
6
people found this review helpful

Very friendly & helpful host, who provided a wonderful welcome hamper & plenty of useful tips & information. The accommodation is a light,airy,comfortable & very clean little cottage. Ideally located for exploring the Algarve.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing