We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,619)
Filter reviews
1,619 results
Traveller rating
1,036
393
114
54
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,036
393
114
54
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club village square garden house main pool young children o terraco play area os gambozinos family holiday villa mimosa tennis courts half board terrace restaurant small children ocean villa self catering dunas restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,619 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018

wonderful setting and facilities, ideal for family holidays. Very well thought-out for parents and children. Was rather windy when we arrived but improved. the beach is fantastic, and pools and poolside facilities all very good

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 2018mhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Thank you very much for letting us know how much you have enjoyed your stay at Martinhal.
We look forward to warmly welcome you again soon for another excellent stay. Obrigada!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Lovely stay with family and recommend hotel but a lot of hidden extras. Child friendly for most part but difficult to get around with buggy. Would have liked if one of the pools were equipped fir children with slides/water features for example

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank carolinemquinn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you very much for letting us know how much you have enjoyed your stay at Martinhal Sagres.
We look forward to warmly welcoming you again soon for another excellent stay. Obrigada!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

We've just returned from a fantastic week at Martinhal Sagres. The staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble, a special thanks goes to Romeu for stealing (and returning) both our children's noses multiple times each night!Our 2.5 year old did not want to come home, leaving his new best friends Rafi & Rosita fox broke his heart!We stayed in a 2 bed Vila Mimosas which was really spacious with everything provided for adults and kids alike. A buggy was needed at these villas are a 5-10 minute walk to the main square and pools. We had booked the extended summer half-board package and we're exceptionally well fed. With 3 restaurants on site to choose from we did not feel bored or restricted for the adult meals, the only criticism I have is the choice for children's meals which seemed limited compared to the adult menus.We will definitely be returning to Martinhal Sagres, I can't think of anything that this resort doesn't provide for families with small children. We all enjoyed the freedom and facilities Martinhal offered and made memories that will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mr_and_Mrs_G15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

We pride ourselves on helping our guests create great memories of their time at Martinhhal Sagres. We are so gratified to learn that we accomplished that goal with your visit. We will pass your compliments onto Romeu, who will be thrilled to be of service to you during your stay.

We all look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Excellent place and the facilities are second to none. If you have young children (ours are one and three) then this place is ideal. I cant comment on what it would be like for older childreb. The Restaurants were excellent and accommodated well for adults and kids alike. Even Terracao, which is fine dining, has captured something magical where adults and children both enjoy the experience. The pools were excellent and you are never more than a five Minute walk to the beach, which is glorious. Our eldest took an ear infection on day two and within 3 minutes of phoning the concierge, nurse Sophia was at our door. We had transfers to and from Martinhal booked through the resort and these were to the same standard. In my opinion the only downside was the Mercado. It was ridiculously expensive and unbearably so. If you need anything then walk along the beach into Sagres, it takes 15-20 mins, and then everything is normally priced!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Martinhal Sagres. We value each and every guests review and appreciate the time you take to write them. We here at Martinhal aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018

My husband, two daughters (3 months, 2 years), and I stayed here for four nights in September 2018. We stayed in a 2-bedroom ocean house, which was more than enough space for our family. Specifically, we had house 215, which had ocean views from both the top and bottom floors. I'd probably avoid the houses on the corners/bordering sidewalks as these seem to lack some privacy on the bottom floor. Overall, the house had everything we needed from high chairs and toddler cutlery/plates/bowls/cups to a welcome pack of cereal, waters, jam, butter, etc. We found the Mercado to have everything we could want and did not think it was too expensive given the hotel's more remote location. We had lunch twice at M Bar (only thing open at 11:30 am for lunch and our daughter is on France time so we needed to eat on the earlier side for her nap). We had take-away from the Italian restaurant one night. We found the food at both of these restaurants to only be average. My husband twice ordered cocktails at the pool and he found them below average (gin and tonic, mojito). I had an iced coffee one afternoon at the pool and it was fantastic yet rather underwhelming the next day when I again ordered it at the pool. There needs to be some cocktail training at M Bar and the pool bar. We had dinner at O Terraco with our daughters one night and found this to be the overall best food, cocktails, and service. One employee even put the bib on our daughter. My husband and I had a babysitter one evening while we dined at As Dunas. The food was also pretty good, cocktails as well, but the service was lacking. They charged me for a glass of wine I never received. They also seemed more concerned with setting up for the next day rather than attending to the people eating there. Generally, I found the desserts to be below average at the resort and definitely small scoops of ice cream at the gelateria. The hotel offered a special rate for the buffet breakfast if we booked ahead of time. I was hesitant to do so without seeing the spread. We went the first morning and found there to be ample choice and a good value. We went back two of the next three mornings as well. While there was a lot to choose from, it did not change on a daily basis so it could get quite dull if staying there a week. We had a positive experience with the two babysitters we hired. One watched our three-month-old while the two-year-old went to the kids club and we played tennis/relaxed by the pool. She was great although she had a lot of perfume on, which is kind of odd considering she knew she was watching a baby. The sitter we had the second night (both kids were asleep) was fantastic and she was very thoughtful and kind. We didn't have the best experience with the kids club but this was not the fault of the staff there. They were sweet and outgoing but our two-year-old threw a royal fit about staying. Although she's used to going to daycare three days a week here in France, she only stayed without incident the first day. She seemingly had a great time and brought back a drum she made at the kids club. But they called us to retrieve our daughter after 30 minutes of nonstop crying the next two days. I can't fault them for this but it was definitely disappointing as her enjoying the afternoons at the kids club would have allowed us to relax a bit more. We also did the photography session with Ines one morning on the beach. For only 85 euros, we received some beautiful photos that we can happily display on our walls and use for our Christmas card. I really recommend this because we would not have gotten it together to do family photos but for the hotel having this service. So overall, why 4 rather than 5 stars? Personally, we can't guarantee that our older daughter would return to the kids club and that's the benefit of this hotel. Also, we found the lack of nightlife to be disappointing. We had a babysitter one night and would have enjoyed staying out later but were not inclined to go back to M Bar where the cocktails had been mediocre. There really should be some other options for adults to hang out so that we can enjoy those kid-free evenings. The hotel was also not cheap (we easily rang up incidentals/dinner/drinks that were half of our total hotel bill) so that would be a concern for returning as well. Finally, I found it off-putting that I was asked to pre-authorize charges before we arrived. I had to print out a credit card authorization form, fill it out, and send it back to book something. This was a hassle and I don't see why it just can't be charged to the credit card they already have on file.

Room Tip: 215 had great ocean views from both floors
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lovetotravelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us at Martinhal Sagres.

While we are very pleased to read your kind comments about the service you received from our colleagues we were naturally disappointed to read your feedback on other aspects of your stay. We give the upmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible. In addition, your feedback has been forwarded to our management to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.
Again, our apologies for the inconvenience and we hope to have another opportunity to provide you a much better experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews