We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
110
140
40
17
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
140
40
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee shop italian restaurant windowless room enjoyed our stay sea view small hotel room was spacious and clean portugal trip hotel is situated infinity pool free wifi yogurt nice breakfast breakfast is served minute walk perfect location restaurants and bars
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 320 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

What an awful experience! My boyfriend and I checked in and all was well. The first night before we went to bed we asked for two extra pillows. The gentlemen working the night shift at the front desk was extremely rude and appeared annoyed that we would even request such a thing.

We settled in for the first night and got next to no sleep. The beds are rock hard, the walls are paper thin and the bar near by is on party mode until the early hours of the morning. If you’re looking for something quiet, this isn’t your spot!

The next morning we asked to pay for the night we stayed and receive a refund for the remaining nights so that we could leave and find somewhere better to stay. We were told that wasn’t possible that we were still expected to pay in full even if we weren’t going to stay there. I felt like the motel was holding us hostage!

This is a 2 Star motel (at best) advertising themselves as a four star establishment. I’ve stayed in better road side motels in the states.

-loud banging doors
-hearing your neighbors every move
-rock hard bed
-terrible breakfast
-a lot of street noise
-rude staff
-tiny rooms

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

This property is a scam. We booked a "Sea Balcony View" room, but were given a view of the back of a building and a parking lot, with a tiny 10 degree peek of the sea. I've booked PARTIAL sea view rooms at other hotels with 10X the sea view of this property! Then the front desk extorted us to pay over 200 extra euros for an actual sea view room. When we asked to speak to the manager about it, we were told "the manager is never there, they are at another property far away". No choice but to pay. Needless to say, have disputed the extra charge with my credit card company.
Other bad things about this property- smell of raw sewage, you need to leave the windows open and run the bathroom fan at all times to mitigate the odor. Noisy, slamming doors heard throughout the hotel, no noise insulation. Rock hard bed. No privacy, looks onto a busy street and a parking lot with lots of RVs. Other reviewers pointed out the poor breakfast in the basement but this was the least of our concerns. Finally, another guest on our floor (who also complained of sewage smell) had his watch stolen from his room! DO NOT STAY HERE.
Its a shame because Mareta Beach is great and the nearby Babugem restaurant is awesome! Find another place nearby-- but NOT this one!

Stayed: August 2018
1  Thank sf1830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SagresHolidays, Mareta Beach Boutique at Mareta Beach Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
We appreciate all coments, suggestions or any critical detected during your stay.
We would like to inform you that we have different types of rooms at MARETA BEACH HOUSE RESIDENCE, like STANDARD SEA VIEW and SUPERIOR SEA VIEW ROOM, the prices are different for some reason, the view obviously and room is more bigger. If your room was a DOUBLE SEA VIEW BALCONY ROOM, probably you stayed at the MARETA BEACH BOUTIQUE B&B??
The photos of the balconys speak for themselves... Just like breakfast we always mention that it is 'continental' and the mattresses are new!
More serious is the fact that another guest mentioned the watch stoled from the room. The guest forgot to mention that the watch was on the necessaire?
We regret...


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

this hotel has a great location overlooking the sea, plus a wonderful infinity pool. The rooms are modern but very cramped. We had a 2 bedroom family apartment which only had one bathroom and no cupboards in the one bedroom. The morning breakfast was of poor quality. The rooms are not well sound proofed. The barman was great and made the best cocktails! We would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Upstairs would be quieter and best views
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SagresHolidays, Mareta Beach Boutique at Mareta Beach Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Costumer,

Thank you for your review.
It is quite important for us to get the feedback of each guest.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

Great location, decently priced. However the breakfast was very average and their coffee wasn’t great (but not bad). Also, the Wi-Fi on their deck doesn’t rly work. However, the Wi-Fi is strong and perfect in the rooms. I found it weird that the room service came into the rooms at 9:30am, a bit early i thought.

Cute hangout/lobby area. I stayed alone but it seems like a great place to stay for couples.

If you’re traveling alone and hoping to meet people i would suggest having other group associated plans.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SagresHolidays, Mareta Beach Boutique at Mareta Beach Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.
We hope you vist us again.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

At 130 euro per night I'm sorry but we expect more than a cold buffet self service breakfast
Also who designed this place ?
the breakfast is served in a windowless room
Hellooooo this hotel is situated with the most magnificent views on its doorstep
but they want you to start your day in a windowless room
So dissapoined
when we visited the pool area which really does look nice with very good furniture etc and a nice bar / snacks etc
we overheard the couple beside us saying they would not enter the pool as it looked dirty
And they were correct the grime and dirt built up at the entrance to the pool was so bad
I took a photo and sent by email to reception but got no reply
When we were checking out we mentioned that we got no reply but the just said oh we will check later
I'm still waiting for a reply
I then sent another email two days ago asking for a reply but. nothing
this I think sums up this place
Management hiding behind the office door
Wake up look at your reviews the excellent ones are lower than the very good
perhaps you could serve breakfast with something hot in the Italian restaurant which I believe you own. ?
this place should be 5 star not 3
we won't be back

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z2709KFjoec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews