We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
23
10
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
10
3
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2018

We returned for a second visit in September, and Louis and Maria could not have made us more welcome - it was just like meeting friends again. If you are looking for a peaceful holiday in a lovely location this is ideal. Sorry we won't be back this year but in 2019 you never know.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JME56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

My husband and I have been staying here for 12 years now sometimes once a year but is has been 3 one year, it is our perfect tranquil getaway when we need to chill out in between other travels. Luis and Rosaria could not be more welcoming and everywhere is alway immaculate. We love this area of the Algarve as we love nature and unspoilt coastline and often travel up the St vincentino coastline for miles taking in the little cove and the beautiful nature that the cliff tops hold. The accomodation has everything you could need we like the upper level for the views across Lagos bay and no better place to sit, feet up with a book, coffee and a Pastel de Nata. Have no hesitations about booking at all

Room Tip: Visit Cachoa a nearby restaurant
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hiarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

We have just come back from a week here, and could not fault anything. The apartment was beautifully clean, well equipped and very spacious. The gardens and pool area were always immaculate. Luis made us very welcome and was always happy to pass on information and advice about the area, places to eat etc. Thoroughly enjoyed the holiday and have already booked for next year.

Room Tip: If you like extra space I would recommend the 2 bedroom villas.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JME56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here 2 weeks and it was great. Lovely clean, spacious apartments with everything that you would need for a stay. The pool area, while small, was also kept lovely, clean and tidy. Luis, was warm and welcoming and arranged car hire for us before we went out. If ever we had a question or needed some advice on anything Luis was always happy to help pointing us in the right direction of good local resteraunts with authentic Portuguese food and local beaches to explore. The only downside would be that the location is just to far to walk into Lagos and you definitely need a car or use local transport, this however was not a problem for us as we like to explore and had a car for the duration of our stay. I would definitely recommend Quinta dos Caracois and I would happily return there

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Nici F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

We were here at high season in July. So 80 € per night might sound OK for a little appartment with kitchenette. I didn`t think it is justified. The whole appartment complex is build into a slope, so the living room doesn't have windows. In fact, the whole place (living and sleeping room) has only windows and natural light through the terrace doors. Since we were located rigth at the entrance, we felt a little exposed. There is no Air condition, no ventilation. Mosquitoes were all over us during the night. We asked for a ventilator, but the owner wouldn't give us one. In Lagos it is never hot! he said.....very relative I think.....There is an equipped kitchen, true. But the knifes do barely cut, the whole furniture and equipment is worn and old. The shower had a leak which the owner repaired reluctantly with silicon. The WLAN connection only works sometimes, and most of the time you have to go outside to connect. I would not recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuNi37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caracois, Owner at Quinta dos Caracois, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

At Quinta dos Caracois we were very disappointed when we do not correspond the expectations of our customers. However I would say that the apartment corresponds exactly to what was booked, all divisions of the apartment have natural light, the bedroom has a door 1.20 m wide by 2 meters tall in the lounge has two more doors with 1m wide by 2 meters tall, the bathroom has tilting window.
The apartments are south facing, meaning that the sun hits the front, but we have all the doors with film to sunlight, black out curtains, double glazing, insulated walls acoustic and thermal. When the sun hits the front, in the morning, if the doors are completly open, course that the sun comes in and heats the whole apartment, all this was explained at check in.
Where the apartment was booked says that we do not have air conditioning.
Where the apartment was booked says "Free Wi-Fi access is available in public areas and costs!. Free."
The shower has a leak of a drop of water in the protection, that was repaired with silicone in 10 seconds.
Perhaps it was by forgetting that it was not mentioned that there were breakages in the apartment and was not charged anything.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews