We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
70
49
10
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
49
10
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small kitchen minute downhill walk these apartments washing up liquid great place to stay one bedroom apartment pool area motel accommodation complex wifi supermarket reception beaches portuguese microwave ants
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

The Marsol apartamentos is very well located, 10 minutes walk from city centre, 15 minutes from Dona Ana Beach, 20 minutes from Ponte da Piedade. A big and well sorted supermarket is just around the corner.
The hotel itself is a complex of small appartments arranged around a small pool and the large parking lot. The appartments are well and simply equipped (small kitchen, microwave, plates, cups, towels, water cooker, but unfortunately no sponge and soap to wash up).
Space and cleanliness are ok, although you have to share the place with small and innocentive ants (unfortunately a plague everywhere in Portugal).
This is a good accommodation if you are not very demanding.
Some negative points are for me:
- Wi-Fi not available in the rooms, you have to go to the pool, sometimes, it works also on the small terrace in front of the apartments, the connection quality is not the best.
- tiny piece of soap in the bathroom (not forget to take yours)
- appartments giving on the parking lot are quite noisy. If you sit on the terrace, you can hear tge conversation of all the surrounding rooms

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CPJD00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Second visit to these apartments and we plan to return again next year. Firstly, if you are expecting plush interiors with air conditioning then these apartments will not suit however they are spotlessly clean and the one bedroom apartment we had was of a good size. The apartment was beside the pool area which is very well maintained and we never had a problem getting a sunbed. The pool was cleaned every morning by a very pleasant Portuguese guy who also maintained the gardens which were well kept. As there was no air conditioning we used the large fan to circulate air in the bedroom at night which was adequate for us. The reception staff were all very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable of the area. There are a few things one might expect to be in a self catering apartment - hair dryer, iron, ironing board etc but these were available from reception if requested - again this was not a problem for us. It is about a 10 minute downhill walk from the apartments to the centre of Lagos. Overall an absolutely wonderful place.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank weebry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

The apartment although a little dated was spotlessly clean with great showers, fresh towels everyday regular change of bedding, in a great location with a great pool area. The couple who run the complex are lovely with a great knowledge of the area.

Room tip: The bigger rooms are around the pool area.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SeanJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 7 Nights 11th- 18th July. The apartment is small but perfectly adequate with basic cooking facilities consisting of a 2 ring electric hob a kettle and microwave, there is a fridge with small freezer compartment. There is a TV of the old school variety, I think we turned it on a couple of times but it only had 5 Portuguese chanel so we didn't bother with that. The bed was comfy there was a fan to keep us cool but no air con. There was a bath and shower toilet bidet and sink in the bathroom, piping hot water on tap whenever you need it, a small table and chairs on the patio. Surprisingly the wifi at the apartment was very good even though some say it is only available at the reception/bar area. It is a very quiet and peacfull site, the pool is not huge but is very pleasant to cool down in when the temperatures hit the mid 30s as they did during our stay, the gardens are laid out beautifully and tended daily, the apartments are cleaned to a high standard daily, the staff and owners are very nice and always helpfull. it is a 15 minute walk to the nearest beach or into town and taxis are fairly cheap. All in all a great place to stay and won't break the bank if like us you're on a budget. The Intermarche supermarket is a short walk away and has everything you need for self catering including English west Country sausages and proper bacon if you are fancying a fry up, and beer 500ml 49 c and wine from around 1.50€ a bottle I recommend it.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank oilslicknick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at studio apartment villa are set out very nice they are bit basic swimming pool is very nice we went swimming most days as it was very hot they have bar which would be nice if they did bar snacks the bar could do with fan we was going to have BBQ but no body use BBQ and there was no BBQ tools it would be nice if the hotel would supply courtesy bus to the beach as it is long walk to beach in hot weather. It is best to hire car as it long walk to shops.
it family run hotel quite hotel we had nice week holiday

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cornishlady9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews