We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa dos Sonhos

Casa dos Sonhos
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa dos Sonhos
Living Room opens onto patio / pool area Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Casa dos Sonhos
Living Room opens onto patio / pool area
Living Room
Dining Area opens onto patio / pool area
Dining Area
Fully equipped and spacious Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Master Bedroom (double) opens onto patio / pool area and private courtyard
Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom open onto private courtyard
Master Bathroom
Bedroom 2 (double) with en-suite shower room
Bedroom 2 opens onto patio / pool area
Bedroom 3 (triple) opens onto patio / pool area
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4 (twin)
Bedroom 4
Front entrance
Terrace and pool
Front entrance
January sunshine
Large balloon shaped pool
Garden looking towards Lagos
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Lagos, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen W
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A lovely villa with great facilities. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Plenty of room for 8 of us. Nice pool and gardens. Really can't fault it. We had a great holiday. Wish I was still there!
Helen

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike4285
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wish I were back there”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I just looked at the picture and got misty eyed. I wish I were there now. It was wonderful. The pool was a treat. The weather was fantastic. We went on a caving tour and a dolphin watch tour which was spectacular. The owners left lots of goodies in the fridge that we enjoyed all week. The pool toys were great.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda c
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Completely blown away”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked casa das sonhos for a suprise holiday for my husbands 30th birthday. There were 7 adults and 3 children. We arrived late on he Monday evening due to a delayed flight and Ian was ,o than happy to speak with me over the phone to ensure we found the villa ok. When we arrived we were really taken back by the size as it was much larger than it looked in the photos. There was a lovely welcome letter and welcome pack including some locally sourced food and a home made cake which was delicious. When we woke up the following morning and saw everything in daylight we were amazed. The pool area and garden was lovely and the villa itself and the rooms were all so much nicer than expected. The pool was big and deep so whilst the kids had to be supervised it was great fun for the adults. We used the BBQ most days and had many evenings chilling by the pool with music. The villa is qui secluded so we didn't have to worry too much about noise etc. whilst the walk to the town and marina was around 20 minutes we actually enjoyed the fact that we weren't in the thick of it and enjoyed the walk. Taxis were also really easy to get and we got one back most evenings for a coupe of euros a couple. The is so much to do close by including shopping, restaurants amazing beaches, boat trips and water parks. We are already planning our return trip next year. A huge thank you to Ian for the easy organisation before hand and all the information provided. The villa made our holiday!!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin-St...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic spot!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic week in Casa das Sonhos and I couldn’t recommend it strongly enough! It is the perfect place for a group of people or large family. We were a group of 7, consisting of 3 generations of a family, aged between 3-73 years, including one person with reduced mobility. The villa is so spacious that we never felt like we were on top of each other, and the big garden and nice-sized pool meant that we ended up staying around the house most of the holiday, to relax, swim, sunbath and do BBQs, it felt like such a treat to have such a place just to ourselves!

The best thing about the house without a doubt is the pool, and the layout of the house and garden, with most of the bedrooms opening out straight to the pool. All rooms were very spacious, the bathrooms are modern, and everything was spotlessly clean. The beds were comfy, and the area was nice and quiet at night. The house is not overlooked by any other houses, so you have complete privacy. The house was very well-equipped and we were never left in need of any kitchen equipment etc. The kids loved the big box full of toys; buckets, spades, badminton, games, arts and crafts etc. There were also plenty of towels and beach towels which was handy.

The pool is deep, so small kids have to be minded closely, however, we found it useful that there were steps into it rather than a ladder, as this meant that our 3-year old could still splash by the steps, and our 7 year old was able to reach down at the shallower end of the pool. As the house was up on a bit of a hill, there was often a nice breeze, so it never felt too hot to sit out in the garden. There were lots of deck-chairs, loungers and a nice-sized table, as well as a great permanent BBQ beside the pool.

Most of us in the group had never been to the Algarve before and weren’t quite sure what to expect as we had heard quite mixed reports. But I think that depends on which town or resort you go to. We all really loved Lagos. It is very pretty, big enough for there to be plenty of things to do for a week’s holiday, but still small enough to feel quaint. And while it’s very touristy it felt more like a harbour town than a (tacky) resort. The restaurants were excellent, the quality of food and wine was consistently very good and great value. Compared to some other touristy destinations were quality of food can often be hit and miss, in Lagos, we never once had a bad meal, and service was friendly and efficient. The beaches are beautiful, clean and not too over-crowded, and we would recommend the boat-trips out to the caves. The water in the sea is very cold though (even compared to Ireland and that says a lot!). That helped to make the pool even more of an attraction and the kids actually ended up preferring playing in the pool to going to the beach.

The walk to the marina takes around 20 minutes, with another 5-10 minutes into the town centre. While this was ‘do-able’, it was a bit of a treck in the heat, particularly for kids, and with one semi-wheelchair bound person. However, taxis were easy to get from the taxi rank in the town, and easy to order from the house. They cost around €7 into town. When ordering taxis, it helped when we referred to the Chinese restaurant around the corner of the house, as otherwise they weren’t always familiar with the address. We particularly didn’t want to have to rent a car while on the holiday, and it worked out fine without one. The small grocery shop around 10 min walk away was very handy for the breakfast basics and fresh bread.

Finally, a nice little touch on our arrival was that the owners of the house had left a home-baked cake, home-made honey, a bottle of wine, and some basics such as bread, butter, butter, coffee etc. for us, and as we arrived late at night this was a nice little welcome! There was also a folder with fairly detailed information on anything relating to the house and the area.

Our week flew by and we didn’t want to have to leave Casa das Sonhos or Lagos…. But we hope to go back again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, the privacy, the toy-box, the size of the house, Lagos town
Liked least: It's a bit of a walk into town in the heat, but it was easy (and inexpensive) to get taxis
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ihatescre...
leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful and will visit time and time again”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 for a stay in September 2013

My family and I have stayed here many times and plan to go back again soon. The Villa is easily the most beautiful accommodation I have ever stayed in!!

The Villa is really private and spacious with lovely interior. The large living room/dining room is great and the bedrooms are enormous. In particular the ensuite in the master bedroom is fantastic! There are so many areas of the house and garden to go in that whether you want to stay in a large group or disappear for a bit of chill time on your own, the villa caters for both. There is free internet throughout the villa which is helpful when planning the next day out (if you can drag yourself away from the pool!)

The outdoor area is absolutely stunning, with mature gardens, good sized pool, loungers, sunshades and a large patio table and chairs. The BBQ by the pool means you can be cooking and socialising. The pool is great (deep, so children would need to be supervised) and gets sun most of the day.

There were plenty of pool/beach toys provided as well as books and board games for entertainment for families and adults, and a football table.

We didn't rent cars (booked a shuttle transfer from faro airport) as we just wanted a chilled holiday and were happy to walk the 20mins in to the town Lagos or to the famous Meia Praia beach.

There is a little shop about 10mins walk away where you can buy fresh milk, bread and those all important fresh holiday croissants! Or the supermarket (Pingo Doce) is on the way in to town and sells pretty much everything, plus if you ask at the till or security they are happy to book you a taxi to take you back up the hill with all your shopping (6euros). Also as you walk in to the town centre you walk past a super fish market selling that mornings catch. There is also a Marina and plenty of boat tour/fishing/kayaking excursions to choose from for a nice afternoon out!

Lagos itself is a lovely town with some lovely outdoor restaurants/bars/shops/ice-cream parlours! There are also lovely coves/ beaches to explore and a great little museum which has loads of activities for the kids. At night it really comes alive with restaurants and bars.

The owner was very accommodating and were very good at liaising with us before and during the holiday, giving us all the information we needed about the villa and surrounding area. This is a beautiful Villa that we'll definitely be going back to!

Have fun! Pete

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;