We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax to the roar of the waves from your bed!”
Review of Clube Porto Mos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clube Porto Mos
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Relax to the roar of the waves from your bed!”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Due to a family emergency we had to go the Algarve at very short notice from the UK had booked into a neighbouring hotel for 3 days, which at 24 hours notice closed early for the season so our booking was cancelled and redirected to the Clube Porto Mos.
We weren’t disappointed. Villa 1 is on the right and has superb corner plot overlooking the beach. We had Villa 1 room 4 which is upstairs which is a double room with bathroom, storage, small desk, chair, wall mounted TV, fridge and a balcony which over looked the smaller of the pools and then across to the beach and ocean.
The view was beautiful, we kept the sliding doors open so we could hear the sound of the waves crash onto the beach from our room. Bear in mind this was December …… it was cool (flipping fresh at times!) but when it was sunny, it was lovely. Jeans and jumpers day time, temp approx. 16’C and jackets for evening as it was approx. 12’C
The staff were friendly, very good at speaking English and efficient. They were minimal in number (we counted 5 incl reception, waitering and cleaners!) as the hotel is out of season with it being December and it was catering for what appeared to be a max of 4 residents for breakfast . There may have been others self catering in the apartments, but we never saw anyone else.
I have got to say the room was Baltic on arrival, but once we mastered the air con/ heating remote control, the room warmed up nicely and remained so for the duration of our stay, so I presume it would do the same with the air con on.
The breakfast was adequate but minimal due to the number being catered for. On our last day there was no hot food available, but we were so busy it didn’t matter too much.
The complex is based at the bottom left hand side of a really steep hill and if you are looking at cycling, walking, pushing a pram up it, you will have wonderful thigh muscles by the time you reach the top and a raging pulse rate! This hill is not suitable for people who have mobility problems unless you have a lot of support or are strong. We had hired a car as we needed to be able to get around and it was a huge advantage.
Walking to Lagos town is possible give yourself 30 mins approx. to do it and slightly longer to get back as you have a lovely hill to walk up as you leave Lagos!
All in all, yes I think in open season this would be a lovely place to stay as it has a good quiet location, very close to a beautiful sandy beach ( via a rocky cliff path) and plenty of places to swim on site or the ocean right behind !
And if you ever need to use them, the British Consulate in Portimao are fantastic

Room Tip: Seaview from the back of the villas for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alicam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    80
    22
    2
    4
See reviews for
57
61
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

After spending a 3 of days in Albuefeira was really pleased I’d booked for the final 4 nights of our holiday here.

The location is ideal, very close to the beach, which can be reached directly from the resort itself. The grounds are immaculate and fit naturally with the surroundings. The pool and other facilties are pretty standard fare….although I noticed that there was never a shortage of sun loungers and it was never too crowded around the pool. I guess it’s proximity to what is a beautiful Blue flag beach helps in this respect. However, what struck me most about the place was the relaxed and friendly feel. All the staff – the receptionists, the waiters/waitresses and maids – were fantastic. We only ate once there in the daytime and the price was reasonable and the food (especially Tuna Baguettes) were first class.

The villa itself was fine. Although no oven and an underpowered electric hob so you’re probably wise not to be too ambitious. Also avoid the minimart up the road – very poor selection and prices are astronomic. To stock up I recommend a visit to nearby Lagos and it’s Marina. After spending an enjoyable day here you can stock up in Pingo Doce (at the far end of the Marina) and get a taxi back…will cost around 5/6 euros. For eating out in the evening if you don’t want to go in Lagos, there is a fantastic fish restaurant at the beach. Recommend Swordfish Algarve style.

All in all, perhaps there is not enough going on this resort for some people but for a family beach holiday it was superb. It won’t remain as underdeveloped forever. Development is planned for the whole of the Porto de Mos valley down to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

we stayed here in june 2011 with our 2 children aged 3 and 5. we booked based on the reviews this property recieved. we were not disappointed! had a lovely apartment next to the pool. had some cloudy mornings but kids were happy due to heated indoor pool. grounds are well kept and standard of cleanliness excellent. Apartment was cleaned every day and we were given fresh towels every day. not overly impressed with breakfast and chose to cook or eat out on the beach on an evening. This is a very quiet location on a stunning stretch of coastline. Caught bus to Lagos one day took about 15mins and cost 1.45euro adult. Loveley old town and marina. You need to druve or get a taxi to supermarket, it cost 6 euros. There is also a Lidl and Aldi in Lagos. It was very quiet at the property with only a few people around the pool. in july and august the staff said they have an average of 50 people staying. Want to get away from it all? This is the place to come.If not hiring car beware transfer from airport at least 70eur.

Room Tip: worth paying for sea view its stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deb1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We enjoy traveling southern Europe during the low season with our kids, now 7 and 8. Clube Porto Mos is directly on the beach (i.e. on one of the fantastic Algarve cliffs overlooking the beach). You can reach the beach either directly from the resort through a small stairway, or - if you have smaller children or are less adventurous - over the sidewalk around the front of the resort.

The beach is stunning, and - advantage of low season - we had it all to ourselves, for the ultimate feeling of exclusivity. Same goes, of course, for the resort. We had our choice of apartments and opted for a second floor unit on the first row (uninterrupted seaview), but we also looked at one of the higher rows and the seaview from there was excellent as well.

Our appartment, and indeed the entire resort, looked brand new. The kids enjoyed the small indoor pool - it was still too chilly for the outdoor pools - and, as we spent most of the day on the beach, did not use all of the facilities the resort has to offer. Front desk service, however, was outstanding; front desk manager Edna, who clearly has a passion for hospitality, was extremely helpful and quickly became our best friend in Portugal (and her colleague Patricia is equally cordial).

There is a nice little restaurant on the beach ("Antonio's"), so parents can indulge in fresh fish and the like while keeping an eye on their kids. Beyond the cliff at the far Eastern end of the beach, there is actually another, small, beach - like having your own Dona Ana Beach as a bonus. (The famous Dona Ana beach is actually a three minute drive from the resort).

Any downsides? We were lucky to enjoy the best of both worlds, i.e. warm weather during the low season; the experience with high season crowds might be different. Also, we noticed that our apartment had just one climate control unit, in the living room. Whether that's powerful enough to reach the bedroom in August (or in December) we cannot judge. In our case, both of these were theoretical; we absolutely loved the Clube Porto Mos!

Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank dmtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Stayed here 4-8 August in apartment 1201.
Accommodation: It was lower level apartment with a lovely little garden which was great for the kids, a little home from home. It was very clean with picture postcard surroundings. 1201 was at the top of a hill which was a bit annoying but some of the apartments further down the hill weren't as private.

Location: a very peaceful location away from the centre of Lagos but a bus service just outside the hotel takes you into Lagos for 1.20 euros and a taxi coming back costs 5 euros. There is no local shops nearby,and its an uphill 20 min walk to the nearest supermarket. I would recommend going into Lagos ang going to the 'pingo' supermarket just across from the marina. Get everything you need there and pay the 5 euro taxi journey back but make sure you get a taxi tel number as the taxi rank is a fair trek away.

Beach: what can I say, the beach is to die for. Very clean and only a 2 min walk away from the apartments. The sunloungers are free (well no-one asked us to pay the three occasions we visited) and are close to the beach bar, which was a blessing for my husband. He sat at the bar while I lay in the sunlounger and the kids played in the water all in three different locations but in sight of each other. Everyone happy.

Eating Places: Only two places to eat and both are at the beach front unless you eat at the hotel. We didn't eat at the hotel as we felt it wasn't value for money ie set menu was 22 euros and children 12 and over were charged an adult price. Our kids don't eat enough to make this worth while. We did try the two at the beach front and they were reasonably priced and the food was fine. For eating out you do have more choice in Lagos town.

Would I go back, in a minute!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k999Cbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
2.3 km away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 50 in Lagos
3,017 reviews
1.4 km away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
1.2 km away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 50 in Lagos
1,317 reviews
1.2 km away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#2 of 50 in Lagos
342 reviews
1.3 km away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 50 in Lagos
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clube Porto Mos? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clube Porto Mos

Property: Clube Porto Mos
Address: Estrada Porto de Mos - Apartado 837 | Praia do Porto Mos, Lagos 8601-902, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#12 Family Hotel in Lagos
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,747 - ₹ 12,218
Hotel Class:3 star — Clube Porto Mos 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunplace Clube Porto Mos' magnificent location is undoubtedly one of its main assets. Right on top of a cliff, the Clube Porto Mos offers a unique view over the beach of Porto de Mos, one of the most charismatic in the Algarve. Your family holiday in the Algarve will definitely have the sea as its focal point, since it is just one step away from the golden, sandy beach of Porto de Mos. In close connection with the surrounding nature and with an architecture that is fully focused on the ocean, Sunplace Clube Porto de Mos is an excellent choice for an unforgettable family holiday in Lagos. Aside from being so close to the beach, Sunplace Clube Porto de Mos is only about 2 kilometers (1.4Mi) from Lagos' historical centre. The Town of Lagos is home to a vast history and offers visitors today a strong cultural component to add to their holiday list. The resort Sunplace Clube Porto de Mos includes holiday apartments in Lagos where guests can choose between studio (T0) and 1 bedroom apartments (T1), as well as apartments with Twin Rooms. The apartments in this resort are tastefully decorated and very functional. The way the units are architecturally displayed ensures the sea is always present, no matter your choice of accommodation. If you dream of a family holiday in the Algarve, where you constantly have the sea on the horizon, then Sunplace Clube Porto de Mos is just what you asked for. The complex also offers a beautiful pool, strategically placed amid the green and well kept gardens. In Sunplace Clube Porto de Mos you will not only enjoy a traditional beach holiday but you will also be able to relax and keep in shape in the resort's Health Club, with facilities such as a jacuzzi, sauna, gym and indoor heated pool. Guests can also play tennis at the Vila Mos - Tourist Apartments, located nearby. The resort Sunplace Clube Porto de Mos has everything you need for an absolutely unforgettable family holiday in Lagos: the superb location, within walking distance from the beach of Porto de Mos, nice and comfortable apartments and outstanding quality facilities. We're expecting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Clube Porto Mos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Porto-Mos Hotel Lagos
Clube Porto Mos Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing