We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“My birthday holiday with all my family”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Bella Vista

Luxury 'absolute' Beach Front Villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxury 'absolute' Beach Front Villa
Ocean & beach Views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Luxury 'absolute' Beach Front Villa
Ocean & beach Views
Only Minutes Walk to the Beach
Frequent Dolphin Views from the Villa
Daily Views from the Villa
Luxury 5 Bedroom Beach Front Villa with Panoramic Sea Views
En-Suite Bedroom leading to Pool
En-Suite Bathroom
En-Suite Bathroom
1,5km Protected White Sand Beach
Porto de Mós Beach Sunrise
Sports Activities on the Beach, Picture taken from Kayak
2 Quality Beach Restaurants within a Short Walk of the Villa
'Cataplana' from the Local Beach Restauarnts
Kayak Trips to the nearby Grottos & other beaches
Quality Beach Front Restaurants within Walking Distance from the Villa
Lagos Town can be Walked to
Lagos Beach Fort
Many Restaurants within the Town
Lagos Marina Closeby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Lagos, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
234jasper
Lagos, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My birthday holiday with all my family”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at John Griffiths villas , villa had the wow factor with fantastic views over porto de mos beach any slight problem was sorted right away by John both restaurants on beach were very good and great value for my Euros As a family of nine and one baby we all agreed that Lagos is a great place for a holiday with lots of bars restaurants and history with the old fort, city walls ,small cobbled streets and squares plus outstanding beaches .

Liked best: The view from the balcony looking and hearing the waves crashing on to the beach
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe H
Mundelein, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great villa in great location”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our group stayed at Casa Bella Vista for a week in September 2014. The booking process beforehand went very smoothly, and John was, for the most part, responsive to emails. On arriving we were very pleased with the quality of the villa. High end kitchen and bathrooms, nice modern, well-equipped communal areas, plenty of beds for the poolside, great views of Porto De Mos beach. We didn't pay the extra £250 to heat the pool and this worked out for us.

The villa is only 2 minutes walk from the beach, which was perfect. Our favorite restaurant was Campimar - great food and drinks, reasonably priced, friendly staff in a relaxed setting. Antonio's, the other restaurant on the beach, we only visited once. The food was good, pricier, and we definitely preferred Campimar. Lagos is super close and we often went in and the taxis are reasonable.

Downsides (if i had to pick any): Extras that are not clear before you book - like internet cost (40 euros), hairdryers, pingpong table, and beach towels. In the interests of transparency, it would make sense to just itemize all of the extra costs on Holiday Lettings so there is no blindsiding. I have never had to pay for a hairdyer in all of the hotels and villas I have ever stayed in, and this is a "luxury" accommodation. The internet was temperamental at best. It often just went down (we needed it for work purposes and some of our group needed to be online at certain times). We did contact John and he was very good about responding. Also, it didn't work on the lower levels or by the pool. Satellite TV was almost unusable. The message "your subscription had ended" kept flashing up on the screen. Again, not the end of the world, but some of the group wanted to watch the news. No stereo and we couldn't stream music by pool with no wifi, so that was frustrating. Black mold on the ceiling (corner) in the lower annex room, from a previous water leak I imagine. Needs to be repaired. And lastly, waking up to the construction noise on the apartment block behind was sometimes annoying (esp with hangover!).

Upsides: Fantastic modern villa, very clean and airy, great location, reasonably priced, well equipped, very well stocked kitchen with basic supplies like trash bags, washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, salt and pepper etc. Great pool. Beds were really comfy. We would definitely come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location/views
Liked least: wifi/TV/lack of stereo
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmeru51
Pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great house”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This is a beautiful house. Nicely furnished. Easily accommodated 4 couples. I gave it a 4 for location since it said steps away from the beach but didn't say just how many steps. There were quite a few. However if you like to walk on the fabulous cliffs above the beaches you are halfway there and don't need to start way down at the bottom. We had a problem with a plugged up shower drain but it was fixed the next day. Otherwise no problems. I would stay again. The beach below the house is beautiful. The pool is very nice. It is quite expensive to heat it so we didn't but it wasn't too cold. John was very good about replying to queries. The house was very clean. The description states washer and dryer but 8 of us never figured out if the washer also had a drying cycle. European appliances are confusing to us Americans. Very energy efficient compared to ours. The house comes with 1 towel per person. Unless you pay for cleaning service mid week you need to wash towels so we had to hang them out to dry. It is humid at night and in the morning so that is my only complaint. I would gladly stay here again.
There are two restaurants on the beach. Campimar is just OK with not very nice waiters. I would go to Antonio's instead.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla P
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible Villa”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Thanks again for everything. We had a great trip and really enjoyed Lagos. Already talk of a return trip.

Unbelievable ocean views, large villa, lovely pool

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & views
Liked least: We liked it all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs_Trowb...
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very expensive extras”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

READ THE BOOKING FORM and get accurate prices for all the extra cost as they are very expensive.
Greeted by John and told the front door had been broken by previous guest and it was to mended in the next day or two (no one mended it during our stay). So we could only use the garage door as entry and exit. We didn't realise until a few weeks before our stay that the outdoor pool heating (£250 for a week), a hair dryer (£10 per hair dryer), using each iPhone and iPad on wifi (£10 per item using wifi that didn't work down stairs or by the pool) and other items were not included in the cost of the Villa. On asking for our £300 deposit back we also found out that the final clean for a family of 6 would knock £125 of our deposit return (no breakages). Maybe this is our fault for not understanding those terms and conditions, not asking the exact cost, but still they are to expensive.

The pool heating was not on on our first day (we had to phone to get it turned up), I had to ask for the hair dryer and wifi passcodes (that were all booked and paid for before arrival), no tennis table (again had to phone to chase, we had paid £50 for it for the week).

No tea, coffe or sugar or anything what so ever is provided to get you started. The property is very much over looked by the next door detached property. Bits of tiles in the pool were chipping off on children's feet.

The Villa it's self was smart and modern looking. good quality bedding, blinds were all electric and built in, wifi was rubbish, satellite tv channels were also rubbish with no BBC or ITV or other popular channels.

Beach was lovely and the restaurants were ok ish food wise but with very good service and were very child friendly.

Lagos was a let down so we went to Luz mainly. Luz is 5/10 min drive away and is a lovely place - geogeous beach, many great places to eat, fab boat rides with dophins watching (we saw loads of dophins) and grotto trips. Great family child friendly activities. Sadly, the police were digging up wasteland when we visited Luz looking for evidence in the McCann case as that's were she went missing from. This is a desperately sad situation for the locals as the area is heavily reliant on tourists.

So low rating due to the cost and value for money which were terrible in our opinion. No apology for,slate arrival of extras, broken door, bare wires,on a heated towel rail. Also,waste land to the other side of the property and a building site opposite entrance (although not overlooked) made it he are feel a bit unfinished.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2014
Thank you for this, we take every review very seriously

Firstly check in times are normally 3 pm in the afternoon & you arrived at 9 am in the morning when our previous guests had only just left, we did manage to get you in very quickly at 11 am hence items that you had ordered from us were not waiting for you in the villa but were all in the process of being delivered prior to 3 pm

We do provide extras & these are not obligatory, some guests have them whilst others do not. We have recently ordered American Pool tables to make games rooms, in our villas with space for this, these will be an option therefore clients who simply want to use the villa & relax do not need to pay for them. All extras are itemized with the respective prices

The villa does have BBC, ITV, etc, Sports Channels as well as German, Spanish & some French TV

The WiFi works with the TV and is located as close to this as possible however can be moved around the villa to any room if the signal is a little weak somewhere

With regard to a door handle, this has been repaired & there was absolutely no need to go in & out through the garage unless you were parking your car there as the garage has direct access to the villa

The pool is very easy & super quick to heat but the cover has to be used in the evenings and/or when the pool is not in use, as you know we had to keep getting toys out of the pool cover so this didnt help

The villa is self catering, we do leave items like soap powder, salt & pepper, sugar etc when a guest leaves them however sometimes we are requested to remove these items

Lagos is not very vibrant but more of a relaxing calm town so all in all maybe Lagos in general was not the place you thought it would be, in fact you did try to cancel your holiday only a few weeks before you arrived, I hope that you manage to find a town or even a country that suits
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;