We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delightful and unique”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I agree with the wonderful reviews previously written, but would like to add my comments about the wonderful and really fun and caring staff. Yes, the bar may not be the speed drinking place that you might encounter elsewhere, but the custom cocktails that our bartenders, Bruno and Joao made were breathtaking! See my video on YouTube on Joao making an Expresso Martini. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rn3ui07nFN0&feature=g-upl&context=G273a89fAUAAAAAAAAAA. Please take note of the fabulous chandeliers in the entrance and 2 more in the bar area. They are custom made of hand blown glass drops. I was mesmerized. Although I didn't try the Spa, I took a tour and it was beautifully appointed and staffed, with another heated pool that could be used for swimming laps. I loved walking the cliffs off the back part of the property towards the water. No handrails or large warning signs to encumber your view. Great food all over Lagos. Just go for the fresh fish and you won't be disappointed. Just go now!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,046)
There are newer reviews for Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

650 - 654 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

Upon our arrival, we were greeted by the friendly staff who valet parked the car ,quickly took our bags and checked us in, taking us directly to our room. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating, to the point that we felt like we were personal friends.

We had a ground floor suite which was fabulous, the patio had table and chairs along with sunbeds. There was a well appointed living area with a decanter of port waiting for you. The bedroom had a super-king sized bed with quality bedding and huge fluffy pillows. Obviously the usual bathrobes and slippers were provided as well as huge towels to use on the sunbeds.

It happened to be my 50th birthday and we decided to eat in the restaurant, the entire meal was first class, the waiters were very friendly and knowledgable.
We began the evening in the bar, enjoyed our welcome drink prepared by Jonny who was a real good guy who throughly seemed to enjoy his job, you could just tell by the way he cafefully prepared the drinks. Top Class, by the time we left I felt we were friends!
Once in the restaurant there were even a selection of butters to have with the freshly baked bread !
Starters were fab, we couldn't decide what to have for main course so the waiter spoke to the chef who prepared a meat feast for us, it was absolutely superb.
I couldn't manage a sweet but my husband decided on creme brulee, when the waiter arrived with it he also brought a dessert of chocolate layers, sorbet and sour cherries for me, totally unexpected and once again was delicious.
By this time were were both quite full, then what seemed like the entire staff wheeled out a trolley with a cake and candle on it. I was overwhelmed.The lovely lady who had been on reception also gave me a gorgeous pen as a gift. It turned out to be a very special night made even better by the wonderful staff, I could go on and on but I think everyone who has stayed here have praised the staff and rightly so.
Breakfast next morning was also first class.
We stayed for 3 nights I only wish it had been longer.
This hotel deserves your custom, give it a try you won't be dissapointed. I cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bishoptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

absolutly superb,rooms wonderful,,even better are the staff.all young ,and genuinely careing we were so impressed with everything,if you wanted to go anywhere,the staff took you by car and picked us up when we asked.great breakfast and great places to eat within a 15 min walk cant recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeeper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Only ever staying in the Far East have I experienced such excellent staff levels. From the moment we arrived through to when we sadly left the resort they could not have been friendlier, more helpful or ready to go above and beyond most hotels.

Ok, let's start logically--the hotel itself. The rather steep entrance to the hotel really does make the right impression, standing out from the crowd and welcoming you in (not to say a very useful shining beacon at night when walking back from the centre of Lagos). As soon as you enter the entrance foyer you know this is going to be a wonderful experience and both my partner and I could feel our excitements levels rise, and they weren't brought down by checking in, which I will cover later.
There are plenty of areas to explore around the hotel, including the gardens, the bar, restaurant, spa, pools and the lift that apparently goes nowhere (take it to floor 2 and see for yourself)! Many of the doors look like firedoors and although there were corridors behind them, we did wonder if we would set off alarms by going through them...thankfully we didn't!
Everywhere feels open, screams class and there are always interesting pieces of furniture or art to look at (and comfortable chairs to sit in).
Being low season the hotel was not particularly full and in fact felt empty, but for us this felt wonderful. It was like having your own private resort. We were the only people whilst we were there to sunbathe around the main pool, and even braved the unheated pool (yes, very cold but exhilirating nonetheless!). We also experienced the Spa pool, jacuzzi and sauna and these were a delight.
As others have said, the hotel still has a slight feel of needing to be finished off, for example with the lift that goes nowhere on floor 2 (we assume it was originally intended for the rooftop pool, which appears not to have be put in place), but it feels just right in the places that matter.

Our room--We had a sea view suite on the ground floor, in the Asian style. Simply put, it was gorgeous and just what was needed for a few days rest and relaxation. The bathrooms are incredibly well put together with stunning tiles and the unusual window through to the bedroom, giving a fun zoo-like feel.
The bed was very comfortable, however the pillowcases gave a slight annoyance (trying to be objective on whole experience here!) as the material was quite noisy when lying on them (odd thing to say I know, but best way of describing it).
The lounge area, with sofa, chair, sideboard and desk was a nice size and a great place to relax after a hard day of doing very little! I do fear that over time with some of the furniture being laminate in nature that it will look tired quite quickly. There were already scratches visible on doorways and bits of furniture so hope staff will keep an eye on this area as would be a shame to lose the quality it exudes.

Staff--Having already made exemplary comments about the staff, I only want to add a huge thank you to them for making us feel special. They really do go above and beyond most hotels, even driving us into the centre of Lagos one evening, which was really appreciated. Everyone had a smile on their face and looked like they enjoyed their job, why can't every hotel be like this?!

Food--We only had breakfast at the hotel as we like to explore nice local restaurants but even this was a feast for the eyes and the tastebuds. Everything was done that little bit differently and felt a bit exciting. The food just keeps on coming and surprises at every moment and we loved it! From the meat and cheese platter to the fresh fruit to the eggs benedict, gorgeous.

The bar--I would never norally pay hotel bar prices, but with the style of the bar (very contemporary and colourful) and having experienced the welcome drink (nice tactic!), we had to have more during our stay. It was so nice to watch the barman making fresh cocktails and enjoying the quiet surroundings.

So, overall we would highly recommend a stay at Cascade if you can manage it. Yes, it might not be in the centre of Lagos, but the walks along the cliffs are stunning, the walk into town is not far, the hotel is superb, staff exemplary and have only ever once not wanted to leave a hotel as much (and that was The Datai in Langkawi...!).

Thank you to everyone as Cascade for making everything wonderful.

Room Tip: Standard sea view suites....gorgeous!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauliepaul10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed at the Cascade Resort for 3 nights when travelling in the Algarve in
February 2012
Having stayed at other so called 5 star hotels in Portugal this hotel hit
the 5 star mark.

The location- the decor- the facilities - the food - the accomodation and above all the service did not disappoint.

It is situated in the up market Porto De Mos district of Lagos and is well placed for a stroll to the
one of the beach side restaurants

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank loganjame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
3.2 km away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#9 of 52 in Lagos
1,430 reviews
2.1 km away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 52 in Lagos
3,209 reviews
0.9 km away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.6 km away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
4.2 km away
Sensimar Lagos by Yellow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort

Address: Rua das Ilhas, Lagos 8600-513, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lagos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#2 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
#4 Family Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: ₹ 9,303 - ₹ 39,458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a truly unique and stunning cliff-top location, the five-star Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort is one of the most luxurious hotels in the Algarve, offering an elegant and sophisticated experience to its guests. Offering a fantastic holiday destination, the resort is located in the historic city of Lagos within walking distance to Dona Ana Beach, distinguished by Conde Nast Traveller as one of the 50 best beaches in the world, and to the Ponta da Piedade lighthouse, where you can enjoy breathtaking views of the Algarvian coastline and the Atlantic Ocean. Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort is divided into four individually decorated wings, each reflecting the expeditions of Portuguese navigators across four continents - Europe, Africa, Asia and South America, which is reflected in the tasteful decor of the rooms and suites. With a contemporary yet relaxed atmosphere, all rooms and suites at Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort are very spacious and feature balconies or terraces. Guests and families at Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort may also enjoy all the privacy and functionality of our one and two bedroom apartments or even a villa with its very own private swimming pool. At Cascade Resort, wellness is a state of mind. From special health programs combining fitness and wellness to detox menus, healthy lifestyle cocktails, or even Tainai Spa, a true oasis of tranquillity, at the resort we follow the philosophy of a "healthy mind in a healthy body". An extremely passionate team offering the world-renowned Portuguese hospitality and an impeccable service awaits you at Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort. Sip a cocktail as you immerse yourself in two splendid swimming pools, one of which with a natural sand bottom, sample a world-class culinary experience with our restaurants Moods and Senses, offering all-day-dining and a-la-carte options under the expert guidance of Chef Diogo Pereira or simply unwind in an authentic oasis of tranquillity - Tainai Spa, offering a large range of wellness programs as well as its very own heated swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and treatment rooms. Other facilities include a fully equipped Cascade Gym by AXN Club 100, golf performance academy with driving range, two tennis courts and the Caskiddy Kids Club. The resort also offers one of the most sought after football training facilities in Europe which are regularly requested by professional football teams for their high performance training camps. With a privileged location and top quality meetings & events facilities at Cascade you can also find the ideal place for any type of event or even for the wedding of your dreams with the Atlantic Ocean as a backdrop. We invite you to enter a world of elegance and sample the perfect lifestyle at Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascade Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing