We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous new resort hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We have just returned from a superb week in this resort. We had booked an apartment,but on arrival were offered an upgrade into a hotel room with pool view on the ground floor. We were delighted to change and found the breakfasts excellent,well worth the extra. Everything is spotless and staff were exceptional. Yes it was quiet, but that suited us fine as the staff could give us even more attention. Dietary requirements were no problem, and we did not have to remind the staff after day one. We have already got a booking quote for next year and will be going for longer as this was our only regret. A car is very useful to stay here, but we had planned on that .

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor as it is only a few steps to the beautiful pool.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margaret1850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,054)
There are newer reviews for Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

670 - 674 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2011

First off - we didn't stay, just called in for a drink and a look-see. We've watched this development take shape, and following its "soft opening" thought we should take a look. As a couple of random pedestrians, we were politely intercepted at the resort entrance by security and pointed in the direction of the hotel. The building/pool area is beautiful and on a grand scale, but was so, so quiet. We had to beg for a drink, and had to search again for someone to pay - it would have been so easy not to pay the (alarmingly expensive) 11.50 euros for a beer and a wine.
The place is stunning, and when finished, fully staffed and occuppied, will be excellent. I just hope they don't screw up nearby Praia de Porto de Mos as they expand - this is currently a vital facility for all, not just the wealthy.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank fletch535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

This was our first trip to the Algarve and we chose this hotel through a third party site. We needn't have worried - the hotel more than exceeded our expectations.

The rooms were very large and we were lucky enough to have a terrace overlooking the pool. Never had any problems with housekeeping during our stay - maybe this has been addressed since previous posts as the staff I saw each day were working so hard vacuuming the terraces and even cleaning the ceilings of balconies and terraces!

Food has been great - the breakfast buffet is delicious and this week due to number of guests the hotel has moved to a la carte and will cook whatever you like - we have had some delicious French toast and eggs Benedict!

We also ate in the hotel restaurant on our first evening and had a lovely meal - I had a delicious red mullet whilst OH had monkfish - we couldn't fault it and are dining there again tonight for our final evening.

The spa fully opened just as we arrived and although we haven't used it yet we had a tour and looked at the list of treatments and were so impressed we are going to treat ourselves to some massages today before we leave.

Finally I must say how wonderful all the staff have been and in particular Jessica, Pedro and Andrea who have all been so helpful and nothing has been too much trouble. If we return to the Algarve, Cascade will be top of our list of places to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank claireybel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

What a find, we could not fault this hotel. The rooms, beds , service, staff,food, pool ,position, everything about it is 5 star. A particular mention for the restaurant though, which does not even feature on the "places to eat in Lagos" list on Tripadvisor but actually serves far better food, reasonably priced and in a nicer setting than any of the top rated restaurants.( we tried the top ones, no comparison.)We have never been to a better hotel and the staff in particular are a credit to the place.we had a bad experience at a sister hotel's restaurant- avoid the vivenda Miranda at all costs- but everyone at Cascade Resort went to so much trouble to make amends, we were positively spoiled. We've just had our best holiday for years- thank you, we will be back

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrPaulCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Having read the previous Trip Advisor reviews for The Cascade Hotel & Resort, we were already expecting a well run hotel with a true 5 star experience.

On arrival we were greeted by reception staff who were well prepared for our arrival and had our rooms all ready. We had requested interconnecting rooms and were duly directed to a ground floor set of rooms that resembled a luxury junior suite more than just two inter-connecting rooms.

The young chap that showed us to our rooms was incredibly helpful and very courteous. Little did we know how much more helpful Pedro would become over the course of our stay. He was simply fabulous and a true ambassador for the hotel. His advice on where to go and what to do during our stay was invaluable. Nothing we asked for was too much trouble for this young man. Hopefully the hotel management will see his true potential and bring him into the fold of a more senior role within the organisation. Such staff make ones visit a much more stress free time.

Without boring you with every little detail of our stay at The Cascade, the comments below on each aspect of the hotel should provide you with a good insight into this wonderful hotel.

Rooms:

The rooms were very clean, the beds were simply wonderful – not too hard and not too soft. As someone who has slept on hundreds of different hotel beds, I can honestly say these were some of the best beds ever. The rooms provided one of the most sought after luxuries one could want : SPACE, and lots of it. We had three terraces between two rooms. The bathrooms were very well appointed . Both bathrooms had a large tub a well as a spacious shower area with both handheld shower head and ‘rain shower’. The L’Occitane toiletries were of high quality and much appreciated by my wife and daughter in particular. Fluffy yet absorbent towels added to the ‘bathroom experience’!

Swimming Pool & Pool Facilities.:

Warm pool water with just the right amount of chlorine. The area around the pool was spotless with staff continually making sure everything was either clean, re-filled or picture perfect. Ju’an, the pool guy is great. Nothing is too much trouble and making sure his ‘pool’ guests are all happy seems to be his priority. Ju’an and his staff provide a fabulous towel service. The towels were large, soft and clean. The sun lounges are comfortable and the beanbags are so comfortable that you might not get up once you climb onto one! The only word of advice here is to make sure your kids don’t run around the pool area: a slip on the non-slip surface can be a very painful experience.

Breakfast

The buffet breakfast was a culinary delight. There was an array of different foods available: freshly baked breads, traditional Portuguese pastries, a wide variety of yogurts, cereals, cooked breakfast meats, cheeses, cold meats, pickles, local olives, a wide variety of freshly cut fruit, various juices, lots of hot beverages with speciality teas and coffees on request (non-chargeable). The seating area was comfortable with tables and chairs spread out so one never felt over-crowding. The fact that breakfast is available from 7:30am to 11am (last sitting) means there is never any rush. You can even have a late breakfast and eat enough so you don’t have to worry too much about lunch…A key factor at breakfast time was the commitment of the staff to make sure every guest was totally happy with their breakfast experience. There was never a shortage of anything that was on offer. Without ever being over-bearing, the staff would constantly try and anticipate your next move and ensure that whatever you wanted was at hand. The breakfast experience was something we looked forward to every morning ☺.

Snacks/Lunch

Lunch at the hotel was good. But as we only experienced this a few times, I’m only going to comment on the two types of meals we had. The first was Tapas, which must be the best value and most fabulous tapas ever! The menu offers a good choice of tapas and is incredibly good value. Nine plates of tapas were only €15!!! After looking at the price, we assumed these would be very, very small portions and therefore ordered 18 portions for 4 of us. Miguel did try and tell us it might be too much, but we insisted anyway. By the time all the food arrived, we had enough food for 10 people! It was embarrassing to say the least! The food was simply fabulous. Make sure you try the Portuguese cottage cheese with Rosemary honey…just divine.

Fine Dining Restaurant

We enjoyed a fantastic meal in the fine dining restaurant. The food was extremely well presented and the staff were attentive and courteous. The Chef even sent out some perfectly cooked scallops ‘on the house’ as a ‘pre-starter’. Good atmosphere and great food, but slightly on the pricey side if you have children at your table too.

Location:

Fantastic location overlooking the sea from a high cliff top vantage point. A short walk to the beach or a 1 minute car journey, which was provided courtesy of the hotel. But to be frank, even though the beach was nice, having experienced the tranquility of the hotel pool, we didn't bother with the beach again!

Lagos is a nice town. Very busy, but with some good restaurants and some good, albeit predictable tourist shopping. The staff at the hotel were always on hand to drop us to the town centre and collect us if required. We were even shuttled to Portimau on one occasion - which is easily a 25 km journey - at no cost. Whilst the town is a nice place, the fact that the resort is a short drive away means there is no background noise or constant city buzz whilst one is lying poolside sipping fruit coolers.

Staff

Maybe it’s the sun in Lagos, or maybe it’s because the Hotel owners have done a great job of selecting the best staff available, but whatever it is, the staff at The Cascades resort were simply some of the best hotel staff I have come across anywhere in the world! Nothing was ever too much trouble for any of them.

A BIG, BIG THANK YOU to Ludwig (Duty Manager) Andreia (Guest Services), Carlos (F & B Manager), Miguel (restaurant), Ju’an (poolside), Pedro (Concierge) and the many others we met on our stay at the Cascade resort.

Overall, the resort was just great! Adults will love the calm and quiet atmosphere, and kids will love the fact that the place is fun and safe. We will be back at the Cascade resort soon!!

Room Tip: Ground Floor connecting rooms perfect for families.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank haqsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
3.2 km away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 52 in Lagos
1,440 reviews
2.1 km away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lagos
3,228 reviews
0.9 km away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Sensimar Lagos by Yellow
0.9 km away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
26.5 km away
Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort

Address: Rua das Ilhas, Lagos 8600-513, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lagos
#2 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
#4 Family Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: ₹ 9,476 - ₹ 37,515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a truly unique and stunning cliff-top location, the five-star Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort is one of the most luxurious hotels in the Algarve, offering an elegant and sophisticated experience to its guests. Offering a fantastic holiday destination, the resort is located in the historic city of Lagos within walking distance to Dona Ana Beach, distinguished by Conde Nast Traveller as one of the 50 best beaches in the world, and to the Ponta da Piedade lighthouse, where you can enjoy breathtaking views of the Algarvian coastline and the Atlantic Ocean. Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort is divided into four individually decorated wings, each reflecting the expeditions of Portuguese navigators across four continents - Europe, Africa, Asia and South America, which is reflected in the tasteful decor of the rooms and suites. With a contemporary yet relaxed atmosphere, all rooms and suites at Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort are very spacious and feature balconies or terraces. Guests and families at Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort may also enjoy all the privacy and functionality of our one and two bedroom apartments or even a villa with its very own private swimming pool. At Cascade Resort, wellness is a state of mind. From special health programs combining fitness and wellness to detox menus, healthy lifestyle cocktails, or even Tainai Spa, a true oasis of tranquillity, at the resort we follow the philosophy of a "healthy mind in a healthy body". An extremely passionate team offering the world-renowned Portuguese hospitality and an impeccable service awaits you at Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort. Sip a cocktail as you immerse yourself in two splendid swimming pools, one of which with a natural sand bottom, sample a world-class culinary experience with our restaurants Moods and Senses, offering all-day-dining and a-la-carte options under the expert guidance of Chef Diogo Pereira or simply unwind in an authentic oasis of tranquillity - Tainai Spa, offering a large range of wellness programs as well as its very own heated swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and treatment rooms. Other facilities include a fully equipped Cascade Gym by AXN Club 100, golf performance academy with driving range, two tennis courts and the Caskiddy Kids Club. The resort also offers one of the most sought after football training facilities in Europe which are regularly requested by professional football teams for their high performance training camps. With a privileged location and top quality meetings & events facilities at Cascade you can also find the ideal place for any type of event or even for the wedding of your dreams with the Atlantic Ocean as a backdrop. We invite you to enter a world of elegance and sample the perfect lifestyle at Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascade Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing