We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 202
US$ 175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 181
US$ 176
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 214/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 251
US$ 213
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 152
US$ 147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 303
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vilabranca Apartments(Lagos)(Great Value!)
US$ 204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 236
US$ 230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,130)
Filter reviews
1,130 results
Traveller rating
763
269
62
25
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
763
269
62
25
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdriving rangestar resortspa poolthe clifffantastic resortboot campstayed in a bedroom apartmenthotel restaurantshuttle busthe main hotelgarden viewwashing machinetennis courtsmain poolwelcome drinkold townout of season
Filter
Updating list...
710 - 715 of 1,130 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2011

First off - we didn't stay, just called in for a drink and a look-see. We've watched this development take shape, and following its "soft opening" thought we should take a look. As a couple of random pedestrians, we were politely intercepted at the resort entrance by security and pointed in the direction of the hotel. The building/pool area is beautiful and on a grand scale, but was so, so quiet. We had to beg for a drink, and had to search again for someone to pay - it would have been so easy not to pay the (alarmingly expensive) 11.50 euros for a beer and a wine.
The place is stunning, and when finished, fully staffed and occuppied, will be excellent. I just hope they don't screw up nearby Praia de Porto de Mos as they expand - this is currently a vital facility for all, not just the wealthy.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank fletch535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

This was our first trip to the Algarve and we chose this hotel through a third party site. We needn't have worried - the hotel more than exceeded our expectations.

The rooms were very large and we were lucky enough to have a terrace overlooking the pool. Never had any problems with housekeeping during our stay - maybe this has been addressed since previous posts as the staff I saw each day were working so hard vacuuming the terraces and even cleaning the ceilings of balconies and terraces!

Food has been great - the breakfast buffet is delicious and this week due to number of guests the hotel has moved to a la carte and will cook whatever you like - we have had some delicious French toast and eggs Benedict!

We also ate in the hotel restaurant on our first evening and had a lovely meal - I had a delicious red mullet whilst OH had monkfish - we couldn't fault it and are dining there again tonight for our final evening.

The spa fully opened just as we arrived and although we haven't used it yet we had a tour and looked at the list of treatments and were so impressed we are going to treat ourselves to some massages today before we leave.

Finally I must say how wonderful all the staff have been and in particular Jessica, Pedro and Andrea who have all been so helpful and nothing has been too much trouble. If we return to the Algarve, Cascade will be top of our list of places to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank claireybel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

What a find, we could not fault this hotel. The rooms, beds , service, staff,food, pool ,position, everything about it is 5 star. A particular mention for the restaurant though, which does not even feature on the "places to eat in Lagos" list on Tripadvisor but actually serves far better food, reasonably priced and in a nicer setting than any of the top rated restaurants.( we tried the top ones, no comparison.)We have never been to a better hotel and the staff in particular are a credit to the place.we had a bad experience at a sister hotel's restaurant- avoid the vivenda Miranda at all costs- but everyone at Cascade Resort went to so much trouble to make amends, we were positively spoiled. We've just had our best holiday for years- thank you, we will be back

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrPaulCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Having read the previous Trip Advisor reviews for The Cascade Hotel & Resort, we were already expecting a well run hotel with a true 5 star experience.

On arrival we were greeted by reception staff who were well prepared for our arrival and had our rooms all ready. We had requested interconnecting rooms and were duly directed to a ground floor set of rooms that resembled a luxury junior suite more than just two inter-connecting rooms.

The young chap that showed us to our rooms was incredibly helpful and very courteous. Little did we know how much more helpful Pedro would become over the course of our stay. He was simply fabulous and a true ambassador for the hotel. His advice on where to go and what to do during our stay was invaluable. Nothing we asked for was too much trouble for this young man. Hopefully the hotel management will see his true potential and bring him into the fold of a more senior role within the organisation. Such staff make ones visit a much more stress free time.

Without boring you with every little detail of our stay at The Cascade, the comments below on each aspect of the hotel should provide you with a good insight into this wonderful hotel.

Rooms:

The rooms were very clean, the beds were simply wonderful – not too hard and not too soft. As someone who has slept on hundreds of different hotel beds, I can honestly say these were some of the best beds ever. The rooms provided one of the most sought after luxuries one could want : SPACE, and lots of it. We had three terraces between two rooms. The bathrooms were very well appointed . Both bathrooms had a large tub a well as a spacious shower area with both handheld shower head and ‘rain shower’. The L’Occitane toiletries were of high quality and much appreciated by my wife and daughter in particular. Fluffy yet absorbent towels added to the ‘bathroom experience’!

Swimming Pool & Pool Facilities.:

Warm pool water with just the right amount of chlorine. The area around the pool was spotless with staff continually making sure everything was either clean, re-filled or picture perfect. Ju’an, the pool guy is great. Nothing is too much trouble and making sure his ‘pool’ guests are all happy seems to be his priority. Ju’an and his staff provide a fabulous towel service. The towels were large, soft and clean. The sun lounges are comfortable and the beanbags are so comfortable that you might not get up once you climb onto one! The only word of advice here is to make sure your kids don’t run around the pool area: a slip on the non-slip surface can be a very painful experience.

Breakfast

The buffet breakfast was a culinary delight. There was an array of different foods available: freshly baked breads, traditional Portuguese pastries, a wide variety of yogurts, cereals, cooked breakfast meats, cheeses, cold meats, pickles, local olives, a wide variety of freshly cut fruit, various juices, lots of hot beverages with speciality teas and coffees on request (non-chargeable). The seating area was comfortable with tables and chairs spread out so one never felt over-crowding. The fact that breakfast is available from 7:30am to 11am (last sitting) means there is never any rush. You can even have a late breakfast and eat enough so you don’t have to worry too much about lunch…A key factor at breakfast time was the commitment of the staff to make sure every guest was totally happy with their breakfast experience. There was never a shortage of anything that was on offer. Without ever being over-bearing, the staff would constantly try and anticipate your next move and ensure that whatever you wanted was at hand. The breakfast experience was something we looked forward to every morning ☺.

Snacks/Lunch

Lunch at the hotel was good. But as we only experienced this a few times, I’m only going to comment on the two types of meals we had. The first was Tapas, which must be the best value and most fabulous tapas ever! The menu offers a good choice of tapas and is incredibly good value. Nine plates of tapas were only €15!!! After looking at the price, we assumed these would be very, very small portions and therefore ordered 18 portions for 4 of us. Miguel did try and tell us it might be too much, but we insisted anyway. By the time all the food arrived, we had enough food for 10 people! It was embarrassing to say the least! The food was simply fabulous. Make sure you try the Portuguese cottage cheese with Rosemary honey…just divine.

Fine Dining Restaurant

We enjoyed a fantastic meal in the fine dining restaurant. The food was extremely well presented and the staff were attentive and courteous. The Chef even sent out some perfectly cooked scallops ‘on the house’ as a ‘pre-starter’. Good atmosphere and great food, but slightly on the pricey side if you have children at your table too.

Location:

Fantastic location overlooking the sea from a high cliff top vantage point. A short walk to the beach or a 1 minute car journey, which was provided courtesy of the hotel. But to be frank, even though the beach was nice, having experienced the tranquility of the hotel pool, we didn't bother with the beach again!

Lagos is a nice town. Very busy, but with some good restaurants and some good, albeit predictable tourist shopping. The staff at the hotel were always on hand to drop us to the town centre and collect us if required. We were even shuttled to Portimau on one occasion - which is easily a 25 km journey - at no cost. Whilst the town is a nice place, the fact that the resort is a short drive away means there is no background noise or constant city buzz whilst one is lying poolside sipping fruit coolers.

Staff

Maybe it’s the sun in Lagos, or maybe it’s because the Hotel owners have done a great job of selecting the best staff available, but whatever it is, the staff at The Cascades resort were simply some of the best hotel staff I have come across anywhere in the world! Nothing was ever too much trouble for any of them.

A BIG, BIG THANK YOU to Ludwig (Duty Manager) Andreia (Guest Services), Carlos (F & B Manager), Miguel (restaurant), Ju’an (poolside), Pedro (Concierge) and the many others we met on our stay at the Cascade resort.

Overall, the resort was just great! Adults will love the calm and quiet atmosphere, and kids will love the fact that the place is fun and safe. We will be back at the Cascade resort soon!!

Room Tip: Ground Floor connecting rooms perfect for families.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank haqsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed with a two year old and had a great stay. As the hotel only opened in April, everything was very new and the staff superb.. We were really grateful for the transfers to and from Lagos. The only issue was house-keeping who did not change our bedding all week and rarely cleaned our floor.. Not sure how they operate at full capacity as the hotel was only 35% occupied! Location is very quiet but good for some relaxation. Would also recommend booking taxi transfer from the airport in advance.. Suntransfers were the cheapest and offered a good service.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoTi-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews