We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
63
56
16
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
56
16
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister hotel derelict building dona ana beach sea view onda norte walking distance to restaurants beautiful beach minute walk nice apartment perfect location beach towels rental car one bedroom apartment an upgrade tourist train washing machine swimming pool
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018

This is the first time Trip Advisor has steered our family in the wrong direction. I couldn't get over the abandoned building, that is five times larger then the hotel, and shares a wall with the Villa Doris Suites. Having two kids (10 and 13) who wanted nothing more then to explore the crumbling building, made my trip a bit stressful. There were multiple people 'squatting' in the derelict building, and although they were quite friendly it definitely was a concern.

Aside from that, the actual apartment was nice, the view was good, the location to the beach was nice, and the staff was fantastic! Unfortunately there was no 5 Euro breakfast (it was 14 Euros), but it did look quite good. My husband felt it was too far from the city center, but I enjoyed being close to a beautiful beach.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sojourn4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

My family of 4 stayed 3 nights (23-26 Dec 2017) comfortably in a 1 bedroom sea-facing apt with a huge terrace (#403) which we believe was an upgrade in view of the low season for an incredible 70 Euros a night.

Yes, there is the derelict establishment next to it. Forget about the eyesore. And we did not hear noise from vagrants or animals. Just enjoy the spectacular cliffs from the apt.

Apt as noted generally was super clean with everything in working order - we attest for these as almost all eating establishments were closed on Christmas Eve evenings and the whole of Christmas day - we cooked ourselves. We found everything we needed for at the InterMarche Express opposite the Marina - some 15 minutes via the shortcut in the Old Town - Reception will guide you on this.

The 5 Euros per pax breakfast is a steal. Atop continental items, there are lots of local goodies to sample including brandy etc.

Villa Doris is a great base to hike and discover the lovely cliffs of Lagos, which we did every day. We encountered many retirees and upcoming vacation homes. Go there and you'll LOVE it...

Last but not least: On our final day, we had to take the 6.20am bus to Sevilla. We walked for about 20 minutes from Villa Doris to the bus station with our cabin luggage. The distance from town is not an inconvenience... The plus is you stay next to the famous Lagos cliffs...

Room tip: #403 for a 1 bedroom sea facing apt with a huge terrace
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Singfat_Chu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed in villa Doris for 4 nights over Xmas .. checkin was perfect, our room wasn’t right we ordered a sea view , it wasn’t the Hotels fault , it was our Travel agents but the hotel changed our room without any fuss .... The apartments are amazing clean spacious everything you could ask for ..There is a derelict building next door which is very unsightly ...

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank hollymaywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

This was a very nice apartment with a fully equipped kitchen - including a dishwasher. There was also a nice balcony and a separate bedroom. The check in was not smooth. We were told to check in at their other location. When we got there we were told that there was a staff at Villa Doris to check us in. But once we were settled we enjoyed our stay. The hotel is right next to Praia de D Ana - which is a gorgeous beach. There is a little tourist train that stops in front. It goes into town and makes a loop in about an hour. You can hop on and off all day.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wisconsinron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Very clean and modern & new hotel. Biggest shortfall was not having much of a pool area. Great location...Short walk to the spectacular beach Dona Ana. And very close to Camillo beach and many places nearby to eat. Hotel also had beach towels and beach umbrellas to borrow.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NYC27_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews