We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every minute of our stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sensimar Lagos by Yellow
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved every minute of our stay!”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We have just returned from a seven night stay at this hotel. It was one of the most relaxing holidays we have ever been on and this hotel is just wonderful.

The hotel is very design led and modern, with big open areas and one of the most beautiful pools I have ever seen. Rooms are lovely - we had a lovely view over the pool and out to the gorgeous beach, which is just 3 - 4 minutes walk from the hotel. Breakfast was excellent and you can sit out on the open balcony and soak up some early sun whilst sipping your morning coffee.

We didn't have dinner in the hotel, so I can't comment on that. We got a taxi in to town every night and had wonderful food in the old town. We did eat at the pool cafe which was good and there are a couple of excellent beach bars a few minutes away if you fancy tearing yourself away from the pool.

I used the spa on two occasions - my first hour long massage was so fantastic that I booked again. Sme good daily offers on massages. My husband even book one and thoroughly enjoyed it. I'm surprised a previous reviewer felt treatments were expensive - I felt they were very much on par with other spas, and the offers were great!

Also, a previous reviewer commented on towel availability - pool towels are available 24/7 from the main reception, no need to wait until 10am as mentioned. Also, mini bars are filled on request - we were asked on arrival if we would like it filled. The previous reviewer seems to have got a few details wrong here! also, I noticed a train passing no more than twice on our entire stay and even then it was for a brief second.

My only minor niggle is the Internet connection which was very unreliable - but as we were on holiday it was nice to avoid emails etc....

Special mention to Valter on the front desk who was polite and helpful when we needed him. Despite this hotel being out of town, I think it has the best location in Lagos - opposite a stunning beach, clean and modern, feels indulgent, away from the crowds of town! We are already planning a return visit. What more can I say!

Room Tip: Book a sea view for a view of the pool and the beach! Gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesleycc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    577
    197
    50
    26
See reviews for
65
1,274
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We spent 5 days in this amazing hotel. I had a plan to propose to my girlfriend and it was the best place to do this. The staff was so helpful. Special thanks to Karmina Camacho. She helped me a lot with the organization of my proposal plan. She made an excellent choice for the restaurant where I proposed to my girlfriend. Then, on the next day we received a complimentary wine and a greeting card that was with personalized wishes for us. Its very rear these days to find a personalized card in your hotel room.

In general the hotel is with amazing design, its big, quiet, clean and very modern. We were little off the season and had a great relaxing time, as there were not many people in the hotel. The silence around us when we were at the pool was spectacular.

It is recommended to have a rent-a-car, as Lagos is 10 min with car. Also it is easy to check the other towns like Portimao and Faro if you have a car. The restaurants and the food in Lagos are great and on normal prices.

In conclusion - great hotel for couples looking for quiet relaxing time. Lagos is nice destination for good food.

Definately come back.

Room Tip: Always look for a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

From the moment you enter this beautiful hotel you are cared for in everyway. The staff are polite and helpful. Rooms are cleaned and well stocked. The beds are comfortable most have a stunning sea view. The hotel food is a must while you are visiting the sea bream was the best I have ever had. If you want a luxury and relaxing break then look no further than this hotel. We will be returning shortly and already our friends have booked to go

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view but all the rooms are just delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliebanks13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

just got back from 5 nights at this lovely hotel. The staff are top notch, from reception greeting us when we arrived, to when we left.
the process landing at Faro airport was quick and smooth- the wait for passport control was maybe 10 minutes, and once we passed that our bags were already on the belt.
if you are planning to take a Taxi to Yellow Lagos make sure the driver does not overcharge you. There is a fee sheet right by the taxi stand with prices to each destination.
Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted and checked in very efficiently. We were in our room within 10 minutes. The front desk was able to give us an envelope full of maps and brochures for excursions and walking around town etc.
once arriving in our room (we had requested a sea view) we were on the opposite side of the pool with a full sea view, but asked to change so we could view the pool as well as the sea. They changed it not a problem. Even if you get a garden view- everything is immaculately trimmed and taken care of.
the rooms- very modern, very comfy bed, lovely bathtub, amazing shower (i could have stood under it for hours) and nice complimentary products. the bathrobe and slippers were very comfy as well.
the pool itself is gorgeous, but absolutely freezing, we could not stay in longer than 10 minutes.
my boyfriend and i chose half board - so we had breakfast and dinner included. the breakfast was very very good. There was an abundance of everything. Fruits, cheeses, juices, jams, pastries, breads, cereals, and then the typical English style breakfast (beans, tomatoes, mushrooms and scrambled eggs). They had about 6 different kinds of teas, and very good coffee. Or you could opt for a glass of champagne (they left a bottle out every morning).
For dinner is was a table d'hote, and we ate like kings. it was an entree, a main and dessert, and we left completely stuffed every night. it is well worth getting the half board option at this hotel. We had the pleasure of being served by Paulo for 4 out of the 5 nights we were there, and he was fantastic. He spoke fluently in 3 different languages, and knew the menu inside out. I am vegetarian so they were very accommodating to my dietary needs. You are given a glass of complimentary white port upon arrival with the usual olives and bread and oil. All the food was cooked fresh, and the portions could have fed a whole family.
The 2 bad things i would have to comment on is the internet access, and the prices of things at the hotel. The internet access was very poor, we had to constantly reset it and re-log in no matter where we were in the hotel. And the prices of things were exorbitant. if you want room service - there is a 10 Euro per person charge, and one day we decided to order 2 cocktails by the pool, and it came to around 15-18 euros. Also, you have to pay to use the indoor pool after 10am, this is the only 5 star hotel i know to do this. The hotel definitely needs to balance out their prices a bit more. Their lunch menu as well is very pricey, and not many choices on it. When we walked into town we found a grocery store and stocked up on things for lunches.
The surrounding area is a bit run down, with a loud train passing every few hours, but to walk into town takes about 30 minutes, or 5 minutes by taxi. it is much easier to walk along the beach and then cut in to get straight into town.
At the time we stayed, there was not that many people at the hotel, and they had minimal staff, but everyone was excellent. the hotel is so clean- you could probably eat off of the floors. We would definitely return to this hotel, and definitely recommend it to others.

Room Tip: 1)the rooms on the ground floor balcony do not get much sun light, so request to be put up on a high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Coco_Moi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We spent a week last summer in this new hotel. We loved the design and room decoration, although having a bath inside your bedroom doesnt suit everyone. Bed was most comfortable and all rooms have at least a side sea view. Great breakfast facilities with chef cooking in front of you with fantastic selection of everything you want for breakfast. Just a minute from the beach. Overoll we had a nice stay but hotel was only used for sleeping and having breakfast.
The service was poor and you go out for dinner and lunch as hotel doesnt provide good dinning. What was suprising is that they ask you to pay for the whole stay before you even seen your room. I think they need to polish as they have great potential.

Room Tip: All rooms are really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanry_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
1.1 km away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 52 in Lagos
1,391 reviews
2.6 km away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 52 in Lagos
3,168 reviews
3.4 km away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
2.0 km away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
33.2 km away
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Sao Rafael Atlantico
#1 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Lagos by Yellow? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Lagos by Yellow

Property: Sensimar Lagos by Yellow
Address: Estrada Meia Praia, Lagos 8600-315, Portugal (Formerly Yellow Lagos Meia Praia)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#4 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
#15 Family Hotel in Lagos
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,286 - ₹ 35,815
Hotel Class:5 star — Sensimar Lagos by Yellow 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults-only hotel (16+) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sensimar Lagos by Yellow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellow Lagos Meia Praia Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing