We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well staying.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monaco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Monaco Hotel
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Faro
Radomsko, Polska
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very well staying.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

Hotel Monaco went above and beyond what we were expecting. We read the reviews on here and thought we would take a chance as we were on a budget. The hotel was impeccably clean though, with new feeling linen, fresh looking interior and decor to match. The room was really nice, and big, with a balcony (you must ask for a balcony room), and there is buffet breakfast every morning which is actually very good!! There is fresh fruit, cereals, milk, nesquik, tea, coffee, scrambled eggs, fresh rolls, ham, cheese, sausages, yoghurts and juice. A great way to start the day!! We had no problem with noises, and the cleaners were very trustworthy and did very good jobs on the room daily. The staff were all helpful and very kind. Fantastic!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DamianC92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    97
    63
    42
    26
See reviews for
36
125
18
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

This is a high standard airport hotel. It's the nearest hotel to Faro Airport (about €5 / €6 in a taxi). The staff are great, very friendly, helpful and nothing was any trouble. The hotel itself is spotless, the rooms large and comfortable. There is a tv in the room which has English and German channels (as well as ones from Portugal). The bar is reasonable value. Very handy for the airport and considering the price it's one of the best value hotels. But special praise for the staff who were amongst the most friendly I have even met. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alekito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2010

Myself and my partner were very unlucky as we were stranded in faro due to the spanish air traffic control strike. We had a very long day as we stood in the airport for almost 8 hours just to be told we were not to be flying for the next few days so had to very quickly find accomodation. The hotel itself was very good for a 3 star with a pool wifi and a contenental breakfast, but the real gem was the staff. They went out of there way to make sure our stay was as comfortable as possible, especialy Rita on the desk and Carlos behind the bar. They were very chatty and friendly and couldnt do enough to make us feel welcome. As both of us work in hotels we know how much of a diffenece a good attitude makes and all the staff the two I mentioned in particular are a credit to their establishment. Nice 3* hotel, fantastic 5* staff.

Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank xoxhunibeexox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

This hotel isn't too expensive and is 2 or 3 kilometres from Faro. I don't mind walking so this wasn't a problem for. However, one day I did ask when the hotel bus was going into town and the receptionist told me it only ran in the afternoon. I went to the bus stop (just a few steps from the hotel on the dual carriageway) to find that I would have to wait an hour and a half for the next one. So I got on my merry way on foot. Then, I saw the hotel bus heading off towards Faro with an employee so I wasn't impressed. I think the bus runs when they feel like it. There is a way to walk, crossing through the residential area, then crossing the rail track towards the Ibis hotel. You do however have a small stretch with not much of a pavement where you risk life and limb, so not recommendable to everyone. The point is, if you're not prepared to walk or take a taxi into town I wouldn't recommend it.

The hotel is very clean, including the rooms which are made up daily and the staff are quiet and friendly enough but don't expect a big cheery welcome.

The breakfast is basic and I have to agree with another comment in that the coffee and the "juice" is pretty vile. The croissants are hard and crusty. If there is a big difference in price between B&B and accommodation only, I'd choose the latter.

It is very peaceful and close to the airport with no noise but not a hotel to visit twice.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliBalito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

We spent 2 nights in this hotel, prior to an early morning flight out of Faro. The hotel staff in particular were wonderful: very informative at the front desk, and offered us a take out breakfast seeing we were leaving so early in the morning, and sure enough, it was waiting for us at the front desk at 4:30a.m. when we checked out! We were able to drop off our rental car a day early, and used the convenient public transport into the town itself, and were able to get info on trains to Tavira from the front desk. The room was very comfortable and clean although the carpet had certainly seen better times! There is also a lovely pool. Although you are so close to the airport, you are not bothered by plane noises at all. The breakfast room is only used for breakfasts; if you want to eat on the premises at night, anything other than hamburgers, they will order in for you and you eat in the bar.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecraighead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
2.9 km away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#6 of 27 in Faro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#8 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
8.7 km away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
2.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monaco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Hotel

Property: Monaco Hotel
Address: Rua Joao Baptista Severino | Urb. Monte da Ria, Montenegro, Faro 8005-237, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Faro
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,796 - ₹ 8,313
Hotel Class:3 star — Monaco Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Monaco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Faro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing