We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean but smells of strong detergent !” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guest House Sao Filipe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guest House Sao Filipe
Ranked #17 of 23 Faro B&B and Inns
United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Clean but smells of strong detergent !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

It is an ok place ..but noway a super guesthouse. Rooms are cold..clean..strong detergant smell but cheap beer available ..

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kitty11228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    21
    23
    14
    6
See reviews for
9
37
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

This hotel has one bid dissadvantage, the stairs that one has to climb, very narrow and a struggle with two cases.
Apart form that the hotel was very clean, close to the bus, train and train stations. the night porter was very helpfull and spoke perfect English, I was in room 4.
On the recomendation of the night porter I went to a nearby restraught and was very pleased with the stone baked steak. In the mornign I went to the cafe opposite to the railway station 1.35E for a galio coffee (with Milk) and a pastry. Because of the steep stairs, and my age/knees I wil not stay here again - but I would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

We booked this hotel for one night as our flight got in too late to get the bus to our final destination and it really was one of the worst places I have ever stayed. To be honest Faro itself is a real dump and I wouldn't advise visiting if it can be avoided but the area in which the hotel was located was particularly run down and we felt quite unsafe returning from dinner late at night. Our room was absolutely tiny and the bathroom was even smaller, nothing was very clean, there was really bad mould in the shower and the towels and bed linen had an unpleasant smell. The room we had was right next to reception and the soundproofing was so bad we might as well have been trying to sleep in the corridor. Sleep wasn't something I got a lot of and I was extremely happy when it was time to leave, I wouldn't advise staying here for a holiday and if it wasn't for the fact we literally needed somewhere to sleep for the night we would have left and looked elsewhere. The room cost about £50 which isn't even that cheep, breakfast was not included, credit cards were no accepted. The only plus is that it was only a stones throw away from the bus station.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucinda101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Faro hotels

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

We were very impressed with this place, everything was so clean and tide! The staffs are very friendly. They have air-condition and television. If I could give them a pontuation I would say 100% perfect!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nandoikari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Worth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We just needed an overnight break in a trip from Seville to Lisbon. We were looking for a place close to the bus and train station. Not the best part of town, but it appears the economic downturn has hit the whole city. Not nearly as pretty and inviting as we were expecting but it may have been the area we visited. The hotel is on the second floor with no elevator. Right next to a fish market so the smell coming home late was pretty overpowering. But we had a nice, but very small, room overlooking the street. (no big view there). Older building and facility but worked OK for us for a quick overnight. Very limited dining options in the area, you will have to walk to the downtown (about 5-6 blocks). Breakfast is available at a cafe across the street from the train station (about 2 blocks).

The building is well maintained and the locking front door made us feel much safer but this is not a fancy hotel - just a nice locally owned guest house for budget travelers. I would stay again if I was just staying one night between trains.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarlinPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#8 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo
1.9 km away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#6 of 27 in Faro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
9.4 km away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Sao Filipe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Sao Filipe

Property: Guest House Sao Filipe
Address: Rua Infante Dom Henrique, 55-10, Faro 8000-363, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Faro
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,424 - ₹ 5,895
Hotel Class:3 star — Guest House Sao Filipe 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our establishment consists of eleven bedrooms where we offer you tranquility, with a warm and friendly atmosphere,providing our guests to the ultimate personalized service. This is without a doubt our most important attribute.Each of our rooms have ensuite bathroom, wifi, air dryer, cable TV, air conditioned and heating. We have alarm connected to the reception in all bathrooms and even the security system and detection of fire in the building. Breakfast can be taken just below the Guest House in a coffee shop on corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Guest House Sao Filipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest House Sao Filipe Faro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing