We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Reasonable Low Cost!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Low Cost Inn Faro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Low Cost Inn Faro
Ranked #25 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Faro
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reasonable Low Cost!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

The 'Low Cost' lives up to it's name and was the best price we found in Faro! Bit basic, and could do with some tea/coffee facility, but clean and tidy and well placed to see the sights of Faro! 5 Minutes from the airport so very well placed!

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much the same, with a shared wc/shower so bit like student digs! Room 26 is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    6
    8
    32
See reviews for
3
16
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

If you like rude staff, overpriced dorms, kitchens where nothing works, ants in your bed, unclean bathrooms and generally being ripped off then this place is for you. Otherwise, DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOSTEL! 

We stayed in the 20 bed dorm which is very basic as you'd expect. However, the rooms never seem to be cleaned properly, the bins don't get emptied, the bathroom and toilet doors were hanging off their hinges and the outside area was covered in broken bits of wood and rubbish. 
The staff are rude (not all of them though), they had a go at us for leaving things on other peoples beds. When we explained it wasn't us we didn't even get an "oh sorry about that". You can't lock the door to the 20 bed dorm either, and don't get a key to the building. You have to go and ask someone at reception which is in a completely different building on the other side of the street to let you in. In theory anyone could ask to be let in (the staff can't know what all the guests look like) and if they knew where to go once inside then you could come back to find all your stuff missing (the lockers aren't big enough to fit a small suitcase or backpack in). 

In general the price seems to be very expensive compared to other places and everyone seems to be paying something different from each other (ranging from €10 - €20). 

If you're travelling & think you're staying somewhere you can cook then you'll be disappointed. The supermarkets and restaurants in Faro are not as cheap as you'd expect so be prepared for a lot of sandwiches. 

We did raise the issue with the staff that there was nothing to cook with or even a kettle. We got told that it all got broken by previous guests (all "animals" apparently) and the management would not replace anything. There is about 10 plates you can use and a fridge but nothing else. 

I told them their website states they have these facilities and the staff just shrugged their shoulders. When I suggested they change the website details I just got fobbed off with a mumbled excuse about it being the managers job. 

When we arrived (mid August 2011) there was loads of stuff in the fridge that smelt pretty bad. It was still there when we left. I took a picture so if you happen to be staying and see any of this stuff, it's gonna really stink by now!

There is loads of ants in the dorm that the staff also weren't interested in hearing about. After 2 days one of us fell ill and wanted to leave for a quieter hostel. Despite having 4 nights left we apparently couldn't check out early and get any kind of refund. We were instead offered a private room for an extra €15 per night which was the tiniest, most depressing room I've ever seen. Just 2 single beds in what is closer in size to a cupboard than a bedroom. We declined their not very generous offer. 

Also we read online that this hostel is 5 minutes walk from the sea. Technically it is. However there is no beach there. The beach is a 45 minute ferry ride away which costs €5 per day. 

On the plus side, they do have free wifi and a laptop you can use. Plus because of the weird asking at reception to be let in thing, they have 24 hour check in and no curfew. 

Overall just stay away from this place unless you're really stuck, it's ok for 1 night or 2 at most. Probably just stay away from Faro altogether. It's boring, expensive, and not as friendly as other places in Portugal. 

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank deathinthehalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Faro hotels

Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

I'd read some terrible reviews. But if you want basic, low cost accomodation for a night or two stay here. It was a clean,cheap, friendly place to lay our heads & get a shower before & after Faro Rally. The location is superb for Faro center. Published pics are obviousy the best rooms,ours wer'nt as fancy but didnt expect them to be.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

This place is the pits.Described as inn its a hostel or mission as we were informed when i mentioned it wasnt an inn.our room had private bathroom which was used by everyone else.upon entry to our room there was a black bag on the window which didnt lock.lifted bin bag up to see the yard had dog feaces in which been there a good while and stank,lamp had no holder for a bulb tv didnt work noise terrable late at night couldnt wait to leave.booked 3 nights stayed one best thing about this place is the front door to get out of.stumbled upon the residential algarve hotel just round the corner from the inn what a world of difference.greeted by friendly staff rooms immaculate air con tv in english phone internet and loads of little personal touches private balcony breakfast inc in price which was very reasonable..so thank you residential algarve hotel for everything .we will be back very soon with somemore of our family to visit your wonderful country.

Room Tip: Stay away at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandSuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

We had originally booked in for 3 nights we checked in at 5.20pm to be told they had messed up our booking 20 mins later they finally found us a room, we were supposed to have a private bathroom opp our room that we could not use because other ppl were in there constantly.
There was fighting in the hall wall which in turn scared my mum, the window didn't have a latch so you could not lock it, there was black bin liners up at the window we locked out to see the yard was full of dog faeces which had been there so time.
the following morning at 9am we checked out and went to Residencial Algarve and now I am fighting for a refund from these ppl. pay that few extra euros and go else where this was nightmare from arriving to checking out if you book into here on your head so be it.

Room Tip: Stay Away is best tip i can give you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snugs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.1 km away
Apartamentos Vitoria
Apartamentos Vitoria
#16 of 27 in Faro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.2 km away
Guest House Capitao Mor
0.2 km away
Porta Doze Guesthouse
Porta Doze Guesthouse
#7 of 23 in Faro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Residencial Avenida
Residencial Avenida
#9 of 23 in Faro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.2 km away
Hostel 33
Hostel 33
#7 of 27 in Faro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.1 km away
Opus One Luxury Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Cost Inn Faro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Cost Inn Faro

Property: Low Cost Inn Faro
Address: Rua Teofilo Braga No 38/40/42, Faro 8000-438, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Faro
Hotel Class:2 star — Low Cost Inn Faro 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Low Cost Inn Faro Hotel Faro
Low Cost Inn Faro Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing