We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surf and Turf - lovely”
Review of Mar d'Fora

Mar d'Fora
Ranked #29 of 159 Restaurants in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 47
Restaurant details
A TripAdvisor Member
7
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We had lunch at this delightful restaurant. Ordered surf and turf which we were informed is only on dinner menu but they were very accommodating and said they would cook for us. My dish was spot on but my husband's steak was not cooked medium rare as request but they recooked the whole dish for him again which was perfect 2nd time around. My son had fish fingers and chips which he adored. The staff were very attentive without being intrusive. It's a pity we couldn't sit outside but that was due to the rain. Good wine selection and the restaurant itself is very spacious. Definitely going back before we leave carvoeiro

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vitor s, Guest Relations Manager at Mar d'Fora, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for your comments, we were sorry that your order wasnt cooked as requested but very glad we could resolve this. We appreciate that you have taken time to comment on our restaurant and look forward to seeing you again.
Costa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 42 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

This restaurant lives up to the fab reviews, perfect food served by professional knowledgeable waiters who also manage to put a personal touch on their service. Of all the restaurants in Carvoeiro this is up there at the top. The fish so fresh, well prepared and cooked to perfection. A dream. You need to visit as this is an experienced not to be missed.
Thank you all and see you on our next visit.

Thank MAGHAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vitor s, Guest Relations Manager at Mar d'Fora, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you very much for your visit, your comments are greatly appreciated and we look forward with pleasure to your next visit.
Costa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Lovely place, nice staff and food good enough but expensive.
We were there at sunset. Beautiful! Love it! Food good but not excellent!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank piaberglund1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vitor s, Guest Relations Manager at Mar d'Fora, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Thank you, piaberglund1664.
For your visit to Mar d' for a Restaurant.
Your comments have been noted.
We look forward to seeing you gain.
Costa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

What to say? The service low-key and relaxed. Wonderful people working here. The view is beyond... everything. Sit here at sunset and think about life. The food was perfect, as were the drinks. The only two drawbacks were: the scampi should be peeled and my filet mignon was well done, not rare, as requested. Otherwise, simply divine.

1  Thank April-Elin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vitor s, Guest Relations Manager at Mar d'Fora, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Dear sir,

Thank you for your visit to Mar d' fora, your comments have been noted, we apologize for your steak,but are pleased your visit was otherwise successful. We look forward to seeing you again.
Costa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

We went to Mar d'Fora with a recommendation from our hotel and we were very happy that we did. The restaurant sits on the top of a cliff and has an amazing view. I would highly recommend going there slightly before sunset and enjoying the view with a cocktail. The staff there is very friendly, they are very attentive and polite. And the food is great, especially the sea food. The prices are not cheap, but it is totally worth it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank onuralpaydas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vitor s, Guest Relations Manager at Mar d'Fora, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Thank you ;Onuralpaydas.
For your visit to Restaurant Mar d' fora.
We appreciate your comments.
Looking forwards to your next visit.
Costa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mar d'Fora also viewed

Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to Mar d'Fora? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing