We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful winter getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
pool terrace.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
pool terrace.
waterfall infinity pool Casa Limao entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
pool terrace.
waterfall infinity pool
Casa Limao entrance
sitting room
super king size bed
pool & 1 apartment entrance
twin bedroom
bathroom
Carvoeiro from cliff
Fully equipped kitchen
waterfall in to lower pool
sunset from the terrace.
antique pots and palm
Carvoeiro beach
Carvoeiro Street in the evening
Caves close to Carvoeio beach (see notes re boat trips from the beach)
Gardens at casa limao
T2 bathroom
Almond in Casa Limao garden
'pirate' boat trip along the coast
Gardens
Carvoeiro scene
Carvoeiro from the sea
Part of the garden at casa Limao
Evening beach walk!
Dolphin trip from Ferragudo
View from the arbour
Ferragudo church
side driveway
bathroom
Medieval Festival at Silves
Piri piri kebabs are local speciality
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carvoeiro, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
dannyboy2...
east yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Massive disappointment - totally overrated”
Reviewed 3 May 2011 for a stay in April 2011
4
people found this review helpful

A family of 4 we stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment having chosen Casa Limao due to the very good ratings on here. We could not have been more disappointed. The main issue was the sewerage smell in the bathroom - it really was disgusting at times. There was also a damp smell in the main bedroom which caused our clothes to stink. There was no light working in the hall and the ceiling light did not work in the twin bedded room which was off the hall. There was a table light in the twin bedded room that did work, however, it was hard to get to this in total darkness due to the non-working hall light. Additionally there was no wardrobe in the twin bedded room - all there was was a few coat hangers. The BBQ on the patio had not been cleaned after the previous use. This obviously should have been cleaned by who ever used it last but as this had not happened I would have expected the owners who live on site to clean it. The various seats and benches around the pool area appeared not to have been cleaned/cleaned underneath for a considerable time. The owners very large dog was also allowed to roam freely around the grounds even though it was obvious that we were not comfortable with this even thought it was not threatening. You also need to keep an eye out for dog mess in the driveway/parking area (unfortunately I didn't on the last day!). If you have a hire car it is also worth bearing in mind it is quite tricky turning/reversing within the grounds particularly if there are other guests with cars as the owners have 3 vehicles and the drive is quite narrow with a steep drop at one side. I realise that this review is at odds with the others on here some or all of which may relate to the 2 one bedroom units. Please be assured that we do not have unreasonable expectations and are not fussy. We just expect a place to be fit for purpose and this was definately not. I have travelled abroad extensively for 30 years averaging 3 trips a year and have often stayed in basic accommodation. This is without question the worst experience I have ever had.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don_Sandi
Deep River, Canada
1 review
“A wonderful winter getaway”
Reviewed 20 February 2011 for a stay in January 2011

We stayed in Karen & Dave's 2 bedroom apartment for a month. They are excellent hosts - friendly, knowledgable about the Algarve, and really wanting their guests to be at home and comfortable while staying with them.

Even though we stayed in the coolest part of the year, we loved the accommodations. The 2 bedroom had lots of space, and was very well equipped, from the well appointed kitchen to libraries of books, to good dvd selection. We can understand that this spot would be excellent in the hottest time of year - lots of ventilation, shade, and a great patio/pool area. We would suggest that people coming in the cool season bring appropriate clothes to be able to bundle up & stay warm when it gets cool (in evenings).

The location was excellent as well - only a 5 to 10 minute walk to shops & restaurants in town. There is a steep hill to walk, but we didn't experience any difficulty with this.

We can't say enough about how well Karen & Dave treated us. They told us of their favourite places to go in the region, & we were never disappointed when we went to these places. They also had really thorough knowledge of places to eat/drink at all price levels, and gave us great tips on finding the best value and quality chicken piri-piri and bifana restaurants. Karen shared jars of her marmelade and olives and other food with us. We feel we have made new friends in Portugal!

The only regret that we have from this trip is that some of Carvoeiro's highlights, like the Jailhouse Bar, were closed for holidays when we were there. We believe we would have enjoyed Bobby Stardust's music and showmanship even more than we enjoyed Dave's jokes & tales. On the other hand, since it was off-season, there weren't large crowds to negiotiate when we went out.

Thanks, Karen & Dave, for making our escape from frozen Canada so great.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Reviewed 10 November 2010 for a stay in September 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
siliqua
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay and Karen and Dave a delight as hosts”
Reviewed 3 November 2010 for a stay in October 2010

We travelled with our 2 teenage daughters knowing it was the end of the season. Never the less we really enjoyed Carveiro and especially the Villa Limao.
We had the 2 bedroom apartment which was really spacious with a wonderful luxurious bathroom. Every cooking facility you could want was provided and the welcome pack which Karen put together was lovely. Her home made coleslaw was fabulous.
There is a bakery at the end of the track which we visited every morning for breakfast, very handy. The track leading up would only be difficult if you have mobility problems. My family had no problem with it at all, so don't let that put you off.
I couldn't believe the lack of reviews on here, this is a stunning place and we will visit again in a heartbeat.
Karen and Mark have huge amounts of return guests which gives you an idea of the popularity of this place. Hugely helpful and obliging especially to our late leaving flight.
Don't miss out if you visit Carveiro, stay here !!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Reviewed 9 August 2010 for a stay in July 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: The hosts
Liked least: The hill to the villa
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing