We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (717)
Filter reviews
717 results
Traveller rating
168
344
150
36
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
344
150
36
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar plenty of sunbeds colour scheme air con bars and restaurants mini fridge towels changed daily good size the hotel is clean bar prices jacuzzi and sauna nice balcony the main square cold meats fresh fruit breakfast was excellent four star hotel
Filter
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 717 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2016

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with 7Ideas.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from a 10 night break at the Mirachoro. Ròoms: very clean and beds comfy. Good air con. Constant hot water. Only downside was the hairdryer which was really poor so would advise to take your own. Food: breakfast had a choice of foods to suit all. Lovely fresh bread and croissants. Great coffee. Dinner: Good choice of food which was all delicious. Staff: Ruth in the restaurant was very friendly and pleasant. Other staff members didn't look very happy; difficult to get a smile from them but I did try! Pool: plenty of sunloungers and pool was nice. We also used the sauna (good) and indoor jacuzzi (not working properly). Carvoiero is a beautiful little resort with lots of bars & restaurants to choose from. Found a great little bakery down the hill from hotel; very friendly owner who does all her own baking and told us best places to visit on the Algarve. There are some superb cliff top walks with stunning scenery. The Algar Seco is a great little walk along the cliffs back into carvoiero. Great holiday in a lovely hotel.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Can I start by saying we had a great stay here and a great holiday.

Being Scottish, where we don't get a lot of sun, our main reason for coming abroad several times during the dreicht months, is to top our Vitamin D.
Resort is amazing, scenic, quiet cafe culture during day, good restaurants with a few pubs with varying entertainment.

We had called ahead of leaving, for a room plan, to request a south or south west facing room, quite happy to pay a premium, as we enjoy sitting on our balcony on an evening. Told rooms are allocated on arrival! When we arrived rooms are pre-allocated??
Unfortunately there appeared a language barrier, in understanding our request,and deferring blame to people not present, apparently booking manager , hotel manager etc. are never present ("fawlty towers") and resulting in this slightly negative review.
Sadly, our room was terribly positioned, never got the sun, so should be a very cheap room in this hotel. It has a good distant view over pool. Hotel is U-shaped facing East, therefore left corner rooms (looking up from base of "U") in the "U" don't get any sun, shaded in morning by left leg of "U" and again in evening by right leg of "U".
This may not be the case in the height of summer.
What was inflaming was we could see a complete wall of unoccupied rooms facing South, rooms we would have preferred.
There must be fantastic sea views and enormous amounts of sun on south facing rooms, on right of "U", and on 3rd floor on left leg.

We were there in March, Easter, 2016, hotel appeared "empty" approx 25% occupancy and I was very disappointed in attitude of reception in moving our room.
Other guests complained about having to walk all the way round "U" to get to rooms at night as garden shortcut was closed, however I would have put up with that for a sunny balcony.
Other than that all staff were great, apart from grumpy old male receptionist. Plenty sunbeds. Bar staff delivered drinks and food to poolside.
I got impression hotel was well understaffed, and replenishments such as onions is weekly. This holiday, out of season, but Easter weekend, wasn't particularly cheap.

Cleaners seemed to arrive around 5pm at our room, when we were showering for night out, this means you don't get your room cleaned or towels changed.
Slight staff attitude problem. Breakfast staff seemed "crabbit" and got under pressure when a bus party arrived on Easter Sunday, but otherwise, none of that would put me off returning as long as my room location was guaranteed.

Generally clean and breakfast good. Regularly didn't have onions for snacks, 3 consec days??? Bar staff were brilliant! Couldn't do enough for you. Drinks prices very reasonable.
Carvoeiro, as a resort is great, if not in fact excellent, with easy access (well slight hill), lots of restaurants and pubs with good entertainment, excellent couples only or youmg family type of resort.
I will be coming back and would definitely consider this hotel again, but will need a guarantee room location confirmed.

Tip for management ( When quiet, particular in low season locate all guests in rooms with evening sun on balcony to get Fantastic reviews).

If you have already booked, don't fret you will have a good holiday, it is a well appointed hotel which is kept clean.

Room Tip: See review to explain, room location is very important to us!!
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank LordAlanCardwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

Once again a lovely stay at the hotel with many friends & lots of lovely people around the pool!! Just a couple of miserable 1's that surely can't afford 5* adult only hotels as seem to pull the faces at a slight murmour!! Unfortunately nobody can pick hotels & not expect to get perfect people all the time!! There was groups of men of different ages that swore on several occasions but I don't pretend to be a snob! Like I say up your *** I visit the hotel several times a year so watch out lol.. Some of the people around the pool that our friends got to chat will be joining the wedding later in the day for a celebration drink,that's how some nice people relax & enjoy each other.. Also get your destination's correct!! North Yorkshire haha.. A couple of minor hiccups around the pool this time but when addressed with staff at hotel,they acted immediately!! Fab hotel with fantastic staff.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank JBCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews