We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Certificate of Excellence
Rhoose, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We were here for 3 nights in a twin room with sea-view. The room is modern, clean and spacious. The bathroom likewise.

The hotel itself is an old building, but is well maintained and in a perfect location. There is a nice bar with stunning sea views. The restaurant has similar views. Breakfast, buffet style, was plentiful in choice, quantity and quality.

There is free WiFi in the bar, but had to be paid for in the rooms.

There is a nice sized pool (heated when we were there) and private access to the beach.
Don’t ask reception to borrow and iron and ironing board – they only exist in the suites. Everyone else has to use the paid for maid/laundry service. Tip – take a travel iron!

Only grumble – There was no hot water one morning which they couldn’t fix before we had to leave for the airport = quick cold shower! :-)

Nice place – I’d stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stevemhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    350
    153
    49
    22
See reviews for
158
563
43
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My wife and I returned home to Yorkshire yesterday after 11 lovely days at The Holiday Inn,Armacao de Pera, Algarve. It was a welcome escape from the horrible UK weather. The hotel is modern having recently been refurbished. We had a fabulous sea view,well worth paying for. The food was excellent especially on the two occasions we did a free dinner exchange with the Raj Indian restaurant in the hotel. You only have to pay for a drink whereas in the main dining room the wine is free. The staff were very helpful especially Claudia on front desk. Nothing was too much trouble. The safe was free which is unusual in Europe. We had half board and the food was very good but next time we go we will probably go bed and breakfast so we can try the local places to eat. The swimming pool outside is always heated,but it is a bit cool when you get out. We were lucky with the weather. It was brilliant sunshine every day but was cold in the morning and evenings. There was no entertainment which didn't worry us. The hotel was about two thirds empty for some reason and the guests were mainly OAPs like us apart from a few golfers. This meant that there was no queuing for the restaurant or the bar and our room was cleaned before 10am. The drinks are a bit pricey so try the happy hour between 6.30 and 7.30pm,40% cheaper. The water dog bar over the road is very reasonable and the owner Charlie, makes you feel very welcome. There is free wifi in the lounge and bar which I found handy for sending and receiving family emails.
All in all a welcome winter break. PS BBC1,Sky news,Sky sport and Euro sport on tele.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view on a high floor. Perfect peace and tranquility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank craigcar0lpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for reviewing our Hotel here - we are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday, and very much appreciate your comments.

We hope it is not too long before we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Algarve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Very nice hotel right on the beach. They have a wonderful pool that overlooks the ocean. A pool bar delivers food and drink to your lounge chair. They have a large buffet breakfast for 10 Euro per person. There are many restraints and shops close by. The only problem is there is only two people to a room so not good for families. The hairdresser at the hotel is very good and reasonable price.

Room Tip: Ocean view room has balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 1tennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank you for reviewing our Hotel here on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments. We do has some larger rooms which which are suitable for families - please contact us if you would like information about them.

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okehampton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Armacao de Pera unfortunately has a dog problem with resulting mess all over the walkways, dogs roaming around the town and on the beach and not on a lead are a common sight and rather spoils the town especially after the seafront has been made a virtually traffic free area ,It is a pity that the turismo office does not seem to be aware of this problem with the detrimental effect it has on the towns image .Having said that the Holiday Inn Algarve is an oasis of peace and tranquility amongst all of this.
We arrived around 20.00. from the airport at Faro and received a friendly welcome from Fatima who was on reception we had our room card very quickly and were delighted with the room, recently refurbished with bright welcoming decor, the twin beds were comfortable.We chose not to eat in the hotel restaurant preferring to try the restaurants by the fishermans beach, the breakfast was very good with everything you would expect from the Holiday Inn absolutely no detrimental complaints regarding the Algarve Holiday Inn

Room Tip: Specify a sea view when booking,worth the extra for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank mjhOkehampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

My partner and I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn in Armação de Pêra. We made the mistake of not booking any transfer to the hotel from Faro airport and decided that we would catch the train and then walk from the nearest train station to the hotel. The website says that the closest train station is Alcantarilha, but it fails to say how far from this station that the hotel actually is. Once we got off the train from Faro (45min train ride), and walked out of the train station, there was a sign saying Armação de Pêra was down this particular road. It took us 6km of walking at dusk before we even got to a town where we could ask for directions. A man was kind enough to take us the rest of the way, another 4km. But in all honesty, this isn't the hotels fault, it was our fault for not researching the area more and finding other means of transport.
Once we finally arrived at the hotel, check in was easy and we were straight up to our clean room, 422 (hidden at the end of a corridor, the room numbers next to ours being 410, 411, 412). We didn't ask for an ocean view room, but it was an extra EURO35/night at the time of booking. You can get an amazing view by sitting in the bar or by the pool which costs nothing. Our room was kept clean for the duration of our stay. We did have some issues with the bathroom door handle, this being that it came completely off. We told reception and they had it fixed by that afternoon. We also had to have the key to our room reset on 3 separate occasions because it just wouldn't let us in our room.
We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant, two of the six nights, which was good but expensive. There are heaps of little restaurants within a 5 minute walk that were more than half the price.
The FREE buffet breakfast was a major hit! They had a great range of breakfast food available. From cereals to baked beans, bacon and eggs, roast tomatoes, mushrooms, fresh fruit, bread for toasting, pastries and cakes.
As we went in January, there weren't any trips running. This ranged from fishing trips to a boat ride along the coast line to see the caves. But again, this is not the fault of the hotel. The hotel went to the trouble in calling a few places to get prices and operating times.
So there wasn't a great deal to do but to lie by the pool in the sun or go for walks along the beach and cliffs. But the weather to do this was perfect!
We enjoyed sitting in the bar each afternoon at 3.30pm for complimentary cakes and biscuits, while testing the cocktails!
Lots of retired and older people frequent this hotel, so if you are young and wanting something a bit more wild and rowdy, then staying here mightn't be what you are looking for. But we are a young couple and found it relaxing and peaceful, which is what we were after!
All in all, we had a fantastic time! Next time we go, we might try going closer to the summer when more of the attractions are operating.

Room Tip: Room 422 was fine. You could still see the ocean from the balcony, just not a full ocean front view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MoniquiMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Thank you very much for posting here on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry to hear about your journey from the train station - following your feedback we will amend our website.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope it is not too long before we have the opportunity to welcome you back here again.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armacao de Pera
27.5 km away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lagos
3,147 reviews
0.5 km away
Vila Gale Nautico
Vila Gale Nautico
#1 of 9 in Armacao de Pera
1,341 reviews
14.5 km away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 75 in Portimao
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 km away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,069 reviews
0.2 km away
Rosamar 1 Aparthotel
Rosamar 1 Aparthotel
#4 of 9 in Armacao de Pera
69 reviews
1.7 km away
Be Live Family Palmeiras Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera

Property: Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Address: Avenida Marginal, Armacao de Pera 8365-909, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Garbe)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Armacao de Pera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,376 - ₹ 18,399
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in the sun, take leisurely strolls on the beach or are looking for something more active, the Holiday Inn Algarve, formerly known as Hotel Garbe, is the perfect choice. Commanding a prime beachfront position with stunning panoramic views over the bay of the Algarvean village of Armaçao de Pera, the hotel lies within strolling distance of shops, restaurants and entertainment. The holiday Inn Algarve is one of the best located Armaçao de Pera accommodations. It is also an excellent base from which to explore the Algarve, with regular bus services to nearby towns and villages. From almost every angle guests enjoy breathtaking ocean views of the sparkling Atlantic. Direct access from the hotel leads straight on to the magnificent sandy beach, one of the longest in the Algarve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Algarve Hotel
Garbe Hotel Armação De Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao De Pera Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing