We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 1 week stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Maritur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Maritur
Ranked #59 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great 1 week stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

22 year old couple just returned from a brilliant one week stay at this hotel. The area it is located in is quiet, but we were actually pleased about it. 5 minutes walk from a beautiful little cove and beach with a wonderful seafood place (i really recommend you try their sardines!). Hotel is about a 10-15 minutes walk from the marina where there are a few more places to eat and you can get a cruise around the caves and coastline from there which we loved. Will cost you about €6 - €9 to get to the Old Town or New Town by taxi, which we didnt feel was too bad and there you can find some good shops and restaurants and have a good night out in various bars.

We went for full breakfast which was your usual continental breakfast; bread, fruit, cheeses, cold meats, pastries and cereals. You could request eggs (made to your specific requirements), sausages and bacon which we did every morning as they were fantastic! The restaurant for lunch and dinner was fairly priced and the food was pretty good. I must say the restaurant staff and general hotel staff were fantastic, extremely hospitable and friendly, dealing with every request promptly with a smile on their faces.

There were 2 outdoor pools and one indoor, the indoor one was in a pretty badly lighted room and usually empty. There was also an indoor jacuzzi which to be fair was pretty poor in quality with half of the jets not working. The outdoor pools were not very big but they were nice enough and you could always find a nice spot to chill and soak up some sun.

The rooms were a very good size, with a very nice spacious balcony and bathroom. We got the queen bed room which dissapointingly was actually two single beds pushed together, one of the very few complaints about this hotel. There was also nothing in the bedroom mini fridge.

Wonderful relaxing beach holiday with some great nights out on the town. Quad biking up the mountains was a fun activity as well as the caves cruise and there are a few water parks to visit. All in all, Hotel Maritur provided us a perfect break, especially for such a good price! Special compliments again to the hotel staff, wonderful people!

Room Tip: Sea view room recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TA14_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear TA14_14 Let me begin by returning your compliments back to you, and to thank you for taking the time to write such a generous review of our Hotel as well. We are sincerely glad that you found our showcooking during the breakfast fantastic. Its a recent procedure in our breakfast, and it pleases us very much to see that it is accomplishing its goal: the exceeding of our guests's expectations.
Concerning your compliments on the large rooms and the bedding, allow me to tell you first hand that we are adding more queen/double beds to the rooms; some of the rooms are being upgraded in this regard as we speak! It will take some time, but rest assured that your and other guests's concerns have been heard.
Regarding the mini fridge, perhaps we may have failed to inform you at the check in that all of them are empty ; there are however, several items on a request basis on a form that we hand over at our reception at the check in. Perhaps this information was something we overlooked at your check in, and for that I apologise.

Should you ever return to the Algarve, let me know. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our Hotel.

Best Regards,
Fernando Augusto
director@hotelmaritur.com
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    113
    52
    21
    10
See reviews for
57
156
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We are a 22 and 26 year old couple and just got back from a weeks stay at the hotel and we had such a great time! The area is very quiet there is only a bar, small supermarket and chinese down the road and that is about it! its about a 5-10 minute drive out of the town, a taxi costs around €9 to get there. you can get the bus every hour which costs €2.20 but you have to change halfway. the hotel need to make this more clearer as we ended up at the bus station the first time we tried and then had to get another ticket!

its a 5 minute walk to the beach, there is a choice of a small beach or one a bit bigger, 2 of the most beautiful beaches you will find and so much better than the main albufeira beach. they both have a lovely bar next to them where you can buy drinks/lunch.

we went half-board and the food was really nice, you have the choice of a buffet of food in the morning with fresh fruit, meat and cereals. you can also order a cooked breakfast of eggs, sausages and bacon which was fantastic.

the evening meal was a choice of a meat and fish with vegetables, salad and potatoes/rice. there wasn't much to choose from but the standard of food is excellent. special compliments to both ladies who cook breakfast and dinner they were both so friendly and polite, a real credit to the hotel. we asked the lady who cooks in the evening to come home with us she's that good!

there are 3 pools, 2 outside which were freezing cold most of the time but grab yourself a bat and ball and you get used to the temperature after a while! the other was inside that nobody used as its so dark and dingy in that room! you could make a horror movie in there! the pools outside could have been cleaned a little better or a lot more frequently.

all the staff working at the hotel are brilliant, they all speak perfect english and will do anything for you but there is no entertainment at all in the evening. there is a 5* hotel down the road that we went to a few evenings as there is much more atmosphere there and entertainment on a few evenings (you have to check out this hotel! it is amazing!) there is a bar in the maritur but it is not used much. they need to put a bell on the bar and a few menu's as you have to wait for someone to come from the reception part next door.

overall the hotel is great if you want a nice relaxing beach holiday but not if you want something more lively. it was perfect for us as we just needed a week away in the sun and for such a cheap price we would not hesitate to go back to this hotel. thanks for a lovely time maritur!

also be sure to check out zoomarine (around €25 return trip in a taxi) and slide and splash waterpark (transfer available from bus stop if you buy ticket from reception), both fantastic!

Room Tip: make sure you get a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Emily R Thank you so very much for the taking the time to review our Hotel, and for the great photos you posted. Of the many things that can be said about Hotels, very few are as rewarding as a simple "thank you" for the day to day efforts of its staff. First and foremost, hospitality is made by people for people, and I will personally make sure our kitchen and restaurant staff are aware of your kind words.
Concerning the pools, the Algarve is blessed with the most hours of light per day in Europe and during the day, we choose to use the brilliant sun as the indoor pool's lighting source. We will however, study your comments regarding this internally and re-evaluate if required.
Should you ever considerer returning to sunny Albufeira in the future, feel free to contact me at anytime.

Kind Regards,

Fernando Augusto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed here for one night but booked 2 weeks as we thought it wasn't too far from the town centre and near a beach, restaurants etc. on the day of our arrival we had a look around and it was very very quiet. None of the restaurants were open, it's in a resedantial area. The "beach" was very disappointing covered in litter and not much sand. The room was ok, quite small and very dated. Balcony good size but swimming pools looked tiny! No one was there, was far too quiet.

We decided to look elsewhere because it certainly wasn't what we expected. Definitely a hotel for the more mature guests as there was literally nothing to do, had a hire car about a 15 min drive to main centre. I would not class the hotel as **** because it was dated, lacking any personality and not well equipped (no kettle in room either)
So if you are looking for a hotel quite far from it all with not wanting to do much it would suit. We then went to sbest lose to the town centre, much better as could walk to a choice of stunning beaches, restaurants, bars etc.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear L240 Thank you for your review. Regarding your observations, allows us to inform that our location is 3 KM away from the town center and the main downtown area; that location is quite visible on the main Map applications on the web and in our own website, so if you were looking for an hotel close to the busy & noisy nightlife of Albufeira we are sorry that we weren't able to deliver on that expectation, even though the Hotel is extremely well connected to the center via the bus stop. We would also like to thank you for noting the quietness of our Hotel - we strive to provide our guests with quietness and relaxation. Even though the Hotel does get quietter during the day that is because most of our guests spend the entire day on the 2 beaches that are within walking distance of the Hotel.
Regarding the kettles, indeed we have no kettles in the room, but we do have them upon request on our Reception.
Finally, we are sorry we were not able to fullfill your expectations, but perhaps we were not the type of Hotel you were looking for. Should you eventually look for a quiet, relaxing, and out of the main area Hotel if you return to Albufeira, we are more than happy to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,
Fernando Augusto
director@hotelmaritur.com
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

My brother and I visited this hotel 24 June for four nights and i advise you to ignore any negative reviews you might tread for this hotel - those that have something to complain about at this hotel will always find something to complain about!
The hotel is what it is and does it very well. It is effeciently and well run, is friendly, peaceful and quiet, spotlessly clean and well equipped. If you're looking for a hotel that throws entertainment at you then go elsewhere. There's no music nor bar at the poolside but this brings a peaceful and relaxing environment and less kids! (you can get drinks form the bar and take down to pool if you desire)
We only stayed B&B but the breakfast was great quality - you want 5* star food then go and pay 5* prices. There is nothing wrong with the selection and quality of food at breakfast here.
We ate at the Pizza restaurant one evening and agin nothing bad to report
The room was one of the best i've stayed in anywhere in Mediterranean Europe and the bathroom was decorated and equipped to a standard that would embarrass most UK hotels
Taxi's to the centre of Albufiera cost approx. Eu6 each way and take less than 10 mins but this is worth it for the peace and tranquillity you get from been slightly out of town
So that's it - book it, get there, chill and relax

Room Tip: Don't be disappointed if you can only get a land view room - very quiet and pleasing views eithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1962RN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear R N Thank you very much for the taking the time to review your stay in our company. It is our goal as an hotel to make sure we do our very best in fullfilling the expectations we create to our guests: from our off centre location, our relaxed and friendly approach to hospitality and the value for money our Hotel represents, all things considered. One thing that we cannot emphasize enough is the sheer size of our rooms, its bathrooms and balconies. We are very glad that you noticed it, and shared it with the world.
Should you ever come back to Portugal and to the Algarve, let me know. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back to our Hotel.
Kind Regards,
Fernando Augusto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

The room I stayed in was very big and clean. The hotel is close to 2 wonderful beaches and the Marina. I enjoyed my stay, the staff was very friendly and since I was travelling alone they would always have a little chat with me and they were very helpful too.
Very relaxed atmosphere so if you want a nice relaxing stay with lots of sun and beautiful beach 3 minutes away from you door - this is a place for you!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B_Vaida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear B_Vaida Thank you for your kind words toward our Hotel, its location and our staff. I will personally make sure they are aware of your feedback. If you decide to revisit the Algarve - and you should as there's more to it than meets the eye - , feel free to contact me at anytime should you need anything.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our company.

Kind regards,
Fernando Augusto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.9 km away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#3 of 3 in Sesmarias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
7.3 km away
Velamar Boutique Hotel
Velamar Boutique Hotel
#11 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.6 km away
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Sao Rafael Atlantico
#1 of 3 in Sesmarias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
#37 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
3.1 km away
Vila Gale Atlantico
Vila Gale Atlantico
#31 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
2.2 km away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maritur? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maritur

Property: Hotel Maritur
Address: Urbanizacao de Sao Rafael, Albufeira 8200-613, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#39 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,000 - ₹ 12,001
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maritur 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Maritur offers outdoor and a heated indoor swimming pool, and spacious rooms with furnished balconies. It takes a 5-minute walk to reach Praia de Sao Rafael Beach or the nearby Arrifes Beach.All air-conditioned rooms have TV with satellite channels and a work desk, and each one boasts marble bathrooms fitted with amenities. Free Wi-Fi is available in the rooms.At Maritur, guests can take work-out in the gym or relax in the on-site hot tub. A game of tennis can be enjoyed on the sports courts.Hotel Maritur's restaurant serves Mediterranean specialities including seafood delicacies, and a pizzeria is also available on site. Guests can unwind with a glass of local wine on the poolside terrace.Maritur Hotel is 3 km from Albufeira city centre. The hotel is located 800 metres from Albufeira's Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Maritur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Albufeira
Albufeira Best Western
Best Western Maritur
Hotel Maritur Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing