We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A good hotel, but with a few downsides” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of PortoBay Falesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
PortoBay Falesia
Ranked #4 of 161 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A good hotel, but with a few downsides”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We spent part of our honeymoon at this hotel and stayed there 7 nights. I will try in a few words to highlight the positives and negatives regarding our stay.
I will start with the "strong points":
The beautiful scenery, the rich choice for breakfast (although every morning for 7 mornings were the same type of dishes; MANY dishes you could choose from but still the same every morning) with many fresh fruits and champagne, very good swimming pool (both indoor and outdoor), and the most helpful and friendly staff I've ever met in all my other trips, from the waiters serving breakfast to the reception. I must say that from the reception, Ms Malika made us feel like we were really checked at a four, even five star hotel, helping us with the trips available from the hotel, and in general with all we needed in order to have a unforgettable honeymoon.
And now with the weak points:
The entertainment for young people (I'm 30 and my wife 27) in NON EXISTENT from my point of view; no evening activities, no shows by the pool, no nothing.
The room seemed a bit old, scratches on the wall (I was in room 407), etc but the most ANNOYING thing of all: Sometimes from the bathroom came an awful smell... like a full sewer. We had to open the windows in order to be able to stay in the room.
Having in mind that this review is only about Porto Bay and not about Olhos de Agua, I will not say anything about the surrounding restaurants, and other places; just that we were again disappointed. NOT A SINGLE way to have fun... no entertainment whatsoever.
Take the trip to Seville from the reception. At only 32 EUR/person, worth every cent.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alexandru S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you very much for your review and comments. The hotel offers daily evening live music at the main Bar and two shows a week, evening live music at the outdoor restaurant and lounges and a daily entertainment with games & relaxed activities, we try to please all ages but sometimes it is difficult to conciliate all. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,256
    623
    115
    21
    8
See reviews for
390
1,310
60
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We have just returned from our stay at Porto Bay Falesia which was thoroughly enjoyable with no complaints whatsoever. Everything about this hotel is first class. The staff are professional and very friendly and willing to go that extra mile. This is our second holiday with the Porto Bay Group and looking forward to our next stay at these excellent hotels.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ossie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous holiday at the Porto Bay Falèsia Hotel, in Quinta do Milharo, on the Algarve in Portugal. After our seven day visit we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone interested in a stunning location, supported by well trained and polite staff and excellent food. For us, breakfast was a grand event as we could not resist the selection of fresh fruits, freshly baked breads and a full array of cooked “English style” breakfasts. We only booked for bed and breakfast as we wanted to experience the local restaurants and found several that we would recommend. The town is just a two minute walk away offering shops, cafes, restaurants and supermarkets. The hotel is modern, light and airy, extremely clean and is situated on the rugged cliffs overlooking a stretch of beautiful sandy beaches. The beaches are only a short walk away, but be prepared for the steep stairway down the side of the cliff. We had a garden view room for a few days and were then able to upgrade to a sea view for the rest of our stay. The panoramic vistas and the view of the endless sandy beach from our fifth floor balcony were certainly worth the extra money.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms offer fabulous views of the beach and cliffs and well worth the extra cost. Highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you very much for your review and nice photos. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

We knew this would be a great escape from grey skies in Britain as soon as we arrived. The air in late October was warm and the reception area cool, spacious and welcoming in an understated way, which I prefer to the showy thorough fare at the RUI!
Our room, booked last minute did not look out to sea but was high enough to give a pleasant view and was quiet. More importantly the room was VERY clean, airy and had a comfortable bed! Thank goodness we did not book a villa as breakfast on the terrace, looking out to sea really made the holiday-helped by a daily glass of sparkling wine! We loved walking slowly down the steps to the beach, along the beach and over the cliffs and down to other local beaches. Apart from an incident with a wasp (now dead) we had a very relaxing time. Food was not exceptional but was tasty, hot and fresh-ideal in fact for 2 very fussy eaters. A pizza and salad from room service was extremely good value for money and simply divine. I know this sounds a bit Mills and Boon but this is the effect it had after a disappointing Summer holiday in Crete. It must have been good as we like to visit new places but we are going again in August.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dougal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We are so glad that we trusted previous reviews on Trip Advisor as this is an excellent hotel. The building, grounds and location make this a perfect place to relax and enjoy The Algarve. The hotel was full and we were unable to upgrade to a sea view as we'd hoped but the room was so good that it didn't actually matter at all. Outside the pool area with it's bar and its additional slightly hidden lounger areas were very well maintained & clean. We missed the yoga and/or other classes on the lawn each day but did manage to use the tennis court and didn;t mind paying a little extra for this.
The biggest plus point for the Porta Bay Falesia during our stay was the staff. They were, with out exception, all prepared to go that extra mile to make sure our holiday was the best it could be. They were extremely helpful, knowledgable and cheerful - thank you and we hope to return soon.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the gardens at the front and although we would have prefered a sea view, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at PortoBay Falesia, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.8 km away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
1.7 km away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
3.3 km away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 7 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.3 km away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 7 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
2.2 km away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#9 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Falesia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Falesia

Property: PortoBay Falesia
Address: Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#4 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,680 - ₹ 16,981
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Falesia 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands overlooking Praia da Falesia in the charming town of Olhos de Agua, close to Albufeira in the Algarve. Surrounded by abundant green areas, the hotel enjoys direct access to the sea and the exceptional 8km long beach which is washed by the clear, calm waters of the Algarve sea. After a refreshing drink at the waters edge, a reviving plunge in one of the pools, a trip to the beach, a game of tennis or an invigorating massage, sit back and enjoy one of the Algarves most beautiful views from one of the hotel's restaurants. Make the most of your holidays to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your PortoBay Falesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Falesia Albufeira
PortoBay Falesia Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing