We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Holiday Despite The Weather”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #24 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely Holiday Despite The Weather”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Just returned from an Easter break at PC, had a mixed bag of weather but we still enjoyed the visit enough to exted our stay for a few extra days...

Due to the weather rendering the outdoor pool impossibly cold on most days we did make use of the indoor pool which was very nice.

We stayed in a two bedroomed apartment which like the last visit was immaculate, but my one gripe has to be about the housekeeping which started off good but declined throughout the holiday. The cleaning was done far too late in the day sometimes at 4pm and despite two complaints to reception this did not improve. Some days we were given huge towels and others small ones and generally the standard of cleaning was just not up to scratch. The nightly turndown happened some times but not always and again was not up to scratch on most of the nights.

My second gripe is the Easter Egg hunt organised by the hotel, it was free and a lovely idea but please, next year either limit the age or have one for the small children and one for the older children, my kids were lucky enough to bag a few but lots of little ones running around upset with empty bags and lots of teenagers with bags and bags of eggs!

One highlight of the trip was breakfast, the team including the chefs were fantastic and ensured we had everthing we wanted, the food was fresh and beautifuly presented each morning and staff were welcoming and friendly, despite the weather they helped get our day off to a great start!

Also evening drinks, special thanks to Paolo in the bar for great service which always got our evenings off to a great start.

I did visit the Spa again and again experienced some mediocre treatments which included a massage, facial and french manicure, all of which were just okay. Since this was my second visit I think its safe to rank The Spa as average.

We ate out alot during this trip, mainly because we could not sit outside due to the temperature, the places we did eat at on the resort were at The Grill and Piri Pir and whilst the food was reasonable it was overpriced. Of the local restaurants we ate at our best ones were Akvavit in Vilamoura Harbour and Tres Palmeres in Albufera (see seperarte reviews).

If you are visiting and self catering note that the supermarket directly in front of the resort is open again, good choice at a fraction of the price of The Deli within the resort, it is lovely but limited and overpriced, the frozen food section only had chips, lasagne and fish fingers ! Best use it for luxury or emergencies.

In general, Pine Cliffs has to be one of the best resorts in the Algarve, the ameneties are great and for the children include tennis, golf (mini and range) indoor and outdoor swimming, a beach and kids clubs,there is also bike hire. Importantly it also feels very safe for the kids (7 and 9) to wander around a bit but you do pay through the teeth. The fact that Pine Cliffs are displaying the latest Trip Avisor rating as 4.5 stars speaks volumes... 5 star prices for 4.5 star service ? That will lead to dissapointment for a lot of visitors.

We probably will return but not at the 720 euro a night which we paid last summer it is great but it's just not that great.

Room Tip: Taxis organised by the hotel are shockingly more expensive than ringing one yourself, if you find a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TraceyFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Executive at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Mr.\Mrs.

Thank you for your contribution on Tripadvisor.

Your comments are extremely valuable to us and they motivate us to continue to improve our services and to create lifetime memories.

We look forward to welcome you again at our Resort.

Kind regards,

Rita Ferreira
Guest Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    215
    69
    24
    20
See reviews for
459
125
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Firstly, we stayed here with our two young children (8 months and 2 years), so our experience was very much influenced by our circumstances. My first gripe was that our 2 year old could easily open the locked door of the appartment, so we ended up barricading ourselves in at night! Secondly as we went during low season (March) virtually none of the kids' facilities were running - including the train - so we had an approx. half mile walk from our appartment to the main building (which was a bit of a pain as we only had 1 pushchair). And as others have mentioned you have to pay for cots and high chairs so we took our own travel cot. As for the hotel itself, the heated swimming pools were not really warm enough for young children and the indoor pool requires you to wear swimming hats! Finally there was no shop onsite where you could buy basic groceries, which would have been a help in a self-catering appartment. On the positive side, the appartment was lovely and very spacious, and the kitchen well equipped. The beach was close enough to walk to (but be aware, there are a lot of steps) and the pirate play area was enough to keep our 2 year old fairly occupied. I think if we had gone during high season I may have given them 4* as there did appear to be a lot to do when it is all up and running. In summary I would say that it is a fairly decent hotel but I would not rate it as a 5* resort.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Executive at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Mr.\Mrs.

Thank you for your contribution on Tripadvisor.

Your comments are extremely valuable to us and they motivate us to continue to improve our services and to create lifetime memories.

We look forward to welcome you again at our Resort.

Kind regards,

Rita Ferreira
Guest Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Great location and wonderful place to stay. The staff were charming and service was second to none. Cannot fault this place at all. There is a great champagne bar that sits out over the cliff... only fault here is that you cannot get glasses of champagne only bottles.. but heh... However drinking a glass of anything with such stunning views and watching the sunset is truly magnificent. There is also a private lift that takes you down the cliff to beach level and its a short walk from the lift along a wooden walkway to reach the beach itself. Lovely!!
We staying in an apartement during our stay there and it was just perfect, lovely views of the golf course, all the kitchen equipement needed, TV in all rooms, large and spacious living accomodation. Really there are no complaints for Pinecliff at all !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WWtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Executive at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Mr./Mrs.,

At Starwood properties \ Pine Cliffs Resort we highly value your feedback which enables us to maintain the high standards of our Resort.

We are glad to learn that we were able to provide you a most enjoyable stay.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rita Ferreira
Guest Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridel, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We just came back from our one week holiday in Albufeira, Sheraton Algarve Pine Cliffs Resort. We had been spending an excellent week in a magnificient resort. The whole family is plying golf and the resort course was just fine for all four of us. The Golf Academy did offer everything we just wished!
The room (appartment) was very nice and very clean.
The food, the restaurants were all very good and of good quality.
What we did like the most: The professionalism, the service and the hospitality. The staff is always trying to make you feel comfortable and trying to assist you.
The resort, the gardens, the golf course,....we did like everything. Many outdoor swimming pools and a nice indoor swimming pool.
With kids (7 and 12 years) it was just very convenient!
We had a great week! Except the weather......quite fresh and rainy for the season.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms within the main hotel or the new apartments (golf suites) S1 - S10. The houses with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GS-LUX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Executive at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Mr.\Mrs.,

At Starwood properties \ Pine Cliffs Resort we highly value your feedback which enables us to maintain the high standards of our Resort.

We are glad to learn that we were able to provide you a most enjoyable stay.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rita Ferreira
Guest Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We're currently staying in this 5 star hotel where you pay 7.50 per hour for wifi! I complained so far no response! We are moving into the town houses a day earlier than planned and money we had paid (100% non refundable in fairness) simply "couldn't be" transferred to our new bill where are staying an extra 8 nights! because of different ownership and complications in cross billing etc etc!!!! Moreover they charge 13 euro per day for a baby's cot and they won't give you sheets or blankets or pillows because its a security risk but its not a problem in the hotel!!!!! When i asked for some leniency they gave me one cot for free (in compensation for the night we won't stay in the hotel!) and the reservations lady even told me what 8 multiplied by 13 was to show me what a good deal i was getting! In fairness its a nice place. the beach is great. the kids club is good (@60 euro for a half day but that includes lunch!!!!) and the staff are very attentive. Its not the money as you expect to pay when you stay in a 5 star but its just the feeling of getting ripped off.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Executive at Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Mr.\Mrs.

Thank you for your contribution on Tripadvisor.

Your comments are extremely valuable to us and they motivate us to continue to improve our services and to create lifetime memories.

We look forward to welcome you again at our Resort.

Kind regards,

Rita Ferreira
Guest Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
1.2 km away
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
0.6 km away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
0.6 km away
Pine Cliffs Ocean Suites, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 km away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
1.3 km away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#7 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
18.6 km away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-909, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#13 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#13 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#19 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,576 - ₹ 49,203
Hotel Class:5 star — Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the renowned Pine Cliffs Resort, Pine Cliffs Residence (Voted Portugal's Leading Family Resort) offers its guest the privacy two or three bedroom residence suites abundantly equipped with all modern day appliances and comfort with breathtaking views over the scenic golf course. This exclusive resort provides an array of activities for all ages, including world-class golf course, five tennis courts and swimming pools, spa treatments, kids' club and private access to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Cliffs Residence Hotel Albufeira
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing