We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Velamar Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Velamar Boutique Hotel
Ranked #11 of 161 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We had a great holiday, the rooms are cleaned everyday, the staff are very friendly and helpful. 2 lovely beaches nearby and some great restaurants, The pool is only small but whilst we were there they had a delivery of new sunbeds, we didnt find it difficult to get a sunbed by the pool. Old town is lovely approx 8 mins away via taxi 8 euros. We decided not to hire a car this time as we just wanted.a lazy holiday and thats what we had. I would return but I would hire a car next time as I am sure there are lots of lovely places to explore. Thank you Velamar for a lovely restful holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    378
    94
    12
    12
See reviews for
164
736
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

I booked five rooms for my family well in advance based on TA reviews. When we arrived every special request was filled up and staff was more than helful changing my father and brother from their rooms, in specifically becasue they are bothersome complaining all the time about every small detail. Highly reccomended!!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with balcony. Even the rooms facing the road are nice as they have double windows. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ArmandoCorreaPinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

The hotel price is great and you can't beat it. The staff is so helpful and friendly. The free breakfast is amazing. The lunch spot near the pool is just as great and it's cheap. The pool does the job nothing spectacular but quiet and clean. Quick walk to a beach but not in the centre of partying, bars, etc.. so if you want excitement don't stay here you will have to always take the bus or cab and they don't come often. It's a quiet, simple place. Major flaw is no wi-fi anywhere but the lobby and lobby bar so you're stuck in those areas a lot of the time. Restaurant O Assador a few doors down is amazing and one of the best you will find. Rooms are good, big beds!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very suitable. The rooms are clean and have everything you need. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. For example, we booked parasailing however, when we woke up the sky was grey and the winds strong. We were nervous and the parasailing company made us uncomfortable and told us we couldn't cancel. The hotel was VERY accommodating. They let us back out and said they would deal with the company- that was a classy move, hats off the nice man working the front desk that day. The food at lunch was excellent and the pool- although small - did the job. The breakfast itself is great.

The cons: no Internet in rooms. I like to respond to work emails at night in bed. It is a little far from the beach and town if that is important to you. My main con, the noise from the breakfast room above our room, it is noisy and my ear plugs didn't do the trick. Finally, the beds are very hard- and I like hard beds.

Overal the service makes up for the drawbacks. Try and get a room that isn't directly below the breakfast room. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeremyFromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

The hotel is in Olghas de Agua which is a small fishing village away from the hype of Albufiera. It has plenty of bars and restaurants of good quality and is located close to the beach. Therefore you do not need to go into the hussle and bussle that to me is the "Blackpool of Portugal"

The hotel is well maintained and has a small pool with sun loungers. The rooms are spacious, very well maintained but a little in need of some modernisation in terms of interior furnishings.

The breakfast provided was delcious, freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh chopped up fruits, yoghurts, cereals and a selection of breads and pastries. All really welll done.

There are two beaches to go to near this hotel, the main one that is at the bottom of the village close to Fratelli Pizzeria is very busy, but there is another one a little bit further along. You can if your brave walk over the rocks to it or there is a wooden walkway that links from the pink hotel at the top.

I also recomend a walk into the village where there is a tour shop, we booked a trip with Monica there to Lisbon, and with it being quiet we got a much reduced rate. The trip was excellent and well worth it. Lisbon although 3hrs on the bus was well worth the visit.

We went for a week to this place, and I would say thats enough as there is enough to keep you going for a week. If your into Golf then there are plenty of courses around.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LittleBee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.0 km away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
2.2 km away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.2 km away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#4 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#10 of 161 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
2.8 km away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
1.0 km away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#9 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velamar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velamar Boutique Hotel

Property: Velamar Boutique Hotel
Address: Estrada de Albufeira | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-635, Portugal (Formerly Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#13 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,019 - ₹ 9,863
Hotel Class:3 star — Velamar Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel Opened in 2002, the Velamar Boutique Hotel is located between the pleasant fishing village of Olhos d'Agua and the famous Santa Eulalia Beach, in Albufeira. This 3-Star Hotel has 73 Rooms and 2 Suites. It provides excellent facilities, including a breakfast room with a panoramic view over the Atlantic Ocean, an outdoor swimming pool and a free private parking. The Hotel is 900 meters away from Maria Luisa Beach and a stroll away from restaurants and supermarkets. Only at 6 kilometers away from the historic center of Albufeira, the Velamar Boutique Hotel ensures serenity and comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Velamar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velamar Hotel Albufeira
Velamar Boutique Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing