We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely good value hotel.”
Review of Alpinus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpinus Hotel
Ranked #45 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Extremely good value hotel.”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed (family of four, children aged 4 and 8) over Easter for 1 week here. We arrived at 11am and were prepared that we may not be allowed to check in until 2pm but Aida, the friendly receptionist, let us check but asked us to return at 12noon for our AI bands. Great. We have never gone AI before but thought we would try it as it would suit the children. The food was good - we were prepared to eat out or cook in if it didn't suit but the only time we ate out all week was the day we visited Zoomarine, which was definitely the highlight of the holiday. There was always a wide choice to suit everyone from children to adults. My husband and the kids only had snacks on the last 3 afternoons just to keep them going until dinner time at 7pm. There was always icecream available for the kids throughout the day.
The one bedroom apartment itself was very spacious and well equipped for a family of four. House keeping were great. No problem with providing us with an extra blanket as we found it a bit cool on the first night.
The staff I found incredibly friendly. The children were welcomed to the restaurant every mealtime with a little joke. Thank you to Paula, Sao and Claudia for correcting my awful Portugese.
There were two pool areas both with a chidren's pool. Although in Portugal outside pools tend to be unheated the children were very happy playing in them and even I went in for a quick dip on 4 days. The only thing I didn't like was that people did not use the numerous bins provided around the pool area and plastic glasses were either blown into the pool or taken by kids into the pool to play with but that is the fault of the guests rather than the hotel's.
My husband was amazed that AI did mean beer, wine, soft drinks, tea, coffee and ice cream available whenever we wanted. The beer, wine and soft drinks were grand and not watered down. We were served in plastic glasses but hotels with pool areas do this for saftey reasons. Personally I would rather have a plastic glass knowing that my kids are not in danger of getting their feet cut. We never went to the bar after dinner so cannot comment on the entertainment.
The hotel is only a 15 minute walk away from Falesia beach which is meant to be one of the most beautiful in Portugal. Our taxi driver back to the airport did say it did get packed however in Summer. Apart from the beach though there is not much else to do in the immediate vicinity which is great if you are just looking to chill and do nothing. We went to Zoomarine one day and it was well worth a visit.
We found the hotel extremely good value and the children said it was the best holiday ever!

Room Tip: We had a room facing the golf course. Although it was also facing the road, the traffic was never ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    411
    236
    99
    54
See reviews for
458
286
13
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My friend and I booked the Luna Alpinus hotel apartments through low cost holidays and would thouroughly recommend. We had an excellent apartment, just the two of us but due to low season we had a large 2 bedroom apartment which gave us a spotlessly clean large lounge area large kitchen area with dining area, 2 double bedrooms and a full size bathroom each. They also provided daily maid service and clean white towels when required.
Would use again.

A plus also we asked for a pool view, late check-in and balcony and we had all, again probably because of low season but great service, shuttle was there waiting when we arrived.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms were best and I would go for apartment rather than meals
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, General Manager at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2016
Dear Guest ,

We appreciate the comments shared about your experience at the Hotel Luna Alpinus .
Your feedback helps us to improve our service and quality in order to exceed wherever possible their expectations .
We hope to return to get it next visit , this hotel or other Hotel Luna Hotels Group .
Best regards
Tiago Afonso Pais
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Four of us just went for a short break, thurs-sun.
Rooms are huge, twin beds very large with air con in bedroom, large bathroom with hair dryer, fully equiped kitchen come dining area, kettle, mugs, glasses etc, even though we were all-incl. Living area, with flat screen tv and cd/music player. Balcony, although facing the car park to the rear was fine.
Two pools, only sat at one, didn't dare go in as it was only April and the pool was freezing! Found sun beds and pool area fine, small decked area near bar which opened at 11am and served coffee, tea and snacks, although they only had cheese and ham rolls on the day we asked, no choice.

Bar had a smoking area to the rear, all drinks were included in AI, no mention of spirits at certain times, so imagine that issue has been resolved, vodka one of the best i've drank at all in! Beer fine too! Entertainment was on the cheap, quiz, karoke, but fine.

Restaurant was lovely, only one small complaint, food could have done with being hot! Graet selection at breakfast, lunch and dinner much the same, salad beef fish chicken, pasta, rice, oh and chips!

Surrounding area is quiet, but then we were there off season, very clean, found the beach which is stunning, but not easy to reach as its down steps, on a cliff face, not easy with a buggy, or if your eldery.

We all loved it and are definatly going to make the effort to go back for longer later in the year.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susieq07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Arrived at the hotel at a good time on the Thursday morning, check in was simple staff were friendly. Got straight into two of the three rooms booked and we were amazed to see the size of the apartment and the equipment they had in them. Over the years of being All Inclusive and all stars we have never had a kettle in the room or apartment and to be fair this made our holiday as we could grab a tea when we wanted without stepping out of the room. The hotel was clean enterainment came from a stag party which was great and also a different act every night over the 7 nightsof our stay, despite other reviews about the shorts and drinks we had them for the whole 12 hours when required also beer was okay. Food was varied and as we have a 3 year old there was choice for him and the over 60's we also went with. In general our party of 8 had great value for money transfer was private and was easy, pleasant and simply straight forward.
Taxi service was also cheap and simple 4 euros to the beach which was lovely and 11 euros to the town, where the beach was also good and so were the resturants and sites. Would definitely recommend the area and hotel andfor youngsters it is fab.We are even considering the area again.

Room Tip: All rooms are of similar style would love to see the 2 bedroom apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deirdremay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

We booked this through Low Cost Holidays as we have booked our previous holidays with them and cant fault them for value for money. We paid £100 each for 5 nights all inclusive which equates to £20 a night.

I cannot understand the reviews of people complaining about the food, ok it was a little repetitive but it was edible and hot. Breakfast included fruit, yoghurt, cold meats, cheese, bacon, sausage, eggs, beans, bread rolls, preserves, cereals, toast, juices, selection of hot drinks (what more do you want), Lunch and Dinner were more or less the same, soup, salads, pasta, meat and fish dish, chips, potatoes and a small selection of desserts. Wine, beer and soft drinks are served at lunch and dinner.

The beer, wine and local spirits were all drinkable.

The rooms were huge, clean, lovely. Housekeeping cleaned them everyday and you could request fresh towels as and when you required them. There wasnt a kettle in the room but we brought our own.

We walked to Albufeira from the hotel, it is a 5 mile walk but a pleasant one.

We took the shuttle bus from the hotel one afternoon to the Old Town and had a lovely time. We had a great meal try the Shellfish cataplana - it was fantastic.

The Luna Alpinus was great value for money for the price we paid of £20 pp a night. What do people expect for the money. A fantastic cheap break.

Would I stay here again YES but I would probably go self catering and enjoy lots more meals out.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MStanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
4.6 km away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#64 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,100 reviews
1.8 km away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#24 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
5.8 km away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#90 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#31 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
6.0 km away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#43 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpinus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpinus Hotel

Property: Alpinus Hotel
Address: | Pinhal do Concelho - Acoteias, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal (Formerly Luna Alpinus)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,503 - ₹ 12,262
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpinus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exclusive touristic areas, near the famous beaches of Albufeira. With an exceptional view over the pine trees and the golf course, the Alpinus Hotel is the perfect place for holidays in the Algarve. Features 185 apartments and studios (128 one-bedroom apartments, 52 two-bedrooms apartments and 5 studios) comfortably furnished, all with balcony, equipped kitchen, bathroom, direct telephone, satellite TV, stereo system, air conditioning and safe. The hotel includes two pool areas for adults and children, buffet restaurant, bar, coffee shop, meeting and events room with support equipment, private parking and free Wi-Fi. LOCATION The Alpinus Hotel is located between the exclusive area of Vilamoura, with its Casino, Marina and some of the best golf courses in the Iberian Peninsula, and the cosmopolitan town of Albufeira, with a diversity of handicraft shops, restaurants, bars, clubs and the vibrant nightlife of the Algarve. 29 km from Faro Airport, 12 km from Vilamoura, 10 km from the historic center of Albufeira, 1.2 km from the Falesia beach and 200 m from the Pine Cliffs golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpinus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Alpinus Albufeira
Luna Alpinus Hotel Albufeira
Alpinus Albufeira
Hotel Alpinus
Alpinus Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing