We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very good but not quite great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Ranked #15 of 161 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good but not quite great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

I am sure this hotel was a genuine 5 star when built, but it is now about 9 years old and some parts of it are in need of a refresh/refurb. Overall, it still remains a good place to stay, with much to commend. The staff are very friendly, helpful and well trained although sometimes there are not quite enough of them on duty - queues at reception and slow clearing of breakfast tables for example. We had a suite with sea view in the main hotel and the room size and facilities were generally good. However, the carpets and soft furnishings are definitely on their last legs and it has certainly been a while since I saw huge box televisions in a decent hotel. The sea views are genuine full width views from the more easterly side of the hotel with a pleasant outside balcony to sit on. Some of the rooms in the larger western side of the hotel looked as though the view might be a case of "only if you sit sideways on the balcony". I did see inside a room with resort view (ie car park view) and this looked as though it had been refurbished so maybe its a case of asking when booking. The pool areas are very good, and the service around the poolside is very friendly and attentive. The hotel is situated immediately above its own private beach with direct access - and there are the full range of facilities from pedaloes to jet skis. It would be difficult to come to this hotel and not have a good time, but if you are expecting genuine 5 star as defined by, say UK, US or Middle East standards you might be a teensy bit disappointed as it's really a 4 star. However, as the rates are really quite reasonable - we paid 200 euros a night for the suite - I think it represents good value and makes for a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grinanbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália and that most facilities and services corresponded or even exceeded your expectations.
We are disappointed however that you would not rate us as 5 star hotel, due to the rooms we believe, since it seemed to be the only point of criticism. We would in fact like to refurbish our rooms and replace the TV’s, which are admittedly old-fashioned, by a newer model. Unfortunately, and although it is one of our top priorities, we do not know yet, when we will be able to do so. We are however planning to refresh some of our rooms, hopefully soon.
Carpets are being constantly replaced and we indeed have rooms that in 8 years have had several carpets, but we cannot avoid new stains, although we clean, wash and vacuum the carpets regularly. Please be assured however that we try to keep our rooms cleaned to the highest standards and well maintained and that further and bigger renovation or redecoration works will be carried out, as soon as we will be able to do so.
In order to avoid misunderstandings, we would like to clarify that the beach in front of the Hotel is not a private beach. As all other beaches in Portugal, the Santa Eulália beach is a public beach and its concession is not run by the Hotel either.
Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Grande Real Santa Eulália for hopefully another pleasant holiday.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    874
    529
    195
    65
    27
See reviews for
647
677
26
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Just had 8 days end of may/June, superb hotel with excellent facilities, beautiful position right on a loveley private beach, good food, outstanding friendly staff the best I have come across in any hotel anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same standard so unless you want to be sitting looking at the beach rather than sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darioBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear guest,

We appreciate all reviews, but the most rewarding ones are of course the reviews like yours. Thank you so much, on behalf of the whole team, for your kind and motivating words. We are very proud that you even consider our staff to be the best in the world! Thank you once again and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Grande Real Santa Eulália soon. To avoid misunderstandings and disappointment, we would just like to add a small note regarding the beach, which is not private, but a public beach as all beaches in Portugal are.

Yours sincerely



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We booked a one bedroom apartment as we were staying with a toddler. When we arrived we were shown to our studio room. We explained that it is not what we booked and eventually, after being shown 2 more studio apartments, we were "ugraded" to a one bedroom apartment. No - this is what we booked. We were told this happens often so beware!

The layout of the room was great and very clean. Lots of space and a kitchenette which was useful with a toddler. The decor is very old fashioned and the rooms are very basic. The beds and pillows are very uncomfortable. Not what I would expect in a 5* hotel by any stretch.

The hotel is fine but I cannot praise it more than that. There was only the seafood restaurant open at night so all of the other restaurants mentioned on the website were closed. If this is the case, they should make that clear. Not all of the pools were heated. It felt like they were trying to cut costs as there was just something missing.

We had a pleasant stay but would not recommend the hotel or return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank holiday10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.
We regret that you were not satisfied with your stay, which apparently went wrong just from the very beginning. Unfortunately, we do not have your name or details in order to be able to check what exactly happened. There might have been a miscommunication or some kind of misunderstanding with your booking, but it is certainly not true that this happens often and it is unfair to allege that this was done on purpose.
Regarding the other points mentioned by you, we would like to note that the opening times of our restaurants and facilities are indeed stated in our website as you will be able to confirm through the following link http://www.realhotelsgroup.com/GrandeRealSantaEulalia/outrosservicos.aspx?sflang=en
It would have also been a pleasure to prepare your bed with mattress toppers or with other pillows if you would have informed us while staying with us that you were not satisfied with the comfort of the beds.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012 via mobile

Although this hotel did not wow it certainly didn't t disappoint. We were here on a short girls getaway, and the hotel ticked all the boxes. Breakfast was great , we enjoyed lunch at cafe by the sea everyday. Overall service was good throughout. We used the spa which was fine as unfortunate we had no sun!! Was impressed we could shower in the spa before leaving as had a late departure. Taxis prices reasonable 20 euro to villamoura. Hotel seems popular for weddings as they had one everyday, but it didn't t affect us.. Pools are not for swimming as small but still a pleasant area to relax. If you are considering this hotel I'm sure you won t be disappointed but be aware it is not a particularly lively hotel. If you ve booked enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bodwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay, our services and facilities, but regret that we were not abe to “wow” you.
We hope that we still be able to welcome you back for another enjoyable and relaxing stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

A really good hotel thoroughly recommended. Brilliant facilities, private beach, a choice of restaurants. The hotel is a little way from the tourist area but as we had a car this wasn't a problem. The hotel offered a bus service into town

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank POSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear guest,

Your feedback is really appreciated and it is indeed very rewarding for us that you have had a perfect stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália. We would just like to add a small note to what seems to be a recurring misconception. There are no private beaches in Portugal and the Santa Eulália Beach is, as any other beach, public. The services offered at the beach are also not run by the Hotel, but by the beach concessionaire.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Grande Real Santa Eulália for another enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
4.1 km away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.8 km away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
16.6 km away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Porto Bay Falesia
Porto Bay Falesia
#5 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
3.8 km away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
3.4 km away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Property: Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Address: Praia de Santa Eulalia, Albufeira 8200-037, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#12 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,087 - ₹ 14,099
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort And Hotel Spa
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Hotel Albufeira
Santa Eulalia Portugal
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing