We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but hilly:-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Ranked #79 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice but hilly:-)”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We visited Club Praia da Oura in April. It was our first visit to Portugal and it definitely surpassed our expectations. The resort itself is large but very clean and well run. Our studio apartment was located only minutes from the beach which meant that we never used the pool in the resort. We were thrilled to be so close to the sea. As well as the beach, there are other things to do in the resort, playing the lifesize draughts or watch the bowls taking place on the bowling green. Our only downside were the twin beds in our studio apartment - these were horrible to sleep on. They were definitely the most uncomfortable beds we have ever slept on!! If we wanted to change to a 1 bedroom apartment, it would have cost us nearly €300 which we didnt feel we could justify. The food in the main restaurant - Jacques is great and the service is excellent. Once you get up 'Cardiac Hill' as we and others we befriended called the hill out of the resort, there are many other restaurants on the way to and on the strip. There is every sort of cusine available - european, indian, chinese etc etc. The old town is about a half an hours walk from the apartments and is worth a trip. Lovely restaurants here plus nice coffee shops to sit and watch the world go by! On the whole we had a great trip, met some lovely people and will definitely be back:-)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Valerie13_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    1,099
    689
    357
    282
See reviews for
886
1,591
66
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,020)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in July for a week we stayed in a one bed apartment that was very well equipped with microwave/hob fridge iron etc very spacious balcony with loungers only problems we had were 1) ants and lots of them easily solved with some ant powder from local shop 2) no air conditioning we did have two fans the one in the bedroom was very noisy
The hotel has a large swimming pool and there are two kiddies pools lovey gardens and is very close to the lovely oura beach evening entertainment in amandas bar was ok kiddie disco followed by bingo and cabaret if the micheal jackson tribute is on its a must see its very good it's about a 5min walk to the strip (up a very steep hill) very busy at night time not a place for kids after nine or ten I clock some lovely restraunts and shops along here recommend getting the touristic train that brings you to the old town we went to the old town most nights much better for eating lots of great restraunts and market stalls shops etc
Overall we had a great holiday and we would definitely return to clube Praia de oura and albuferia

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mano24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

myself and my 16 yr old daughter stayed her from 16th-23rd August 2012, they were the most beautiful apartments, beautiful well kept grounds surrounding them and a great view of the beach, the staff where very friendly and helpful, entertainment wasnt bad, music in bar and facepainting etc for younger children, happy hour every evening and night which was great, maid was in room 4 times in the week and changed beds and towels each time, pool was beautiful used it a few days and then used the sister hotel Oura Hotel for the other days as this wasnt as packed, ate breakfast in the restaurant (JACS) which was reasonably priced 8euros per person or 6.50 euro if you ate between 8am and 9am, great selection all fresh and you could have as much as you wanted, sausages, bacon, eggs, beans, fresh bread, cake, cereals the selection was endless, fresh juices and every type of coffee, security on site 24hrs to make sure of no strays in the apartments with all holiday makers wearing a wrist band to ensure this, i wouldn't have one bad word to say about my stay here, i think some people go on holidays too find silly faults,**** little tip****if you go in the lift at the pool to the 9th floor it takes you on to the strip so you dont have to walk up the hill :) we loved it from start to finish, only downside to these apartments was having to go home, book here you wont be dissapointed, i will be back again next year but for longer stay :)

Room Tip: sea view was beautiful you had the sun on your balcony until around 8pm, pool view would be a good c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

we are just back from a weeks stay at this complex and wont be going back! the first studio apartment we were given was awful.no ac just a crappy fan and when we pulled down the bed there was no room for anything else. after a long wait we eventually got moved to a better apartment with ac. entertainment was practically non existant.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank edel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Social media supervisor at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Many thanks for your review. We provide a full entertainment program in all of our Portuguese resorts and are sorry to hear you were unable to find any entertainment to your liking. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swav__gav42
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed for a week in August. We had a great week and enjoyed the hotel overall, and would definitely go back.
Pros-
1 Clean and well kitted-out room, maintained by the cleaners all week with no problems.
2 Worth paying for a sea-view room, we had a brilliant view and great to sit out in the evening.
3 The pool area is good, the pool itself is big and pool-bar cafe, ice-creams etc are all on hand with friendly service.
4 Location is right on a choice of 2 beaches barely 50m walk, and good for the Strip, and a bus from the top of the road 100m away lets you on the bus to the old Town. having stayed in other areas of Albufeira I would recommend staying in Praia da Oura for access to all places.
5 Big plus was the fridge being stocked with the basic foods on arrival, a great touch and much appreciated to get you started, meaning you don't have to go straight away to the shops for self-caterers.

Cons
1 The pool was so busy that getting a lounger was not likely, although if you kept an eye out you could get one later in the day. If you like to swim in the pool rather than just go for a splash then you might struggle.
2 Having got the room with a sea-view, the only downside of this is that you are quite a way from the pool so you aren't going to be able to nip down and dump your towels in the morning - its a big hotel! Its give and take, so you have to decide your priority.
3 Being beachside, its at the bottom of a hill, which you need to climb each night to go out. Not really a problem but worth noting for those with reduced mobility.
4 Main downside of our stay was the no air-con in the room. You get fans which you need to leave on permanently - they are better then nothing but don't really do the job.

Overall we really enjoyed our week and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Worth getting a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swav__gav42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 km away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#78 of 154 in Albufeira
692 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#47 of 154 in Albufeira
770 reviews
0.2 km away
Muthu Forte da Oura
Muthu Forte da Oura
#85 of 154 in Albufeira
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.1 km away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#13 of 154 in Albufeira
457 reviews
5.9 km away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Clube Praia da Oura? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Clube Praia da Oura

Property: Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Address: Rua Oliveira Martins, Albufeira 8201-911, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#43 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,714 - ₹ 19,827
Hotel Class:4 star — Muthu Clube Praia da Oura 4*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This extensive resort is located in Praia da Oura in Albufeira and features 2 renovated outdoor swimming pools, tropical gardens and a bowling green. It offers direct access to Praia da Oura beach, less than 200 meters away.The property is a great family destination but also perfect for couples or groups looking for an entertaining and lively beach holiday.All apartments at the Clube Praia da Oura have a private furnished balcony which have views over either the Atlantic Ocean, swimming pools & gardens or the resort.The apartments feature a fully equipped kitchenette, en suite bathroom with hairdryer and a seating and dining area with satellite TV.With a 24-hour completely renovated reception and lobby bar/café, the multilingual reception staff can book tours, airport transfers and the hotel shuttle service to the centre of Albufeira. There is also a Golf desk available where all golf courses in the Algarve can be booked.Jac’s Restaurant serves an à la carte menu of a variety of international and national dishes. Guests can relax and have a drink at our Ocean Bar with views over the ocean or Bowling Green or enjoy the Pool bar. There is a daily entertainment program available and evening entertainment options include theme nights, live music and karaoke.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.The main entertainment area of Albufeira is a 5 minute walk away.Clube Praia da Oura is 40 minutes’ drive from Faro Airport and just over 3 km from the old town centre of Albufeira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Muthu Clube Praia da Oura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Praia Da Oura Hotel Albufeira
Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira
Oura Albufeira
Muthu Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing