We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (520)
Filter reviews
520 results
Traveller rating
108
214
114
50
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
214
114
50
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mama mia top floor indoor pool down hill old town shop on site poolside cafe huge terrace minute walk downhill walk into town self catering mini market no air con turn right small supermarket watch tv lovely holiday
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 520 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2018

I think the main thing to note at this resort is that there is no air conditioning. None of the windows opened when we arrived which indicates that the apartment had not been used that season nor properly checked over.before we got there. It is very windy, particularly on the top floor, to have windows open all night and the curtains got sucked out all the time. We did have a very large patio as our apartment was on a corner. As others have said it is quite noisy, both from music in the evening and certain types of guests behaving raucously until the early hours so keeping the windows open is not a great solution. The kitchen utensils provided are OK but strangely missed any form of strainer and included a filthy rusty bottle opener which again indicates poor inventory check pre-season/between guests. The toaster also didn't work and the replacement was too small for the bread (!). Finally a toaster which worked and was large enough was found by the manager after some discussion. One of the front desk staff was prone to arguing and had quite an attitude, particularly telling us we should sort out a problem with Tui with an extended check-out time we had booked but had not been recorded. The front door did not fit properly and banged in the wind and the security chain (which the guidance advised you to keep on at all times) was broken. The furniture and decor are quite dated. Contrary to at least one review there are not three pools. There is an outside pool, a small indoor one and a jacuzzi for four people. There is a café with a reasonable selection of food and a shop which just stocks essentials but is entirely inadequate for a self catering resort. A better shop is just down the road and Aldi and Lidl are a short taxi ride away. The resort is about fifteen minutes brisk walk to the old town which is very pleasant, has lots of restaurants and shops and a large beach. The new town is further away.There are a number of trips available by coach to the surrounding areas and to Spain or Gibraltar and sea trips from the old town harbour. One final point which may be important for some is that there are no lifts so you may have to lug heavy bags up to the third floor (there are no staff to help with this). If the holiday had been cheap I would have been more satisfied but it was not particularly and so 3 stars is the most I can give.

Room Tip: Top floor is windy and there are no lifts. May be best to be far away from the common areas.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Stayed for a week in August. Quiet local area. Apartments are clean and well maintained. The kitchens are a little dated and the beds aren't very comfortable - but we weren't cooking three course dinners or lying in bed all day. Easy transfer from the hotel. The grounds are well maintained. It was very hot without air conditioning August 2018.

Positioned above the old town the site has two great pools, plenty of sunbeds, a small shop (which is quite expensive) and a small cafe (which is quite expensive - but the food and service is good).

There is a minimarket on the corner 100 meters from the hotel that is considerably cheaper than the on site shop. Lots of choice and some really good produce in there. 100 meters in either direction of there are 3 cafes. Cheap, good food if you want a budget meal. Especially recommend Mama Mia 2.

We didn't brave the hill, we used the local taxis. Nice drivers, very helpful with advice on the area, and 5 euros to save the walk was fine by us.

If the price was right we would go here, but would probably go elsewhere if it wasn't.

Room Tip: 1st floor apartments allow privacy on the balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Gwyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

The apartments are reasonable, close to what we expected for the price we paid - but what we didn't expect was the amount of inconsiderate guests who seemed to make it their mission to be as noisy as possible. Last thing you need when trying to relax is large groups of people sat practically outside your room trying their best to laugh and shout as loudly as possible.
Will avoid in future, which is a shame as the pool, facilities etc are all pretty good.

Room Tip: choose somewhere else unless you like to sit outside 'till 3am laughing at the top of your lungs
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant family holiday very friendly clean and 3 good sized pools not far from the old town and others attractions local restaurants A Sardinia right by the beach fresh fish which you chose then have cooked and served at table the prawns platter was brill local taxis were reliable and affordable we used Spikes executive transfers as they were able to take the whole family at one go and didn’t have to wait ,we visited Zoomarine which was a fab day out and the shows there were really good and as we booked holiday through TUI we had a good discount looking forward to going again next year .

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank probby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

We liked the apartment itself and the location. We enjoyed our daily walks to the old town, it is a climb back up but a taxi back was never more than 5 euros. There is plenty to do in the old town and restaurants to cater to everyone’s taste. Pateo Village is ok, the kids enjoyed the entertainment, the pool was lovely and definitely the best thing about the place, the coffee shop sold good food and the staff were friendly and helpful. However... the beds were extremely uncomfortable and as the week went on the double bed was particularly unbearable and combined with a bit of noise from other guests we didn’t get much sleep. Such a shame as this was really the only thing that would stop us going back, you don’t expect to get the same comfort as at home but like other reviewers we would say that the mattresses need upgrading and soon!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank soobiedoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews