We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (760)
Filter reviews
760 results
Traveller rating
529
192
25
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
529
192
25
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yoga room sao domingos relaxing holiday pool area small hotel hotel restaurant half board minute walk large bed free bottle of wine spa facilities lovely hotel tennis courts tea and coffee making facilities dvd player fantastic beach rooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 760 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

They tried! They really did! Certainly more than 3-stars but not quite four!
The property is not quite on the Praia (beach), it’s not quite in an area with more than a peek-a-boo view of that beach/shoreline which is only a block away, it’s on-property restaurant is not quite fine dining - more of a cafeteria, and it’s efforts to be environmentally friendly only made for dark, unsafe hallways.

The management did store our golf excursion clubs (in their small office around their desks) and did open their breakfast room a half hour early to accommodate our 12-persons party’s travel schedule but both check-in and check-out were a major hassle.

Somehow management decided to separate our party with two rooms on each floor...so some thought they had less of an experience than others with no view or no walkout pool access. The beds were twins pushed together but without any overlayed pad so it was possible to slide down between them. Shower/bathtub was not too functional as a shower without water flying onto the bathroom floor! Okay experience, not great.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, Diretor-Geral at Vila Gale Collection Praia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Scott s,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback about your recent stay with us.
We are very sorry that your recent experience with us did not live up to our usual high standard we aim to provide.
We hope you will come back and stay with us the next time you are in the area.
Best regards,
Manuel Patrício

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

Wanted to come for a week but it was booked so we just did 3 days.
I loved it.
The small gym and spa were great. Very luxurious and clean.
We had room 101 which faced the pool. It didn't get much sun but that suited us.
The pool was lovely and the pool area was Immaculate lots of loungers.
The beach was a couple of minutes walk and wow what a beach.
We walked along the boardwalk to the bird area. We saw all sorts of birds including Spoonbills, Flamingos and lots of small bird's.
The restaurant was good in the hotel, but there are other places to eat nearby as well.
Our room was comfortable but the bed was on the firm side but comfortable.
Such a relaxing place.
Would love to come again for 2 weeks.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Collection Praia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear Barbara D.,

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay, its great to see that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon
Best regards,
Manuel Patrício

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

We have just returned from the most relaxing holiday ever.Attention to detail in the hotel was 1st class,evening meal was excellent value and delicious. Our granddaughter and her husband came with us they were equally impressed and used the gym ,jacuzzi,tennis courts had massages and enjoyed it all.The rooms had everything required,we had a room overlooking the pool which was very nice.
The beach was only a couple of minutes away although busy by walking a little further it was almost deserted very peaceful and very clean.I had a birthday and when we came back to our room there was a bottle of champagne and a small cake with a candle on,such a lovely touch and appreciated.Thanks to all the staff who made us feel very special.

Room Tip: A pool view room is nice
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BakerLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, Diretor-Geral at Vila Gale Collection Praia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Dear BakerLeeds,
Thank you very much for posting such a lovely review for us. We are delighted to hear your birthday stay went well and our team looked after you. We are all hoping to see you for your next birthday if not before that.
Thank you again,
Manuel Patrício

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

Hotel has about 40 rooms adults only.
Only 5 min from the beach. Hotel does. Not provide beach services.

Everything is perfect: Cleaness of room, breakfast, service, pool.only drawback is no convenient parking.
Perfect vacation!!!!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, Diretor-Geral at Vila Gale Collection Praia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear Alex M,
Thank you for choosing Vila Galé Collection Praia Hotel and taking the time to write this review.
We are delighted to know that you had a perfect vacation at our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Kind regards,
Manuel Patrício

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Lovely hotel, staff, food, pool area and rooms. Staff are very nice and helpful, the only thing that could help is having more staff with experience. I used the spa too and it was amazing! Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely go again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Louise913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Collection Praia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear Louise913,
It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay. That is exactly what we aim for, making sure our customers get a splendid and relax time at the hotel.
Sincerely,
Manuel Patrício

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews